• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1
The Gates Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Monohan's move to the seemingly idyllic community of The Gates, but they soon discover the neighbors are hiding supernatural secrets about themselves.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Scoundrels, at 9 p.m., and The Gates, at 10, may not be exactly the stuff you can't wait another week for, but both are watchable and fun, part of a big ABC effort to put something new, if not original, on the air most nights this summer.
  2. 63
    The Gates actually moves along at a brisk enough clip, and though it's bland around the edges, it introduces enough mysteries to keep things more or less interesting (there are allusions to a "code" residents must live by, and presumably that doesn't refer to local regulations on lawn care).
  3. The Gates is a satire--a cheaply enjoyable one--of suburban lust and maternal anxiety, psycho-social forces that delivered previous generations of women to the pages of Betty Friedan (or Redbook) but that today send a certain kind of young matron to the perverse romance of vampire media.
  4. 50
    If only it felt inspired, rather than like a Desperate Weirdwives rehash of every vampire, werewolf and witch story you've ever heard and every family soap you've seen.
  5. 50
    The Gates feels like it's been pieced together from so many other shows that it resembles the one monster that's not been included: Frankenstein.
  6. The show just doesn't add enough fresh blood to dramas and situations we may simply have seen too often.
  7. 30
    New Zealand, however, cannot be blamed for The Gates, approximately the 1,712th American television show about vampires.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    This is such a great program! I look forward to watching every week. I can't believe there are rumors that The Gates is going to be cancelled? Big mistake. Cancel some of the reality shows instead. Bring The Gates back next season!!! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I love love love this show... I look forward to this show every Sunday. I would hate to see this show canceled. Also the ending was like a movie that needs a second one, for we are all dying to see what happens. I need to know what happens to Charlie... Everyone in this show is great. I started watching this show because of Rhona Mitra, I loved her in Underworld Rise of the Lycans. She is a great actress and not to mention totally sexy. I would be upset if there wasn't more seasons to come. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    The Gtaes is an outstanding show from the acting to the plot writing. This is by far much more than a summer filler and superior to any crappy reality show. A first rate drama that has it all. Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this show ! And so hate that i will not know the end to the serious since now it is canceled .the critics undoubtly don,t know what they are talking about. i so wish someone would pick this show up and finish it i want to know the end . This would be a great show for CW since they know what real shows are all about lol love love love the gates!! Expand
  5. cj4
    Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Cancel this show, and I cancel ABC! FINALLY, some adult-based, fun drama that I can sit back, and enjoy!!! I have a masters degree, am a paralegal, educator, over 40, and HATE (please remember this) HATE reality television (aside from the cooking channel..."Jamie at Home" and "Big Daddy" are two of my favorites, along with "Madison"...one of the "Chopped" champions...please make him an Iron Chef.). Kindly allow those of us who rely on USA, TNT, and LOGO for our entertainment (because network television is primarily filled with bimbos and nonsensical storylines) to enjoy some sort of entertainment besides the nightly news for television viewing. I LOVE THIS SHOW!!! LONG LIVE THE GATES!!! Let's keep good writers and actors employed in the process, making this a vehicle to outlast the Law & Order franchise! Thank you for finally allowing the "grown-ups" their PREFERRED place at the table!!! Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    9
    The Gates is probably one of the best times I've had watching a series on Netflix. Is it over-the-top, campy and at times even stupid? Sure, but the cast is charming enough to make it all work and, besides, it's not trying to be Six Feet Under. After all, one of main characters is a succubus.... So you really can't hold it up to stringent standards after that revelation. While it doesn't completely get the opportunity to tie up all it's loose ends before it was cancelled, there's still a surprisingly satisfying ending included and it doesn't take too much away from the overall experience. My only complaints are that there's nowhere near enough skin for as attractive as the cast is, and they focus too much on certain characters that are over-explored while other more creative entries seem oddly sidelined. Plus it's absolutely ridiculous. Still, you'd be hard pressed to find a show at delightfully goofy as The Gates. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    too bad this series won't live to see another season, it was entertaining to watch, kept me glued to the tv for sometime. However, it lacks excitement that makes people want more. Characters are not bad, but i think writing should be better. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews