• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two jumps ahead a year, but a new spate of killings draws Ryan back into the field.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Here’s the best thing about the second season premiere of The Following: Kevin Bacon finally looks like he’s having a little fun.... Bacon and Hardy are in on the joke.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jan 10, 2014
    67
    The sneak peak is sometimes flat and sorta dumb yet so dementedly busy-busy-busy that it's actually creepy, twisty fun. [17 Jan 2014, p.63]
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2014
    63
    A whole new crop of crazies populate the sophomore season, but the murder and mayhem is laced with a been-there- done-that feel.
  4. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Jan 17, 2014
    42
    For a show so bent on shock value, it has to this point failed to surprise much.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 15, 2014
    40
    A helpful lapse of time can’t fully right the ship or smooth over the plausibility-straining aspects of this serial-killer-and-his-adoring-acolytes conceit.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    30
    Kevin Bacon is just woefully underutilized here.... None of this show feels or sounds real. Not one beat. Not the plotting or the characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2014
    20
    Sorry to say that from the evidence of the season premiere, not a lot has changed. Morbid curiosity may keep me following this bloody cat-and-mouse horror show for a while longer, but not at the risk of murdering what few brain cells I have left.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    I tend to agree with most overall metacritic conclusions, both critic and user reviews; however, this one I completely disagree with. ThisI tend to agree with most overall metacritic conclusions, both critic and user reviews; however, this one I completely disagree with. This season has been excellent, as was last season. I grant that it isn't an exceptionally intelligent show such as breaking bad or true detective but it's amazing entertainment. The drama is excellent, the characters are interesting, and the show is engaging. I am extremely impressed with Sam Underwood's acting. I like intelligent shows. I like shows with subtext and meaning. But more than anything I like shows that are entertaining, and that is exactly what this. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    It's certainly not better than season 1, but it's still good. Every few episodes, something happens that changes the plot and it can beIt's certainly not better than season 1, but it's still good. Every few episodes, something happens that changes the plot and it can be confusing if you miss an episode, but there's still a good storyline. All the killing and disturbing situations are still present in this season. Overall it's very good and worth watching. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    Does the second season live up to the quality of the first season? Unfortunately not. However, the series is still interesting to watch and isDoes the second season live up to the quality of the first season? Unfortunately not. However, the series is still interesting to watch and is still bent on complete shock factor. Expand
  4. May 6, 2014
    4
    I actually enjoyed the First Season of The Following even though it definitely had it's ruff edges and some of the elements were reallyI actually enjoyed the First Season of The Following even though it definitely had it's ruff edges and some of the elements were really underwhelming but it was a good show none the same. Season 2 though just wasn't good. I have only watched the first half of Season 2 before I lost interest. This is because it was going nowhere and the same main point of the first season was happening again, Joe building his new following from the remains of his old one and I just couldn't get into it. The first season is certainly worth your time. I just wish it could have run for one season as that was what I thought it would be when I finished the last episode but then they announced Season 2 and I knew it wasn't going to be any good and it feels like such a waste of time. Now there might be a third season. I wish they could have made it a limited run then it would be perfect but going past one season has ruined the show for me and it does sadden me to say this as it had a lot of potential. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers. I'm a HUGE Kevin Bacon fan and watched last season religiously. Unfortunately, they killed most of the characters I found compelling and intriguing. I've watched the first two episodes this season and just can't get into it this time around. I'm not as interested in the new characters. I'm also a woman and hated they killed off both Claire and the female detective - they could have at least left me with one strong, relatable female character. So disappointed after such high hopes. Collapse
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    2
    This is a mind-numbingly stupid mess. Any literate person should take it as an insult to his or her intelligence. It seems to be aimed atThis is a mind-numbingly stupid mess. Any literate person should take it as an insult to his or her intelligence. It seems to be aimed at drooling, brain-dead yokels who've never read a single book on poetry or law enforcement or psychology or cults. And judging by its ratings, that's a disconcertingly high proportion of the American public. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2014
    0
    Every single character is so obtuse and ridiculous. And they are all MORONS. The show was half decent in the first season, and it is justEvery single character is so obtuse and ridiculous. And they are all MORONS. The show was half decent in the first season, and it is just utterly ridiculous now. The writing is so terrible I can't even stand it. I so desperately want someone to slap Claire every time she opens her stupid mouth. Horrible. Just horrible. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.