The Fosters : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Fosters Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Callie (Maia Mitchell) is taken in by lesbian couple Lena (Sherri Saum) and Stef (Teri Polo), who already have four adoptive and biological children together, in this drama executive-produced by Jennifer Lopez.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Caldwell
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    If it sticks with the quiet, string cheese moments, it could end up being an understated--but provocative--must watch.
  2. 75
    Intelligent enough for adults, accessible enough for younger viewers and entertaining enough for both, it's a great show for parents and kids to watch together, and will give them plenty to talk about.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    The show cannily plays to teen hopes and dreams--the school, for example, is on the edge of a gorgeous beach (the kids at “90210” never had it this lush)--but there’s story for the adults as well.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    On the basis of the pilot, the show does a slightly better than average job of turning off-the-shelf ingredients into something diverting and occasionally moving.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    At least one aspect of Stef's relationship with her ex (Danny Nucci) seems unlikely, and Lena works at the most beautifully sited school in America, which all the kids happen to attend. But there's heart here, and a message about not throwing away children that belongs on a network that puts "Family" in its title.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    The pilot episode of The Fosters is pretty entertaining and well-plotted.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 31, 2013
    50
    Polo and Saum are good actresses, but they appear pretty well hamstrung in their initial scenes together, as Stef and Lena banter about not taking in more stray kids, prompting Stef to quip, "We are not 'The Brady Bunch.'" Take away a few elements, though, and they sort of are.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The "0" ratings are clearly written by haters who have an agenda; some of these people admit that they have not watched the show, so they areThe "0" ratings are clearly written by haters who have an agenda; some of these people admit that they have not watched the show, so they are not qualified to comment on its merits.

    At a time when there are so few dramas on TV of any sort, The Fosters is a happy surprise. I have found the scenes between the parents and the teen-aged kids well acted and realistic, and the couple's dialogue and reactions very believable. I'm not sure how we even found it since we don't really watch ABC Family, but we are now DVR'ing the series and watch it as soon as it shows up on our list. Give it try.

    I'm giving it a 10 in part to counteract the bogus "reviews," but I would have given it a high 8s, low 9s anyway. We're really enjoying it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    What to say about The Fosters? Um, let me think...

    ( ) A series that I thought I wouldn't like, but ended up being one of the best I've
    What to say about The Fosters? Um, let me think...

    ( ) A series that I thought I wouldn't like, but ended up being one of the best I've ever seen?
    ( ) Has a spectacular story just portraying family relationships?
    ( ) Crazy stories that if you look for an certainly way make sense.
    ( ) An amazing series that makes you hate some laws.
    (xxxxxxx) All of the above.

    The 0 rates are probably from idiot kids who don't appreciate series without supernatural ****
    Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So you have a cop and a school administrator living in a house that must cost about $3K a month to maintain. The actors aren't brilliant and the script is predictable. I hear that there are some people upset about the fact that Lena is so light skinned, that there are elements of the Hispanic community upset by Latino kids being raised by a lesbian couple and people saying that Steph and Lena don't show enough realistic passion.

    And to all that I say go suck a lemon.

    As a foster mom to three teens as well as our bio son, I can say that we depend on this show. I am mixed, my husband comes from a mixed family and our foster kids are Black teenagers in an inner city. Two of the kids are on track to become adopted permanently into our family. Our biological son adores his three older sisters. The day to day life portrayed in The Fosters mirrors ours on an uncanny and bizarre level. The week that they had the show where Brandon got annoyed because the shower was out of hot water by the time he got in there was the week that we implemented an egg-timer rule for our own bathroom. The week our youngest daughter came back from a Christian summer camp saying that gay people were going to burn in hell was the week that the show aired where the Rivieras stick up for Steph and Lena in a coherent way from a Christian perspective.

    Oh, and our oldest foster daughter is gay. Now she gets to have a role model for a functional, relatable lesbian relationship. That alone is huge.

    Don't even get me started on how hard it is to find time to maintain a relationship with your significant other when you have that many kids in the house. Thank you, Steph and Lena, for giving my husband and I moments to laugh and reconnect over.

