• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Goldbergs Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: George Segal, Jeff Garlin, Wendi McLendon-Covey
  • Summary: Set in the 1980s, this semi-autobiographical comedy centers on young boy (Sean Giambrone as a kid, Patton Oswalt as an adult via narration) who documents his family life with a camcorder. Jeff Garlin, Wendi McLendon-Covey, and George Segal also star.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    One of the new offerings that stands out from the pack is ABC's coming-of-age series, The Goldbergs, which is fueled partly by nostalgia, partly by the great Jeff Garlin's constant yelling and partly out of some outstanding writing. A strong cast doesn't hurt, either.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    The Goldbergs is funnier because the jokes are better but also because it is more credible [than "Mom"].
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    67
    Garlin and McLendon-­Covey are believable as variations of “That ’70s Show’s” parents, and Gentile’s Jan Brady-style meltdowns are amusing. But Adam’s obsession with female breasts, encouraged by his grandfather “Pops” (George Segal), is creepy, considering the actor looks about 9.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Sep 18, 2013
    50
    The Goldbergs's ostensibly endearing premise is sadly also its biggest flaw. Goldberg's on-screen representation as prepubescent Adam (Sean Giambrone) fails to complement the voiceover narration and meaningful asides of adult Adam (Patton Oswalt) in any substantial way.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    So far so generic, and I'll decide later once my ears stop ringing.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    There are some sharp jokes here, but they get lost in the bile. The Goldbergs is like The Wonder Years infected by Married... With Children. It's a half hour of annoying people yelling at one another.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2013
    20
    The Goldbergs runs the gamut from stale to sour.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    As a kid of the 80s...was born in 74....I really appreciate this show a great deal and "get it". I love going down memory lane and this show is hysterical and fits the 80s decade to a T. I hope ABC lets it grow and stay on the air and doesn't make the enormous mistake that NBC made with Freaks and Geeks and canceling that show so fast. This has the potential to be a HUGE show. Let it grow. Collapse
  2. May 19, 2014
    10
    This is one of my new favorite shows! If you don't like this show, then something is wrong. This is one of the new shows and is going to be around for a long time. I am so glad it got renewed and is going to start up a season 2! Can't wait. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This is a great show! I laugh all the way through it, and look forward to watching each week. I love the clips at the end of each show of the real family. The casting was perfect also. Great job and I really hope it stays on for years to come. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I love this show! I hope it doesn't get canceled. Reminds me so much of my family. My brothers would do the stop hitting yourself and finding scrambled skino max. My sister took me to watch poltergeist and I swear I slept in her room for a year. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Growing up in the 80s I can relate to this show on so many aspects, but it's way more than that. I love all the 80s references and props. The characters are all funny, yet show a vulnerable side. I know some critics say it's trying to copy the Wonder Years, but is that a bad thing? That was one of my all time favorite shows. I think the relationship between the grandpa and the kid is my favorite part. They are hilarious together. I think it's great when they wrap up each episode with a positive and most of the time funny take home message. For the most part it's very family friendly too. I haven't liked a comedy series like this since the Friends and Seinfeld. I love it. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    7
    The show is fun but it's all over the 80's without the characters ever aging which can be weird. I mean when episode will be about Goonies (1985); then it will be about Return of the Jedi (1983). Now in this season there's an episode where they're talking about Die Hard (1988).
    Still, this show is charming and fun, with a great cast.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I find this show a disgusting role model for kids. Really?? Are these the kind of values we want our children to impart - throwing food at their parents at dinner when the parents ask their daughter what's wrong, telling their grandfather off for no reason and calling him a lying idiot, and talking back to police officers. And this was all in about a 5 minute segment. I had to turn the channel. This stuff makes me sick! I am a teacher and a parent of 2 teenagers and over the past 20 years I have watched kids be influenced by garbage TV shows like this that encourage children to disrespect authority on every level. Kids who value these shows have no boundaries, thanks to you. Can't these writers entertain without role-modeling poor values?? Expand

See all 40 User Reviews