The Fall : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Fall Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) is brought in from London to help solve a Belfast murder. Unknown to the detectives, the killer, Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), a married man with two kids, is already planning his next kill.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Fall
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    100
    [A] cool yet intensely emotional British crime series. [24 Jun 2013, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    Jun 5, 2013
    90
    The Fall is a top-flight mystery that taps into political tensions in Northern Ireland and the troubling undercurrent of violence against women.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Some of these moments are memorable and stark. More are soporific. Both lend themselves to The Fall’s tone: these days, slow is what passes for serious. Anderson’s performance is what makes The Fall worth watching.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    It’s a fine show, relying on slow-building tension rather than the gory shock value of series like “The Following,” and the five-episode arc now on Netflix is worth a look if you haven’t had your fill of cat-and-mouse dynamics.... Oddly, the character developed the least may be Ms. Anderson’s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Whenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of GillianWhenever anyone asks me for my money recommendation on Netflix I always tell them to rent or to stream the fall. This is one of Gillian Anderson's best works and even Jamie Dornan who will be the lead in 50 shades of gray is subtly scary. It's only about four or five episodes but it certainly worth your time. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Just watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She isJust watch all five episodes (binge!) and loved it. I never knew much about Anderson - didn't watch The X Files, but now I wish I had. She is simply awesome in this role. The entire cast, script and atmosphere very good. If I had just one minor critique, it might have been the sound editing. Sometimes there was dialogue that seemed murky in sound. This is really a great crime series, unlike any other I've seen. Best of all, it's not another whodunnit because we know who did it all along, which really makes it even more creepy. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Very intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern wasVery intense show that draws the viewer in. It seems more realistic to me than other police shows. The danger for the police in modern was also very well played. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2017
    7
    I really enjoyed The Fall as a deep psychological analysis of the killer's mind, although some side stories and characters really didn't feelI really enjoyed The Fall as a deep psychological analysis of the killer's mind, although some side stories and characters really didn't feel so compelling. I really enjoyed this Noire vibe. Acting and music were all pretty top notch. My only regret is that I still feel the series overextended after the second season. To me, the second season's finale should have been the series' true ending. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2017
    6
    Season 1 is fabulous. Season 2 is very good as well. The cat & mouse game between Stella & Paul Spector twists & turns between them & everyoneSeason 1 is fabulous. Season 2 is very good as well. The cat & mouse game between Stella & Paul Spector twists & turns between them & everyone else in their orbit. The characters Anderson & Dornan play are excellent. The setting in Belfast Northern Ireland adds interest. The show sometimes moves at with typical "British TV" ssllllooowwnneesss but it still kept my interest.
    And then BANG! In Season 3 the whole show falls apart & it ruined all the good feelings I'd built up for this show. Talk, talk, more talk, & then some more talking all in dark rooms. Lots of stuff left unresolved. Am so glad I had fast forward or I might have given up before I got to the end. There's rumor of a season 4 but I'm not sure I'd be interested.
    If you want to watch this show, quit after Season 2 or keep your fast fwd clicker handy.
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2016
    4
    For all the amazing new programming Netflix originals has brought us, it has also strung along a whole list of shows that weren't good enoughFor all the amazing new programming Netflix originals has brought us, it has also strung along a whole list of shows that weren't good enough to be picked up by cable, The Fall is one such show. It may sound ridiculous to say that a six episode season felt too long, but when it came to this show, that was certainly the case.

    In Belfast, there has been a string of murders that the police are unequipped to handle, so they called in one of Scotland Yards top investigators to help solve the crime. The description of the show could lead one to assume that this would be a great murder mystery series, and it might have been, if not for the fact that the show parallels the investigation with the killers life. There is no mystery here, other than how something like this was turned into a series. The Fall has maybe enough content for a movie, and even then it wouldn't be a very good one.

    X-Files star Gillian Anderson stars in a role that is completely unbelievable for her. First we are to believe, that because she has red hair and freckles, that she is from Ireland, when her ridiculous attempt at an accent says otherwise. Beyond that, she plays this icy cold, promiscuous woman, who makes a hell of a lot of mistakes for a woman whose supposed to be the best Scotland Yard has too offer.

    As for the first season, it's only six episodes, but it felt more like six days, as it moves at a snails pace. British Dramas are almost always dry, but this series takes the cake, not only is it as slow as can be, but there is very little action and absolutely no attempts at humor to break up the monotony.

    The Fall is painfully straight-forward, slow moving, and it leaves nothing to the imagination. Unfortunately, once you start the series, it's like a car crash, it's horrible, but hard to look away. I wanted to like this show, so I kept waiting for something to happen, but nothing does, it just builds to a anti-climatic cliffhanger, that leads us into season two, which I wanted absolutely no part of.

    The name Gillian Anderson may peak the interest of my fellow science fiction aficionados, and if you ask Netflix, they'll tell you it's the greatest mystery of all time, but the only mystery to me, is why I continued to watch this show after the first episode.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just awful.

    I have tried to push through this mindless series and it's a chore.

    The cops, the victims, the people surrounding the killer are clueless. The killer is reckless. This should have been solved in the second episode. My God they have a drawing of him! They have him on film! He's been to the police station! He even helped the girl on the train by drawing his beard in the picture!

    It doesn't matter what he does, who sees him and even IF someone does know(the teenager).

    I haven't finished season 2 but I can imagine that the only way they catch him is if he walks into the police station and scream: "Here I am!"

    So many things should have given him away(can his wife be any dumber)and yet he does what he wants.

    At least make him clever. Don't make the people pursuing him stupid.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers