The Fall Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) is brought in from London to help solve a Belfast murder. Unknown to the detectives, the killer, Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), a married man with two kids, is already planning his next kill.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    100
    [A] cool yet intensely emotional British crime series. [24 Jun 2013, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    Jun 5, 2013
    90
    The Fall is a top-flight mystery that taps into political tensions in Northern Ireland and the troubling undercurrent of violence against women.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Some of these moments are memorable and stark. More are soporific. Both lend themselves to The Fall’s tone: these days, slow is what passes for serious. Anderson’s performance is what makes The Fall worth watching.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    It’s a fine show, relying on slow-building tension rather than the gory shock value of series like “The Following,” and the five-episode arc now on Netflix is worth a look if you haven’t had your fill of cat-and-mouse dynamics.... Oddly, the character developed the least may be Ms. Anderson’s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Intense, disturbing but a hell of a ride! Both Anderson's cop and the killer are both complex, unknowable characters. Up there with Breaking Bad when it comes to intelligent TV. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Whenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of Gillian Anderson's best works and even Jamie Dornan who will be the lead in 50 shades of gray is subtly scary. It's only about four or five episodes but it certainly worth your time. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Really compelling character study. It's an absolute mind$&%@. I highly recommend it to fans of crime/detective dramas. Prepare yourself to enter the mind of a serial killer. It is undoubtedly disturbing, but you'll soon find yourself unable to turn it off. These BBC miniseries are generally top-notch. I would say that Americans are largely unaware of the quality of these productions. Do yourself a favor; if you're even considering checking this one out, just turn it on for 20 minutes or so to check it out. I guarantee you'll be hooked. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Very intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern was also very well played. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    This Northern Ireland thriller gives you a glimpse into a city you could barely ever see without a passport. It was a nice little relief between seasons of Luther. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    Starts well, but falls apart and interest wanes. Somertimes its confusing just as to which girl is on screen as they all look alike (I know this is the point, but it makes it a frustrating watch). Gillian Anderson's unconventional cop is a fabulous invention, however, and she is never less than sensational when on screen. Collapse
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    5
    Is Belfast really so bad? Corrupt police, cheating husbands, whoring detectives? Also, how can the killer be so sloppy? He puts a necklace of a killed girl on his daughter's neck, he then keeps cut hair in the first drawer! He doesn't bother to wait for his daughter's room to be empty to take / put away his incriminating stuff. Moreover, I felt on many occasions like some themes were forced as from a point of view of a state owned TV, like dealing with Facebook account of a deceased person, or making the men in police force so lame as to insult females in front of them. Again, are people really so dull stereotypical "machos" in Northern Ireland? And with religion. I'm not interested... Expand