The Fall : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Fall Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) is brought in from London to help solve a Belfast murder. Unknown to the detectives, the killer, Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), a married man with two kids, is already planning his next kill.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    100
    [A] cool yet intensely emotional British crime series. [24 Jun 2013, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    Jun 5, 2013
    90
    The Fall is a top-flight mystery that taps into political tensions in Northern Ireland and the troubling undercurrent of violence against women.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Some of these moments are memorable and stark. More are soporific. Both lend themselves to The Fall’s tone: these days, slow is what passes for serious. Anderson’s performance is what makes The Fall worth watching.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    It’s a fine show, relying on slow-building tension rather than the gory shock value of series like “The Following,” and the five-episode arc now on Netflix is worth a look if you haven’t had your fill of cat-and-mouse dynamics.... Oddly, the character developed the least may be Ms. Anderson’s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Whenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of GillianWhenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of Gillian Anderson's best works and even Jamie Dornan who will be the lead in 50 shades of gray is subtly scary. It's only about four or five episodes but it certainly worth your time. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Just watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She isJust watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She is simply awesome in this role. The entire cast, script and atmosphere very good. If I had just one minor critique, it might have been the sound editing. Sometimes there was dialogue that seemed murky in sound. This is really a great crime series, unlike any other I've seen. Best of all, it's not another whodunnit because we know who did it all along, which really makes it even more creepy. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Very intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern wasVery intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern was also very well played. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2017
    7
    I really enjoyed The Fall as a deep psychological analysis of the killer's mind, although some side stories and characters really didn't feelI really enjoyed The Fall as a deep psychological analysis of the killer's mind, although some side stories and characters really didn't feel so compelling. I really enjoyed this Noire vibe. Acting and music were all pretty top notch. My only regret is that I still feel the series overextended after the second season. To me, the second season's finale should have been the series' true ending. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I started watching this show with great interest. The plot seemed interesting and it has some great acting in there. When I reached episode 2 I thought to myself that he would most certainly be caught soon so the story could move on to other things. But he wasn't caught. In fact the show seemed to slow down tremendously as if it suddenly realized it had to go on for 3 more episodes. But I kept watching thinking that I was sure he would at least be caught in the 5th episode... So. Yeah. He wasn't either. And that's when I gave up. It was basically 3 episodes of nothing. The side plot? I have no idea what is was all about, just seemed like even more filler to me. And now I am expected to start watching season 2? Let me guess; he'll not be caught in the first two episodes of that season either.

    It seems like it's a bit of a wasted potential. A main story that's been stretched beyond what it should have been. Waaay beyond.

    It's not without its merits though, so if you are doing other stuff around the house, put this on. There's some interesting stuff in there. And you won't miss much by only paying attention occasionally.
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2016
    4
    For all the amazing new programming Netflix originals has brought us, it has also strung along a whole list of shows that weren't good enoughFor all the amazing new programming Netflix originals has brought us, it has also strung along a whole list of shows that weren't good enough to be picked up by cable, The Fall is one such show. It may sound ridiculous to say that a six episode season felt too long, but when it came to this show, that was certainly the case.

    In Belfast, there has been a string of murders that the police are unequipped to handle, so they called in one of Scotland Yards top investigators to help solve the crime. The description of the show could lead one to assume that this would be a great murder mystery series, and it might have been, if not for the fact that the show parallels the investigation with the killers life. There is no mystery here, other than how something like this was turned into a series. The Fall has maybe enough content for a movie, and even then it wouldn't be a very good one.

    X-Files star Gillian Anderson stars in a role that is completely unbelievable for her. First we are to believe, that because she has red hair and freckles, that she is from Ireland, when her ridiculous attempt at an accent says otherwise. Beyond that, she plays this icy cold, promiscuous woman, who makes a hell of a lot of mistakes for a woman whose supposed to be the best Scotland Yard has too offer.

    As for the first season, it's only six episodes, but it felt more like six days, as it moves at a snails pace. British Dramas are almost always dry, but this series takes the cake, not only is it as slow as can be, but there is very little action and absolutely no attempts at humor to break up the monotony.

    The Fall is painfully straight-forward, slow moving, and it leaves nothing to the imagination. Unfortunately, once you start the series, it's like a car crash, it's horrible, but hard to look away. I wanted to like this show, so I kept waiting for something to happen, but nothing does, it just builds to a anti-climatic cliffhanger, that leads us into season two, which I wanted absolutely no part of.

    The name Gillian Anderson may peak the interest of my fellow science fiction aficionados, and if you ask Netflix, they'll tell you it's the greatest mystery of all time, but the only mystery to me, is why I continued to watch this show after the first episode.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just awful.

    I have tried to push through this mindless series and it's a chore.

    The cops, the victims, the people surrounding the killer are clueless. The killer is reckless. This should have been solved in the second episode. My God they have a drawing of him! They have him on film! He's been to the police station! He even helped the girl on the train by drawing his beard in the picture!

    It doesn't matter what he does, who sees him and even IF someone does know(the teenager).

    I haven't finished season 2 but I can imagine that the only way they catch him is if he walks into the police station and scream: "Here I am!"

    So many things should have given him away(can his wife be any dumber)and yet he does what he wants.

    At least make him clever. Don't make the people pursuing him stupid.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers