• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Fosters Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Callie (Maia Mitchell) is taken in by lesbian couple Lena (Sherri Saum) and Stef (Teri Polo), who already have four adoptive and biological children together, in this drama executive-produced by Jennifer Lopez.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Caldwell
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    If it sticks with the quiet, string cheese moments, it could end up being an understated--but provocative--must watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    The show cannily plays to teen hopes and dreams--the school, for example, is on the edge of a gorgeous beach (the kids at “90210” never had it this lush)--but there’s story for the adults as well.
  3. 75
    Intelligent enough for adults, accessible enough for younger viewers and entertaining enough for both, it's a great show for parents and kids to watch together, and will give them plenty to talk about.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    The pilot episode of The Fosters is pretty entertaining and well-plotted.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    On the basis of the pilot, the show does a slightly better than average job of turning off-the-shelf ingredients into something diverting and occasionally moving.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    At least one aspect of Stef's relationship with her ex (Danny Nucci) seems unlikely, and Lena works at the most beautifully sited school in America, which all the kids happen to attend. But there's heart here, and a message about not throwing away children that belongs on a network that puts "Family" in its title.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 31, 2013
    50
    Polo and Saum are good actresses, but they appear pretty well hamstrung in their initial scenes together, as Stef and Lena banter about not taking in more stray kids, prompting Stef to quip, "We are not 'The Brady Bunch.'" Take away a few elements, though, and they sort of are.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The "0" ratings are clearly written by haters who have an agenda; some of these people admit that they have not watched the show, so they are not qualified to comment on its merits.

    At a time when there are so few dramas on TV of any sort, The Fosters is a happy surprise. I have found the scenes between the parents and the teen-aged kids well acted and realistic, and the couple's dialogue and reactions very believable. I'm not sure how we even found it since we don't really watch ABC Family, but we are now DVR'ing the series and watch it as soon as it shows up on our list. Give it try.

    I'm giving it a 10 in part to counteract the bogus "reviews," but I would have given it a high 8s, low 9s anyway. We're really enjoying it.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I love The Fosters cause even though the cast is fake and everything it is realistic show. It brings the events and problems to my eye. So I think that they deserve a 10. T he Fosters ROCK! Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So you have a cop and a school administrator living in a house that must cost about $3K a month to maintain. The actors aren't brilliant and the script is predictable. I hear that there are some people upset about the fact that Lena is so light skinned, that there are elements of the Hispanic community upset by Latino kids being raised by a lesbian couple and people saying that Steph and Lena don't show enough realistic passion.

    And to all that I say go suck a lemon.

    As a foster mom to three teens as well as our bio son, I can say that we depend on this show. I am mixed, my husband comes from a mixed family and our foster kids are Black teenagers in an inner city. Two of the kids are on track to become adopted permanently into our family. Our biological son adores his three older sisters. The day to day life portrayed in The Fosters mirrors ours on an uncanny and bizarre level. The week that they had the show where Brandon got annoyed because the shower was out of hot water by the time he got in there was the week that we implemented an egg-timer rule for our own bathroom. The week our youngest daughter came back from a Christian summer camp saying that gay people were going to burn in hell was the week that the show aired where the Rivieras stick up for Steph and Lena in a coherent way from a Christian perspective.

    Oh, and our oldest foster daughter is gay. Now she gets to have a role model for a functional, relatable lesbian relationship. That alone is huge.

    Don't even get me started on how hard it is to find time to maintain a relationship with your significant other when you have that many kids in the house. Thank you, Steph and Lena, for giving my husband and I moments to laugh and reconnect over.

    Our youngest one has ADHD and is on meds. She's also dealing with reconciling with a drug addicted mom while waiting for permanency with us, and battling out the differences between biological and adoptive/foster families. Thank you Jesus and Marianna for tackling those issues as well.

    I've never paid j-Lo much attention, honestly. I could probably name a few of her songs. But if I ever meet her, I will just have to thank her profusely for providing an opportunity for our own crazy, interracial, mixed up, unconventional family to safely discuss difficult issues. "What is family?" is an important question in 21st century America. The Fosters is tackling that question admirably. Predictably, maybe, and with somewhat stunted dialogue, but God Bless them for doing it.

    I see this show in much the same way as I see the original series Star Trek. Gene Rodenberry was tackling the issues of race and identity during the 60"s and 70's through TV that was mediocre at best. The importance of the show wasn't the brilliant acting or the gripping story line, but the fact that people from oppressed communities were shown in a positive light. Uhuru, Sulu and Chekov were important and notable characters. Spock's struggles with his identity as a mixed being were gripping for the burgeoning mixed race group of kids coming up then. Objectively, Star Trek was mildly interesting as a show. It's the concept that has made a huge difference in popular culture.

    The same with this show. To counteract disasters like "The Orphan" we have realistic teen foster kids who are dealing with the incredible burden of being a foster kid AND a teenager.

    Haters gonna hate. But this family is going to continue to be at the edge of our seats until next show when we find out what's happening next in the lives of our favorite TV family. Love.
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first saw the promo for this show my partner and I said "NO WAY!!!" because it seemed to freakishly mirror our circumstances. She and I are aged late 30's -40's and are lesbians, with 4 permanently placed foster kids and 1 biological child. Seriously, what are the chances of seeing that in a tv show??! Our kids are younger than the teens on the show but the themes in each show are surprisingly similar to our real lives (except our real lives involve more shouting, arguing, messiness, a less fancy school and home and a number of pets). The episode where Jesus and Marianna are reconnecting with their bio-mum was very similar to our kids experiences with their bio-mum. The ADHD medication was a familiar situation for us. I did not rate this show 10/10 b/c one thing it is missing is demonstrating that most foster kids have a fairly high level of trauma-based behaviours that can be difficult to parent. All the teens in this show are so easy going in comparison to our real life experiences. But despite that, I want to thank ABC and Jennifer Lopez for being brave and airing a show that celebrates family diversity in this way, it's just wonderful. I wish there were many more examples of alternative families on tv right now. I just wish there were more than 10 episodes for Season 1. How can I hang on for Season 2 to air???? *shakes head in despair*
    I really love this show.

    DNA doesn't make a family and love is love.
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This is a great show for anyone to enjoy. It has heart and personality unlike most shows targeted towards adolescent viewers. Naturally some scenarios seem unrealistic at times but this is a cable television show and its sole purpose is to entertain an audience. People watch television to see into a different perspective and to be distracted from personal lives and The Fosters manages to do this as well as connect the audience to familiar situations that any human being can relate to. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    The show addresses controversial topics that most would stay away from, yet it is able to captivate both kids and adults. Truly dramatic and unpredictable. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    0
    I was glad to see anther hispanic upset with this show. I am also upset with the hispanic emphasis too. I know my community does not appreciate this show either or Jennifer Lopez. We used to like her work, but this had tainted our opinion of her. I also want this show to be cancelled. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews