The Following : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First no off, I really wanted to like the show. First episode was pretty good and it just gets dumber and dumber each episode. A woman just spear gunned a lady in a restaurant and then walked away. walked. no one stopped her. last week they rescued the agent and could have GPSed the car. They didn't. The FBI might not be that good but they are not this bad. Expand
  2. May 1, 2013
    3
    This show started with a pretty good premise, a serial killer-cult leader, but the idea quickly wore thin after about three episodes. After the fifth episode or so I lost interest because they ran out of surprises and the show was no longer entertaining. The characters, good guys and bad, were one-dimensional and not likeable. My wife wanted to keep watching so I continued to watch it withThis show started with a pretty good premise, a serial killer-cult leader, but the idea quickly wore thin after about three episodes. After the fifth episode or so I lost interest because they ran out of surprises and the show was no longer entertaining. The characters, good guys and bad, were one-dimensional and not likeable. My wife wanted to keep watching so I continued to watch it with her.

    I had some hope that the finale might be good, but the dialogue and situations were completely ridiculous, and the violence was totally gratuitous. I will not watch next season, and my wife finally got turned off too.
    Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    3
    Despite the interesting premise and the talented actors on board, 'The Following' is a major letdown. It's not the fact that the pilot episode is filled with predictable twists- the fact that the dialogue is so poor that it takes away from the soild performances of Kevin Bacon and James Purefoy- the fact that the violence is too over the top and gratuitous- It's the fact that the creatorsDespite the interesting premise and the talented actors on board, 'The Following' is a major letdown. It's not the fact that the pilot episode is filled with predictable twists- the fact that the dialogue is so poor that it takes away from the soild performances of Kevin Bacon and James Purefoy- the fact that the violence is too over the top and gratuitous- It's the fact that the creators promised us something different, but instead, gave us more of the same. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    3
    As others have written; it is highly unbelievable that so many people would "worship" one man that was a lacklustre writer who had to quit that passion and become a teacher. That is some eal motivation for throwing away ones life away for the sake of one egotistically shallow twits schemes I must say (sarcasm be noted).
    The whole plot should have ended with the swat team storming the
    As others have written; it is highly unbelievable that so many people would "worship" one man that was a lacklustre writer who had to quit that passion and become a teacher. That is some eal motivation for throwing away ones life away for the sake of one egotistically shallow twits schemes I must say (sarcasm be noted).
    The whole plot should have ended with the swat team storming the farmhouse. But the fact that the swat "team" only stormed the building with 3 people is laughable. What's even more laughable is that the swat team didn't have the entire area surrounded with no more than 5 swat members.
    There would have been an entire squad of around 12 people. Personally I think the writers halved the squad numbers in order to help keep the show going or the show would probably have ended there. Which it should have. It really should have.
    As for the lawyer, going on live news without consulting the FBI with what Joe Carroll (girl name by the way) had requested her to do. She would have had license suspended and the FBI would have held her "in for questioning" as she would probably have been placed under suspicion for the crap she pulled off.
    Now as for the woman, Claire Matthews, I'm glad she died in the end of the season. All that wondering off on her own was the most irrational part of all the story in this whole season. TWO TIMES she went away to "see her son" and both times she got totally screwed over. And when she tried to escape that cyber geeks lair just to be caught again by the same geek less than a minute later? Well if she closed the door behind her he would have been locked in and thus couldn't catch her. She has a horrible habit of not closing doors behind her. Must have been raised in a barn.
    What really bored me was the fact that there were so many followers. It was like a god damned union of murderous rejects all coming together under a single banner called Joe. I think the writers were aiming for "lets make people get surprised by having random people turn out to be followers!" ... only it wasn't surprising.. it was more... "oh look, another one loser..."
    This show gets 3 points and here are the reasons. Kevin Bacon, Kevin Bacon, and the fact that the series finally ended before it got too **** stupid...
