The Fall : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Fall Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) is brought in from London to help solve a Belfast murder. Unknown to the detectives, the killer, Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), a married man with two kids, is already planning his next kill.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    100
    [A] cool yet intensely emotional British crime series. [24 Jun 2013, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    Jun 5, 2013
    90
    The Fall is a top-flight mystery that taps into political tensions in Northern Ireland and the troubling undercurrent of violence against women.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Some of these moments are memorable and stark. More are soporific. Both lend themselves to The Fall’s tone: these days, slow is what passes for serious. Anderson’s performance is what makes The Fall worth watching.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    It’s a fine show, relying on slow-building tension rather than the gory shock value of series like “The Following,” and the five-episode arc now on Netflix is worth a look if you haven’t had your fill of cat-and-mouse dynamics.... Oddly, the character developed the least may be Ms. Anderson’s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Whenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of GillianWhenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of Gillian Anderson's best works and even Jamie Dornan who will be the lead in 50 shades of gray is subtly scary. It's only about four or five episodes but it certainly worth your time. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Just watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She isJust watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She is simply awesome in this role. The entire cast, script and atmosphere very good. If I had just one minor critique, it might have been the sound editing. Sometimes there was dialogue that seemed murky in sound. This is really a great crime series, unlike any other I've seen. Best of all, it's not another whodunnit because we know who did it all along, which really makes it even more creepy. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Very intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern wasVery intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern was also very well played. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    6
    I guess I'm just not a Gillian Anderson fan. Her frozen-faced "acting" just leaves me cold, and it doesn't help that her character remainsI guess I'm just not a Gillian Anderson fan. Her frozen-faced "acting" just leaves me cold, and it doesn't help that her character remains almost completely undeveloped (except for her silly vulpine sex life) in this first season. As to the story itself, it's okay, but I hate the way all the plot lines are left dangling at the end. What comes through most clearly is modern-day Belfast and all the reasons not to go there. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    5
    Is Belfast really so bad? Corrupt police, cheating husbands, whoring detectives? Also, how can the killer be so sloppy? He puts a necklace ofIs Belfast really so bad? Corrupt police, cheating husbands, whoring detectives? Also, how can the killer be so sloppy? He puts a necklace of a killed girl on his daughter's neck, he then keeps cut hair in the first drawer! He doesn't bother to wait for his daughter's room to be empty to take / put away his incriminating stuff. Moreover, I felt on many occasions like some themes were forced as from a point of view of a state owned TV, like dealing with Facebook account of a deceased person, or making the men in police force so lame as to insult females in front of them. Again, are people really so dull stereotypical "machos" in Northern Ireland? And with religion. I'm not interested... Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching both season 1 and 2 I say it's just a o.k. to me. I've seen better "police" work on "law and order SVU" then in "Northern Ireland". The 15/16 year old girl in this series was a better detective, then the "Northern Ireland" police department. The lead detective (Stella Gibson) also did a good job in this series, but due to bad story line made her fall apart a bit. Like when she didn't update her crew, and could have just said "hey the killer my have a young daughter". But it took season 2 to convey this massage. And then she (Stella Gibson) get's upset at the other detective for leaving out this info. Granted the Northern Ireland police suck, she still should have update the police station so they can narrow down the killer. And whatever happen to going after the cop killer in season 2? A.k.a Stella Gibson ex boy toy, who was there just for sex. And the guy's she sleep with are just better looking "Zoolander" cops. Except for one who's is her superior, who's more emotionally unstable then the killer in this series. And I don't get the appeal of Stella Gibson. Why do guy's get emotional with her? She have less emotional then a sex robot. And the only one who get's her is the killer. And the killer wife is dumb. When the 15/16 year old girl told the wife she didn't have an affair with her husband, I would think "he have to be a killer"! I'm sorry if someone told me that my husband/spouse may have lied about having an affair, with A 15/16 YEAR OLD GIRL, then his lie is really really big. I did like Gillian Anderson as Stella Gibson, but when the people around her is this incompetent, except for the 15/16 year old girl who then helps the killer. The series is just o.k to me. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just awful.

    I have tried to push through this mindless series and it's a chore.

    The cops, the victims, the people surrounding the killer are clueless. The killer is reckless. This should have been solved in the second episode. My God they have a drawing of him! They have him on film! He's been to the police station! He even helped the girl on the train by drawing his beard in the picture!

    It doesn't matter what he does, who sees him and even IF someone does know(the teenager).

    I haven't finished season 2 but I can imagine that the only way they catch him is if he walks into the police station and scream: "Here I am!"

    So many things should have given him away(can his wife be any dumber)and yet he does what he wants.

    At least make him clever. Don't make the people pursuing him stupid.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews