The Finder : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2012
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 9, 2012
    70
    The Finder is not sophisticated TV but it does have its charms, mostly stemming from star Geoff Stults.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    The series is low-key to a fault but likable, not so different from Bones in its sense of off-kilter humanistic humor, though never as graphic.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 11, 2012
    75
    Old-fashioned and a bit placid, but Stults and Duncan save the day, and maybe the series.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 11, 2012
    63
    The show may be able to relax into the kind of easy weekly entertainment you can find an hour earlier on Bones.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 11, 2012
    70
    With its mildly irascible lead and its extremely sturdy central premise, it evokes USA's better shows, right down to its blue skies and palm trees.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 3, 2012
    67
    All in all, this is a light-hearted series that also looks as though it's going to be light-headed in terms of basic story construction.
  7. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 11, 2012
    63
    A lighthearted blend of action, drama and comedy.
  8. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    Fans of quirky procedurals will likely find The Finder a dependable way to lose an hour.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Somebody explain to me why TV networks invest so heavily in new shows then sabotage them. I enjoyed the backdoor pilot of "The Finder" lastSomebody explain to me why TV networks invest so heavily in new shows then sabotage them. I enjoyed the backdoor pilot of "The Finder" last year, then completely missed the first three episodes, as I didn't see any promos. Caught the fourth episode purely by chance, liked it, and made a mental note of when it was broadcast so I could watch it again. Silly me; Fox had already decided to put the show on its deadly "menstrual cycle" (one episode every four weeks), which pretty much guarantees its demise. Too bad. I find the show an excellent replacement for "Bones," which, let's face facts, ran out of steam last year. Like "Bones," "The Finder" features an improbable savant with a hot fed for a sidekick and an assortment of wacky specialist colleagues. As in "Bones," these folks solve mysteries, crack wise (in multiple senses), and grapple with exotic personal lives. Both shows have an odd relationship with the "real world," glancing sideways at big issues, such as battle-related brain damage, but never focusing on them for long. Then it's back to an anti-naturalistic world in which fathers play guitar for ZZ Top and Asperger's sufferers are amazing in bed. Not a very flattering description, I know, but both shows work. They're fun. They're like key-lime pie: sweetness and pucker and, no, it's not very good for you and you don't want it all the time, but when you're in the mood, it's perfect. And, with "Bones" losing its tang (everyone is coupled up and spawning madly), we need the puckery sweetness of "The Finder." Please, Fox, broadcast the remaining episodes on a regular schedule, and renew the show for another season. If you must tinker with it, you could lose Mercedes Masöhn, who is so eerily like Sarah Shahi in "Life" that I get nostalgic for that show every time she's on-screen. How about more Eric Roberts instead? The character of Uncle Shadrack has great potential--and not just as the old meanie keeping Timo from his true love and Willa from a law-abiding life. But please don't touch Walter or Leo, and please keep Stults and Duncan in the roles. Oh, dear. [Slaps own face.] Listen to me talking as though Fox--or anybody--cares what I think. I'll be quiet now. Full Review »
  2. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    Not a bad pilot, gave it an 8 because I believe they will turn it around and turn it into a quirky, funny series (remeber nobosy love psych at first!)
  3. May 28, 2012
    10
    This would be a great show to put on the air during the Summer months when there is nothing good to watch. I love this show and amThis would be a great show to put on the air during the Summer months when there is nothing good to watch. I love this show and am disappointed that it was cancelled before it was given a chance. I found this show ON DEMAND and when I watched it from the beginning, I loved it. The characters are lovable and the premise is original. My daughter-in-law also loves this show. This show deserves a TEN Full Review »