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    I really liked Kevin Bacon in this, but everyone else seems out of place. The dialogue is very bland, and it's unconvincing how people worship James Purefoy and follow him by killing college girls. All because he is so inspired by Edgar Allan Poe. I just don't buy a college professor turning into this methodical serial killer. The show would have been much better if Purefoy was an AgentI really liked Kevin Bacon in this, but everyone else seems out of place. The dialogue is very bland, and it's unconvincing how people worship James Purefoy and follow him by killing college girls. All because he is so inspired by Edgar Allan Poe. I just don't buy a college professor turning into this methodical serial killer. The show would have been much better if Purefoy was an Agent turned into a terrorist like what Homeland does. Oh well, spend your time watching something else Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    3
    I adore Kevin Bacon and I REALLY wanted to love the show; however, the reality is that I don't love it or even really like it. As a matter of fact, I find myself getting super frustrated when I watch it. I had to ignore my critical thinking skills to get though the 1st 2nd episodes. What it lacks in intelligent dialogue it certainly makes up for with graphic murders. I do agree that itI adore Kevin Bacon and I REALLY wanted to love the show; however, the reality is that I don't love it or even really like it. As a matter of fact, I find myself getting super frustrated when I watch it. I had to ignore my critical thinking skills to get though the 1st 2nd episodes. What it lacks in intelligent dialogue it certainly makes up for with graphic murders. I do agree that it will revive the works of Poe. I studied 6 of his works in college-I guess anything can be turned into a religion/cult, but I'm not convinced. M is appointed but sill slightly intrigued. With all the other smart and riveting shows right now, the writers of this one need to step it up a bit. I hope they do. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    3
    I don't think that Kevin Bacon can carry this show... It seems hurried and banal. I can't swallow half of the situations that come up on very episode. I think this one is destined to be cancelled. Shock and awe are not working in this second rate attempt to a televised Silence of the Lambs.
  8. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    When I saw Kevin Bacon was one of the stars, I had to check it... a real disappointment on the whole, Hollywood writers cranking out the same cliche fearporn... I watched hoping for some unexpected thing, some grabber.. but the predictability of writers cranking out reams of script under the direction of the same bunch of people in LA... what a shame they [the 3 letter corp that aired itWhen I saw Kevin Bacon was one of the stars, I had to check it... a real disappointment on the whole, Hollywood writers cranking out the same cliche fearporn... I watched hoping for some unexpected thing, some grabber.. but the predictability of writers cranking out reams of script under the direction of the same bunch of people in LA... what a shame they [the 3 letter corp that aired it and really all TV] are still a part of the propaganda front of the wealthy... who all but finished gaining control of the internet... Thank Good people for the ART that makes it out..... Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2013
    3
    I have watched many shows because I appreciate the actors. Kevin Bacon has been a favorite actor for many years. Thus, I watched 3 episodes of The Following. I finally took it off of my series to record because it is constantly depressing. There are no "light" times. There are no characters for whom I care. I watch all sorts of shows with pedophiles and serial killers, but this showI have watched many shows because I appreciate the actors. Kevin Bacon has been a favorite actor for many years. Thus, I watched 3 episodes of The Following. I finally took it off of my series to record because it is constantly depressing. There are no "light" times. There are no characters for whom I care. I watch all sorts of shows with pedophiles and serial killers, but this show has taken me beyond what I can watch comfortably. That is saying a LOT! Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2013
    3
    ok, this is just a very difficult premise and storyline to swallow. First off, criminals on death row are not allowed visitors, much less visits that are not recorded or video taped or watched off. Why does Claire just hop into a car, knowing you can't trust anything carrol does. While at the house where joey is being held, kevin bacon knows there are three followers on the premise, yetok, this is just a very difficult premise and storyline to swallow. First off, criminals on death row are not allowed visitors, much less visits that are not recorded or video taped or watched off. Why does Claire just hop into a car, knowing you can't trust anything carrol does. While at the house where joey is being held, kevin bacon knows there are three followers on the premise, yet doesn't seem to pay any attention to his surroundings. Why does the lawyer not talk to the FBI and just go into hiding rather than helping a serial killer just because he got someone to cut her fingers off? And lastly, is everyone involved in carrols plans? Eveery episode has a surprise follower. whether its the babysitter, gay neighbors, wife of one of the cultists, local cop.... just so bad. I wanted to like it so badly too Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    How stupid naive do the writers think people are Nobody would do the things shown in this series. Common sense is totally missing by all law enforcement personnel. I find myself embarrassed for the characters actions at myself for watching this long.
  12. Mar 12, 2013
    3
    I love Kevin Bacon in this but the writers have given so many flaws to this hero that he has absolutely no chance of success. For instance, Bacon's character has heart trouble, alcohol problems, apparently has no close friends or family, is unemployed after losing his job at the FBI, is FILLED with all kinds of unrealistic guilt and in love with a woman that he cant have. Not allI love Kevin Bacon in this but the writers have given so many flaws to this hero that he has absolutely no chance of success. For instance, Bacon's character has heart trouble, alcohol problems, apparently has no close friends or family, is unemployed after losing his job at the FBI, is FILLED with all kinds of unrealistic guilt and in love with a woman that he cant have. Not all members of law enforcement are geniuses but I have never seen a show portray the Law, collectively, as so grossly inept. Meanwhile, all the luck and the intelligence is given to the creepy bad guys. This show could have been a smart, addictive tale but, unfortunately, the writers have relied more on shock value than on quality story lines. Even good acting cant save that kind of show! Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    3
    This show started off with promise, but has quickly turned frustrating. It is so easy to predict what is coming and who is the one that is going to turn on them. It is frustrating that Joe always has the upper hand and the FBI never seems to get even the simplest things right. They make them look really dumb on what seems a continual basis...they can't possibly get everything wrong allThis show started off with promise, but has quickly turned frustrating. It is so easy to predict what is coming and who is the one that is going to turn on them. It is frustrating that Joe always has the upper hand and the FBI never seems to get even the simplest things right. They make them look really dumb on what seems a continual basis...they can't possibly get everything wrong all the time? I think this will be short lived in our home. Expand
  14. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    This was an interesting show for the first few episodes but now it has gotten predictable and formulaic. The villain Joe Carroll is pretentious and I don't buy him as a criminal mastermind. Kevin Bacon is great like always, but he can only do so much. I like a show with some balance and this show lacks it. I don't find it believable that the good guys can ever win since they areThis was an interesting show for the first few episodes but now it has gotten predictable and formulaic. The villain Joe Carroll is pretentious and I don't buy him as a criminal mastermind. Kevin Bacon is great like always, but he can only do so much. I like a show with some balance and this show lacks it. I don't find it believable that the good guys can ever win since they are portrayed as such goofball screw ups. It also seems far fetched that there are so many followers. The show has spent too long stacking the deck in the villains favor that a happy ending is now not practical. Expand
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    The first couple of episodes started out really well, the characters are interesting, the background story seemed to be though out and the plot seemed plausible.
    However after episode five it just all starts to get so unbelievable, especially after it was labeled as a thriller suspense series.
    If you want to keep people interested I would suggest, to spend some of the budget on bringing
    The first couple of episodes started out really well, the characters are interesting, the background story seemed to be though out and the plot seemed plausible.
    However after episode five it just all starts to get so unbelievable, especially after it was labeled as a thriller suspense series.
    If you want to keep people interested I would suggest, to spend some of the budget on bringing in some expert's who will advice you how FBI agents or any law enforcement officer might react in certain situations and write the scene accordingly.
    The whole show is lacking thought out dialogs and professional input and gets just to unbelievable the more the show continues.
    You want to see how a Profiler reacts when being pressured? Watch the original TV series "Profiler" 1996-2000 on NBC. That was a great series.
    Or watch the BBC series "Luther" to see how a man reacts when walking on the edge, both highly recommended and you can find them on the internet.
    Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    The plot makes the FBI total bumbling idiots which is not true. They shoot but don't hit what they aim at really? The bad guys get all the breaks. This is like watching a vampire series but with psycho serial killers instead. They feast as a group just like vampires. With different music it could be a comedy of screw ups. Who ever writes these episodes has serious problems of theThe plot makes the FBI total bumbling idiots which is not true. They shoot but don't hit what they aim at really? The bad guys get all the breaks. This is like watching a vampire series but with psycho serial killers instead. They feast as a group just like vampires. With different music it could be a comedy of screw ups. Who ever writes these episodes has serious problems of the definition of entertainment. Why not just make a series about native American Indians in the 1700 or 1800s kill each others tribes. That's all this show is about is quasi-civilized so called normal humans giving each other permission to kill without guilt. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2014
    3
    Every piece of fiction requires a suspension of disbelief to fully enjoy it. To enjoy this show requires suspension of reason. It's an underwhelming display of cat and mouse police work that makes waste of an intriguing premise, and since the writers aren't clever enough to write intelligent villains, the plot is shoved forward by the incompetence of the heroes. The characters here doEvery piece of fiction requires a suspension of disbelief to fully enjoy it. To enjoy this show requires suspension of reason. It's an underwhelming display of cat and mouse police work that makes waste of an intriguing premise, and since the writers aren't clever enough to write intelligent villains, the plot is shoved forward by the incompetence of the heroes. The characters here do very little actual thinking, just blundering forward to satisfy a plot that eschews logic for some cheap attempts at shock value. Efforts to evoke dramatic tension induce laughter. The show expects a viewer to believe that people would behave in flatly unbelievable ways, and the result can be insulting. Expand
  18. Jan 21, 2014
    3
    What started out as a stylish and interesting thriller completely dissolved into an insipid and ridiculous series of cliches. The writers simply insult the viewers' intelligence with a series of plot twists more unbelievable than the next.
  19. Jan 26, 2014
    3
    The series is very predictable and the actors do a good job overall, but the writing/storyline is awful. People in this series are so stupid and their actions to certain events are really unbelievable in how stupid they are. For example, a follower kills a person in plain daylight with hundreds of people witnessing the event, and the killer just walks out with none of the hundred ofThe series is very predictable and the actors do a good job overall, but the writing/storyline is awful. People in this series are so stupid and their actions to certain events are really unbelievable in how stupid they are. For example, a follower kills a person in plain daylight with hundreds of people witnessing the event, and the killer just walks out with none of the hundred of witnesses doing anything to try to stop the killer. Storyline does not really explain why people would follow this cult except that they have killed before. All personalities are one dimensional. Expand
  20. Jan 31, 2014
    3
    Let me keep it simple and tell you - I liked the first 2 episodes but then I just couldn't believe how brain-dead and stupid the characters are in this show. The storyline turns into a unbelievable farce and it seems to me I need to have a good amount of alcohol in my blood believe the dump story. Because of Kevin Bacon and some other actors this series gets 3 points… otherwise it would beLet me keep it simple and tell you - I liked the first 2 episodes but then I just couldn't believe how brain-dead and stupid the characters are in this show. The storyline turns into a unbelievable farce and it seems to me I need to have a good amount of alcohol in my blood believe the dump story. Because of Kevin Bacon and some other actors this series gets 3 points… otherwise it would be 0 points.. Expand
  21. Apr 24, 2013
    2
    Bacon works as hard as he can to save this show, but ultimately the writers are to blame. It moves from one clunky, contrived twist to the next, constantly insulting the viewers’ intelligence. Do they seriously expect us to believe that the FBI, especially post-911, would operate with such ineptitude?

    And it seems that every episode was written with the aim of engineering a scene where
    Bacon works as hard as he can to save this show, but ultimately the writers are to blame. It moves from one clunky, contrived twist to the next, constantly insulting the viewers’ intelligence. Do they seriously expect us to believe that the FBI, especially post-911, would operate with such ineptitude?

    And it seems that every episode was written with the aim of engineering a scene where one or two of the show’s good guys end up on their own in the dark, being stalked by some random knife-wielding maniac. You can probably glean a small amount of entertainment, as I have, from approaching the show as a comedy.
