The Fades Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paul (Iain De Caestecker)has apocalyptic dreams and starts seeing spirits, known as the fades, which seek their way into the living world through him.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    It's a funny, creepy, touching thriller that had me laughing one second and peeking between my fingers the next.
  2. Reviewed by: Brent McKnight
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's an exhilarating take on a couple of familiar genres, balancing horror, humor, and heart.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    The Fades works.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    The six-episode series mixes this type of sharp -humor and dialogue with gory scenes and tense horror.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    60
    The storytelling in The Fades can be convoluted and creaky, but there's some wit to the writing, and the horror and battle scenes are legitimately frightening, by TV standards.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    After three installments, The Fades' existential components remain somewhat muddled, with the portentous warnings offering small compensation or incentive to hang around long enough to see whether mankind survives.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 13, 2012
    50
    Given how much potential this premise contains, I dearly wish The Fades could decide what it wants to do.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This was such a good series and I'm glad that it has finally reached America. I really enjoyed the acting and more importantly the characters, my favourite being his best friend played by Daniel Kaluuya (who I'm glad has got into movies, Johnny English Reborn). The awkwardness of the character and his situation is brilliant and is put onto screen really well. I am absolutely buzzing for a second series, hopefully with a few more episodes Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    this has to be one of the best shows this last year, as it does something diffrent. it isn't another sitcom or poilce dram, its a show which is complety orignal. the charecters are good, the script is excellent but sometimes it can drag on, but with the fades story being so well done, i hope it can have another season. Collapse
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Chillingly brilliant. I have a liking for 'death' shows, eg 'Dead Like Me' but only if they can engage me and draw me into their universe. Dear god but 'The Fades' certainly did! Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This show is really a hit or a miss. It's very British: dirty, creepy, and really quirky. But, if you like weird, you'll love it. The plot is crazy. Cannibalistic zombie ghosts and a teenager who grows wings when he ejaculates. Doesn't get much more odd than that. But it works. Maybe it's the main character, who you can't really help but love. He just has no idea what's going on at any point in the show. And when everything starts collapsing around him, you feel as smothered as he does. Sarah, played by Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones), is great. And, if you don't love Joe Dempsie, we have some issues to straighten out. The main character's friend may come off as annoying at first, but he'll grow on you. His constant references bring much needed relief to the heavy drama. Admittedly, the effects bring some hilarious moments as well. But it's a British TV drama, what are you gonna do?
    The show is horrific and unashamed enough to keep you on your toes. People will die unexpectedly, crazy **** will just come out of no where, random changes of heart...
    Basically, if you like oddball supernatural horrors and can deal with the occasional corny effects, you will love this show. It may lose a bit of it's momentum around episodes 2 and 3, but do not let that throw you off. At a specific point, the show crosses a line and does not look back. You'll love it.
    Expand