    Our youngest one has ADHD and is on meds. She's also dealing with reconciling with a drug addicted mom while waiting for permanency with us, and battling out the differences between biological and adoptive/foster families. Thank you Jesus and Marianna for tackling those issues as well.

    I've never paid j-Lo much attention, honestly. I could probably name a few of her songs. But if I ever meet her, I will just have to thank her profusely for providing an opportunity for our own crazy, interracial, mixed up, unconventional family to safely discuss difficult issues. "What is family?" is an important question in 21st century America. The Fosters is tackling that question admirably. Predictably, maybe, and with somewhat stunted dialogue, but God Bless them for doing it.

    I see this show in much the same way as I see the original series Star Trek. Gene Rodenberry was tackling the issues of race and identity during the 60"s and 70's through TV that was mediocre at best. The importance of the show wasn't the brilliant acting or the gripping story line, but the fact that people from oppressed communities were shown in a positive light. Uhuru, Sulu and Chekov were important and notable characters. Spock's struggles with his identity as a mixed being were gripping for the burgeoning mixed race group of kids coming up then. Objectively, Star Trek was mildly interesting as a show. It's the concept that has made a huge difference in popular culture.

    The same with this show. To counteract disasters like "The Orphan" we have realistic teen foster kids who are dealing with the incredible burden of being a foster kid AND a teenager.

    Haters gonna hate. But this family is going to continue to be at the edge of our seats until next show when we find out what's happening next in the lives of our favorite TV family. Love.
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2017
    9
    So Great! This film series exposes the problems with the justice system, the danger of discrimination and maltreatment of foster kids, LGBT+.So Great! This film series exposes the problems with the justice system, the danger of discrimination and maltreatment of foster kids, LGBT+. Also points out the problem and danger of dishonesty, bribery and violent/stupid teenage behaviour. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I thoroughly enjoy 'The Fosters' While at times the over-production is blatantly obvious (unrealistic perfection and perhaps overly attractiveI thoroughly enjoy 'The Fosters' While at times the over-production is blatantly obvious (unrealistic perfection and perhaps overly attractive cast) the show has definite charm. It manages to put across powerfully positive messages without becoming saccharine or overly lecturing. Expand
  6. May 23, 2016
    8
    Hm, what to say about The Fosters? I became immediately enticed from the very beginning of the first episode. The show never continues toHm, what to say about The Fosters? I became immediately enticed from the very beginning of the first episode. The show never continues to surprise me and fascinates me in every way imaginable. It's more than just a regular TV show with a mundane plot. It encompasses major themes and very important topics; from homosexual relationships, the process and negligence of the foster care system, suicide, self-worth, illness, and the law.
    I really became invested watching the characters grow throughout the seasons. The performances are so rich and full of passion. The Fosters takes a very raw approach in portraying these sensitive topics. They don't just argue for or against one side of an argument; they really take time to show different perspectives on these issues and how its essential to understand the complexity in order to respond in a compassionate manner.
    Watching the series over time, I learned an extreme amount about myself, and other topics which I didn't even think about until watching the show. The show is suited for both children and adults, which I think is really unique and powerful.
    The family dynamic is very interesting. Two mothers, one biological son, and four adopted children. Along with all of the birth parents of the adopted children.You would think, "This is odd. How does this work?" The whole family is extremely connected and quite frankly it is spectacular to watch different backgrounds, ages, sexuality, and interests operate so naturally and authentically.
    There is not much to complain about with a show like this one. Every show has its negatives, which this one does too, but the positives absolutely outweigh the negatives. They bring about important conversations and issues without shoving it in your face and overly lecturing. The Fosters is a fresh take on a normal, every day family. Every family and individual has their struggles, but at the end of the day, family and love is the most important. I think we can all relate to that. So well done ABC!
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    This is the epitome of anti-evolution.

    Those with zero potential to conceive ought NOT be lauded. An infertal man&woman couple, the only
    This is the epitome of anti-evolution.

    Those with zero potential to conceive ought NOT be lauded. An infertal man&woman couple, the only form of marriage, there is a potential to conceive. There is zero potential between two instances of the same gender self evidently. Marriage is to bring children into the world in love.

    Lust ought not be conflated with love.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers