The Following : Season 2

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Here’s the best thing about the second season premiere of The Following: Kevin Bacon finally looks like he’s having a little fun.... Bacon and Hardy are in on the joke.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jan 10, 2014
    67
    The sneak peak is sometimes flat and sorta dumb yet so dementedly busy-busy-busy that it's actually creepy, twisty fun. [17 Jan 2014, p.63]
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2014
    63
    A whole new crop of crazies populate the sophomore season, but the murder and mayhem is laced with a been-there- done-that feel.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The following had been one of my favorite shows during its season one run. I totally understand the whole antihero thing. Worked for breaking bad, the Sopranos. But the second to last episode of the second season entitled silence was beyond the pale. The story brought Joe Carol and his followers into a church in Manhattan. A Catholic Church. In it Carol and his followers held a priest and his parishioners hostage, and forced individuals to kill each other. Furthermore Carol forced a pastor to deny the existence of God and to proclaim the killer God. The Fox network should be wholly ashamed of themselves erring this episode at anytime much less the day after Easter. It's yet another piece of evidence that Hollywood will do whatever it takes to embarrass And belittle the Christian church as a whole. Do you think they would've had the balls to do the same scene in a mosque? No because that would have been met with consequences. Catholics don't meet this kind of disgusting behavior with violence so Hollywood keeps dishing it out. I'm going to advise everybody who asks that the following is wholly unworthy of their time. I'm curious to know what someone like Bill O'Reilly on FOXNews will have to say about this type of storyline on the Fox network. Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'm a HUGE Kevin Bacon fan and watched last season religiously. Unfortunately, they killed most of the characters I found compelling and intriguing. I've watched the first two episodes this season and just can't get into it this time around. I'm not as interested in the new characters. I'm also a woman and hated they killed off both Claire and the female detective - they could have at least left me with one strong, relatable female character. So disappointed after such high hopes. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    Hard to believe that the writers could outdo the trainwreck that was Season 1, but they're doing a stand up job. The plot is more ridiculous,Hard to believe that the writers could outdo the trainwreck that was Season 1, but they're doing a stand up job. The plot is more ridiculous, predictable and implausible and the writing continues to regress week after week. This show should come with a Surgeon General Warning about the guaranteed brain cell loss that this show delivers. Absolute garbage. Full Review »