The Glades : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Glades Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Homicide detective Jim Longworth joins the Palm Glade, Florida, police force from Chicago to seek a less hectic life but soon discovers there's no escaping cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. In the end, the series itself is something fresh, welcome and a little tart -- and just like a nice citrus fruit, it'll be hard to stop with just one of these.
  2. 80
    With enough chemistry between its stars to power a DuPont lab and a wise use of off-the-beaten-path South Florida shooting locations -- it goes for a fetid swamp over South Beach every time -- The Glades is thoroughly enjoyable.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    75
    All this is to say, simply, that Passmore is an intriguing screen presence who holds a well-constructed if otherwise boilerplate cop show together.
  4. He is kind of irritating.... but Passmore largely pulls it off, in part by making the character a bit daffy; he just can't help himself. And the producers surround him with jerks and dweebs and men less handsome or clever than himself to ensure that he's the person with whom we identify and whose opinions we share; the plot conveniently supports his genius.
  5. 63
    The Glades isn't bad, it just feels older than a swamp gator--and as hungry as one for some fresh meat.
  6. The cop is a little too snarky, the nurse is a little too cavalier and the 16-year-old doesn't look a day under 21. That said, A&E's new Florida police drama, The Glades, still has some juice.
  7. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    25
    I could go on and on about reasons not to watch this show: the title easily confused with "The Gates"; the Kia product placement; the convolutedly stupid plot. [11 Jul 2010]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    After catching the adverts for this show, i started watching it midway through the first season. Now I am completely Hooked....sigh...and iAfter catching the adverts for this show, i started watching it midway through the first season. Now I am completely Hooked....sigh...and i cant wait for Sunday nights.
    Matt Passmore is hypnotic, sexy, charismatic and i can't wait to see what he does next.

    Kiele Sanchez is the hottie from The Perfect Getaway and i like her as well : )
    Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    My daughter has all the family and relatives watching the glades. My son-in-law & nephew are detectives & they both think Matt does excellentMy daughter has all the family and relatives watching the glades. My son-in-law & nephew are detectives & they both think Matt does excellent true to life role. A&E has approximately 33 new viewers with our family all on board. Both my wife and I love the glades,we never miss a show. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    I love this show. I am truly amazed at the negative comments people have written about this show on this site, because I think it is the bestI love this show. I am truly amazed at the negative comments people have written about this show on this site, because I think it is the best thing I have seen in a long time, and I am a fan of CSI Miami. This is much more entertaining. I am glad Matt Passmore is finally getting attention in the US because he is so HOT, but I like all the characters. I hope this show goes on for a long time. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    http://tvtastic.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/the-glades-ae-sunday-1000-p-m/ I've been watching police procedural shows for years and I hate mosthttp://tvtastic.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/the-glades-ae-sunday-1000-p-m/ I've been watching police procedural shows for years and I hate most of them that people seem to drool over. I gave up on the entire Law & Order franchise years go, I was never a fan of NYPD Blue (although I concede that it was occasionally entertaining) and I absolutely hate the inane CSI franchise and question the intelligence of the millions of fans who think that it's actually any good. I could go into my hatred of CSI all day but I'm reserving that for a separate post. Needless to say, for a police procedural to really get my attention it has to be unique and well-written, but most importantly it has to be character-driven as opposed to event-driven which is what most of the generic police fare is. A few of the shows that really stand out in this genre and meet those standards over the last decade for me are The Wire (HBO), the short-lived but brilliant Boomtown (NBC), The Shield (FX) and most recently, one of my favorite new shows, Justified (FX, review forthcoming). Well, add The Glades to that list.

    Like its predecessors, The Glades weaves excellent storytelling around and a well-written group of complex supporting characters with a central character that not only brings it all together but stands out as the reason to come back week-to-week. Passmore is brilliantly cast as Longworth, which is really no small feat because the truth is that the character could easily come off as the clichéd cocky, big fish/small pond, I'm-smarter-than-all-of-these-small-town-hicks cop who every week learns a little lesson from living in small town America that gives him a greater appreciation for his colleagues. We, of course, have seen this more than once in TV and film and of course we're bored by it. Instead, though, Longworth, cocky as he is, is cocky for a reason: he's a really good cop, knows it, but isn't arrogant about it. It's just kind of a matter-of-fact deal with him but he respects his fellow colleagues who are competent and though he's tolerant of his unmotivated colleagues like his partner, he recognizes their weaknesses and just goes about his business to make sure that they don't impede his work. The point is that unlike other clichéd cops on TV, Longworth isn't all up in anybody's face about how good he is and how bad anyone else is, he just does the job and does it well. The character is witty and sarcastic and as a viewer you appreciate his ability to think outside of the box to bring clues together from unexpected sources.

    Another reason why I put The Glades into the category of unique police procedurals is because it does something that most cop shows really don't do: it makes the town of Palm Glades, Florida as important of a supporting character as anyone else in the cast, as opposed to just a backdrop for the drama. All of the other shows I mentioned all have this in common. The Wire with Baltimore, The Shield and Boomtown with Los Angeles and Justified with Leland, Kentucky. I always appreciate shows that understand that the locale is an integral character to any good story. It provides a depth to all of the live characters and their perspectives and it acts as a device to truly engage the audience, giving them a sense that they too, truly know what it's like to be from Baltimore, L.A. or even Leland, Kentucky, even though they may have never even been there before. This approach has been done in film for decades but it is a relatively new concept in television and almost non-existent on network television. That being said, it's entirely refreshing that a central character of The Glades is the Glades itself.

    The pilot was excellent and the writing near flawless, albeit a bit rushed at the end because it's obvious that they were trying to cram character development/establishment and a complex plot all into one hour (NOTE TO A&E: If a show is as good as The Glades is, a two-hour pilot will keep our attention). The story takes us on Longworth's journey to connect clues and if you blink, you might miss something which is of course the true sign of a good mystery. The twist at the end is brilliant and of the quality you would expect from premium channels like HBO or Showtime (again, I just wished it wasn't so rushed) and believe me, unlike everyone spoiling Shutter Island by telling you there's a twist and ergo you expected it (and like me, probably figured it within the first 20 minutes), it is highly unlikely you will expect this particular twist even though you know one is coming. I just hope that they keep the twists coming like this every week.
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    I loved the pilot episode but the story telling in this show went straight down hill after that to the point where its just another genericI loved the pilot episode but the story telling in this show went straight down hill after that to the point where its just another generic detective show. The lead actor is good and he has a solid supporting cast as well. Its just the writing that kills it for me. Its a rather short season so I would say give it a shot but dont expect a masterpiece. Expand
  6. WallaceS
    Jul 12, 2010
    5
    slow, tedioius, at times disjointed, implausible situations (kid fishing in crock infested stream). How can the promo at end say...."Move slow, tedioius, at times disjointed, implausible situations (kid fishing in crock infested stream). How can the promo at end say...."Move Over CSI Miami"???? Expand
  7. JoanB
    Jul 14, 2010
    0
    Stupid, arrogant, and scripted to be "silly." The show should be aired AFTER the 10:00 p.m. news cast. The profanity and lack of interest Stupid, arrogant, and scripted to be "silly." The show should be aired AFTER the 10:00 p.m. news cast. The profanity and lack of interest interfers with the good programming in prime time. If the producer(s) are attempting to compete with CSI MIAMI....they will never reach that level of entertainment with the glades. I think my 11 year old grandson could produce a better show than the glades. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews