Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    This is a find for anyone who likes their thrills and chills laced with ribald irreverence.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    The Fades works.
  3. Reviewed by: Brent McKnight
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's an exhilarating take on a couple of familiar genres, balancing horror, humor, and heart.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    The six-episode series mixes this type of sharp -humor and dialogue with gory scenes and tense horror.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 13, 2012
    50
    Given how much potential this premise contains, I dearly wish The Fades could decide what it wants to do.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    60
    The storytelling in The Fades can be convoluted and creaky, but there's some wit to the writing, and the horror and battle scenes are legitimately frightening, by TV standards.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    It's a funny, creepy, touching thriller that had me laughing one second and peeking between my fingers the next.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    After three installments, The Fades' existential components remain somewhat muddled, with the portentous warnings offering small compensation or incentive to hang around long enough to see whether mankind survives.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This was such a good series and I'm glad that it has finally reached America. I really enjoyed the acting and more importantly the characters,This was such a good series and I'm glad that it has finally reached America. I really enjoyed the acting and more importantly the characters, my favourite being his best friend played by Daniel Kaluuya (who I'm glad has got into movies, Johnny English Reborn). The awkwardness of the character and his situation is brilliant and is put onto screen really well. I am absolutely buzzing for a second series, hopefully with a few more episodes Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    this has to be one of the best shows this last year, as it does something diffrent. it isn't another sitcom or poilce dram, its a show whichthis has to be one of the best shows this last year, as it does something diffrent. it isn't another sitcom or poilce dram, its a show which is complety orignal. the charecters are good, the script is excellent but sometimes it can drag on, but with the fades story being so well done, i hope it can have another season. Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    6 Episodes is a little low for a series but i liked the series. it has the English charm and overall, the young actors are good. Sometimes its6 Episodes is a little low for a series but i liked the series. it has the English charm and overall, the young actors are good. Sometimes its a bit cliched with the teen stuff. The Effects vary from good to **** It´s worth a watch Full Review »