• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    33
    It rapidly turns into a prolonged, nearly laughless sketch about domestic life in the Pac-Man era.
  2. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 24, 2013
    30
    The characters and mishaps on The Goldbergs are predicable, and the writing isn’t clever enough to overcome clichés.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    30
    The Goldbergs has a solid adult cast, but the whole thing leans heavily on broad humor and cartoonish moments--and did I mention that it's LOUD.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 24, 2013
    20
    It’s not just that they’re caricatures, or that even the most prominent piece of ’80s music used in the pilot makes you wince. It’s the way every move and sentence feels like the easiest path to predictable gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2013
    20
    The Goldbergs runs the gamut from stale to sour.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    As a kid of the 80s...was born in 74....I really appreciate this show a great deal and "get it". I love going down memory lane and this show is hysterical and fits the 80s decade to a T. I hope ABC lets it grow and stay on the air and doesn't make the enormous mistake that NBC made with Freaks and Geeks and canceling that show so fast. This has the potential to be a HUGE show. Let it grow. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The Goldbergs is a very funny show. Most good comedies get me to laugh at least once in a show, but this show had me laughing out loud several times in the first two episodes. The young kid is a real gem and I think he will have a very bright future. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I really liked this show, in fact it made me laugh out loud several times I don't usually do that. I think once it gets its legs it will be a better show. It is a corny show but in a good way. It is over acted but I love that it is based on the producers real experience. Nice to see an 80s show that did its homework on the era. Full Review »