    Expand
  22. Mar 18, 2013
    2
    "Serial Killer Babysitters". "Occasional Serial Killers, Babysitting". If neither of those is clear enough, how about "Negligent Borderline-Incompetent, Misses-Every-Shot, Wimp Seeks Small Boy". True, the pilot was action packed and depraved with quite a high level of violence for people like me (who enjoy shows like that). Also true, the show immediately degenerated into a program"Serial Killer Babysitters". "Occasional Serial Killers, Babysitting". If neither of those is clear enough, how about "Negligent Borderline-Incompetent, Misses-Every-Shot, Wimp Seeks Small Boy". True, the pilot was action packed and depraved with quite a high level of violence for people like me (who enjoy shows like that). Also true, the show immediately degenerated into a program consisting of a failed FBI agent missing or misinterpreting nearly every clue while the writers dangle in front of our faces the correct answer so the FBI agent appears even more foolish when he doesn't get it, which is nearly always, and a little boy who is missing. Every episode is about a missing little boy. It is a show about a serial killer (who didn't actually kill very many of the people he is in prison for killing, which basically makes him a pansy who rode on the coat tails of a younger, blond, serial killer who did the heavy lifting, as it were, so he could become the famous ex-college-professor serial killer, 'cause that is so very likely to happen to a professor of gothic and romantic literature, for whatever whacked out reason he has in his literature professor mind) and it is also about his serial killer following (losers and weirdos) who, oddly, also don't kill very many people. Mostly, they babysit and talk about the little boy they are babysitting, hence my correction of the title to what it should have been, "Occasional Serial Killers, Babysitting". The lead FBI agent is as offensive to me (Criminologist, among other things, because, yes, I'm that smart) as any portrayal I can recall. None of the agents I have ever known were this incompetent. Yes, I've known some local cops who could not shoot very well but this "agent", played as wimpilly and milk-toast, by Kevin Bacon, as he would have been had he been played by a cardboard cut-out, of Kevin Bacon, (who is actually a brilliant actor when the script isn't so terrible). This agent misses nearly every shot, save those approximately two feet in front of him. He doesn't explain to the lady in this scenario (also a college professor) that she might not want to believe the criminal mastermind when she is told to go with his little buddy to see her son, nor does he explain to her that pretty much any agent would have done a better job finding her stupid little ruiner of everything (her kid), even, well, let's see, perhaps the ATF agent I knew who had the job of sitting at a desk doing almost nothing because he'd gotten so gosh darn old and just wouldn't retire. The FBI has an entire unit in this series hunting down a crew of horrible killers who have abducted a little boy and occasionally, again occasionally, kill a guy, maybe, if they have time and feel like it and aren't hungry or tired or busy babysitting said little boy. Meanwhile, in the real world, I could name five who killed over twenty people, two who killed over fifty, one who killed over one-hundred people before being caught or going dormant, and my degree is pushing fifteen years old. So, we are, as the audience, supposed to believe that this killer, probably one of the weakest and least prolific in the history of the world, is the worst of the worst, meriting the involvement of an entire unit of really poor detectives and a cripple, or whatever you call someone whose pacemaker makes him cry all the time. This is among the least interesting, least thought provoking serial killer storylines I've ever seen and is clearly written by a team with little to no background in such things. One thing is clear, these writers really love their children which is probably how they ended up having nothing else to say through this magnificent medium we call television. Don't watch it unless you want to be annoyed or are eating and not really paying attention. (I watch it as my Monday night fall-asleep show... and Tuesday... and Wednesday... and part of Thursday.) I give it a Two for exceptional production values. Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    Kevin Bacon should be ashamed that he has attached his name to this product. I remember the days when I used to look forward to anything containing Kevin Bacon. I gave this show way too much of the benefit of the doubt and somehow managed to watch the first six episodes when I had spare time and literally nothing better to do. I had heard good things. I seriously have to question the tasteKevin Bacon should be ashamed that he has attached his name to this product. I remember the days when I used to look forward to anything containing Kevin Bacon. I gave this show way too much of the benefit of the doubt and somehow managed to watch the first six episodes when I had spare time and literally nothing better to do. I had heard good things. I seriously have to question the taste of the people who told me such good things. It is boring, over-the-top unrealistic, predictable and legitimately gets annoying at some points. Episode 7 is out now but I will gladly say I won't be wasting any more time. I wish I could get that time of my life back and maybe gain an extra hour of sleep for each episode. Expand
  24. Mar 21, 2014
    2
    This show is the epitome of lazy and offensively stupid writing. Step 1: come up with something shocking to put on the screen: people gouging their own eyes out, dismembered cats, Rob Ford descending from the ceiling of a sorority house to kill a bunch of young women, whatever. Step 2: say "it's a cult." As long as there's a cult involved, people don't need to have personalities orThis show is the epitome of lazy and offensively stupid writing. Step 1: come up with something shocking to put on the screen: people gouging their own eyes out, dismembered cats, Rob Ford descending from the ceiling of a sorority house to kill a bunch of young women, whatever. Step 2: say "it's a cult." As long as there's a cult involved, people don't need to have personalities or motivations. They just do whatever the writers need them to do that week, brainwashed by the cult's message that... murder is art, or something. I mean, really, who wouldn't want to give up a career in the FBI or local law enforcement to just settle down and gouge out people's eyes because... well, no reason. It's a cult. Expand
  25. Mar 12, 2013
    2
    I tried to like this show but finally gave up. It is simply an insult to my intelligence. How bad to the writers want to make the FBI look? (Not that they may not deserve it in reality...) At the end of the day why would I want to spend 98% of its showtime laughing at its faults in logic and sense. A good premise gone bad for lack of intelligent and realistic writing.
  26. Mar 12, 2013
    2
    Nothing shatters believability, or ruins your ability to suspend logic and enjoy a show, worse than bad casting, and this show breaks new ground in that area. How in the world am I ever supposed to watch this 19-year old play the part of the guy in charge, of all things, and not have seeing him and hearing his yet-to-change voice rip me out of my suspended belief and cause me to realizeNothing shatters believability, or ruins your ability to suspend logic and enjoy a show, worse than bad casting, and this show breaks new ground in that area. How in the world am I ever supposed to watch this 19-year old play the part of the guy in charge, of all things, and not have seeing him and hearing his yet-to-change voice rip me out of my suspended belief and cause me to realize I'm watching a crappy TV show? This kid gives orders to people three times his age. How could he have possibly become so experienced, and why on earth did they cast someone so young to play a senior detective? I have to fast forward through his scenes, because it's the equivalent of casting a woman to play a man, a child to play an elderly person. it's ludicrous, and I can't, for the life of me, imagine how anybody could view that move as being beneficial to the success of the show. Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    I really wanted to like this show, but I can not. So many simple editing mistakes. I do visit our local jail and my friend is allowed 11 people on the list; and it's hard to get on that list. A person must prove that they knew the person being jailed before sentence started. My friend is not on death row where I can only think rules are even more strick. I do like the acting, but theI really wanted to like this show, but I can not. So many simple editing mistakes. I do visit our local jail and my friend is allowed 11 people on the list; and it's hard to get on that list. A person must prove that they knew the person being jailed before sentence started. My friend is not on death row where I can only think rules are even more strick. I do like the acting, but the script sucks/are humans really so hopeless At least in criminal minds it raps up in a episode or 2... Expand
  28. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    I enjoyed the first episode or two, then the implausibility of the plot and its characters became too much to handle. It's funny that such a notorious serial killer was allowed an unlimited number of visitors, never had a conversation taped, and had absolute ability to connect with the outside world not to mention the fact that he somehow has roped in hundreds of "followers" from insideI enjoyed the first episode or two, then the implausibility of the plot and its characters became too much to handle. It's funny that such a notorious serial killer was allowed an unlimited number of visitors, never had a conversation taped, and had absolute ability to connect with the outside world not to mention the fact that he somehow has roped in hundreds of "followers" from inside a maximum security facility. The 2nd huge beef I have is in the form of a question: What's the end-game of this series? Will we see a resolution of the Joe Carroll situation by the end of this season, or are the writers planning to continue to string us along with a new twist every week for the entire run of this series? My wife still enjoys watching, but I can barely watch the inanities pile up each week. Expand
  29. Mar 25, 2013
    2
    Really tailing off now after a good start. Dream sequences are scraping the barrel, and a week before Easter, it's actually getting implausible to the point of meh, whatever...
  30. Apr 15, 2013
    2
    Please!!! What is it with the FBI and the Keystone Cops who are constantly stumbling through stakeouts, getting killed by amateur criminals, and surrounding buildings like idiots? Its silly how inept they make the FBI out to be. I really wanted to like this show, but the writing is beyond horrible.
    Fire all the writers and start over or cancel this mess.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    60
    Part Greek tragedy, part “Silence of the Lambs” offspring, The Following has an intriguing premise that almost rises above its layered plotting.
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    60
    The Following, compelling and frustrating from its opening credits, sets viewers up for a season-long, blood-soaked rematch between an evil intellectual and his law-enforcement nemesis.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    [A] somewhat overheated but still fairly effective new thriller.