• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Good Guys Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dan Stark (Bradley Whitford), who was once the top cop at the precinct in the '80s but has since been relegated to petty crime investigation, is partnered with Jack Bailey (Colin Hanks), a young, ambitious police detective who follows the rules.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. 88
    West Wing politico Bradley Whitford reinvents himself for this entertaining free-for-all, a loose blend of buddy comedy and police action that's also an affectionate nod to series like Starsky & Hutch.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Count me in. Nix knows you can't play the old cliches straight, so each shootout and car chase--and there's plenty of mayhem in the fast-paced pilot--is infused with an "oh, c'mon" over-the-top goofiness.
  3. 80
    Although "The Good Guys" might sound like the sort of cliché-heavy dramedy unlikely to hold our attention for more than a few milliseconds, the show pushes its formula just past zany and lands in the far more appealing territory of downright absurd.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    67
    Whitford's Stark is a '70s throwback who looks like he stepped out of a rerun of Mannix, and Hanks' Bailey is his prim foil. The pilot huffs and puffs for laughs the way Stark chases perps, but it could settle into a comfy cop series.
  5. 63
    Fox's newest buddy series relies too much on the '70's-style moustache of detective Dan Stark (Bradley Whitford) and too little on the chemistry he has (or doesn't) with his partner, Jack Bailey (Colin Hanks). Not that this is a bad thing, since the moustache is a better character than either of the above.
  6. They might have to lose some of the cartoon-cop humor to get there. Whether they do may determine whether Dan and Jack end up as a short, forgettable joke or a couple of cops we care about.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    25
    Never before have stereotypes been so proudly strutted about.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Its great fun to watch. Lines and scenes of the Good Guys make you laugh out loud just remembering them. The edits and scene merges and structure seem well done. The site says its single camera. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    First of all, The Good Guys has NOT been cancelled, Carmen. Fox took a big gamble starting a series in June, but they gave us less than half a season. The show is now back and it has a committment to the end of the season. Having said that, I am a HUGE Bradley Whitford fan. But we have to learn to separate the characters and not expect him to play Dan Stark like he was Josh Lyman or even Danny Tripp. (His biggest professional mistake, I think, was to be filming Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip at the same time he was wrapping up The West Wing, but that's just me.) OK, so he's playing a washed up, womanizing, drunk cop with a gut and a propensity to want things to be like they were. He's playing it with GUSTO, and after the couple of years he's had, I'm OK with that. I find Dan Stark oddly sexy and endearing and that has less to do with who's playing him than I thought it would. Anybody over the age of 40 KNOWS a guy like Dan Stark. And some of us still like to hang out with him. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Do all programs have to keep you on the edge of your seat or keep your brain engaged in scientific or factual details? To simply sit back, laugh and go intellectually off for a few moments can be good for the soul. The Good Guys gives you this opportunity. Enough of politics, economics, crime and war, we need a break and Good Guys provides just that. Expand
  4. pps
    Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This one of the funnest shows on tv. It may not be some emmy winning thing but it definitly deserves more cedit than it gets, some shows are just hilarious, they don't need to be masterpieces to be good. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    The entire season of The Good Guys is now on Netflix, so if you have streaming service you will want to go watch it. When you are done you will be wondering why it ever got cancelled (unless you have no sense of humor or poor taste in TV shows). Don't just watch the first few episodes and judge it, because like any good show it takes a little time for the characters to develop. By mid season the show was really fun to watch, and I for one was upset when it got canceled. Watch it on Netflix and enjoy. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    This is a very funny show!!! Bradley Whitford's constant comedic timing is amazing! I think this show is a great way to turn off your brain and just watch a funny show that requires no thought. Colin is the perfect straight man to bottle it all up. Keep em coming FOX! Expand
  7. Brian
    May 20, 2010
    2
    Bradley Whitford doing a straight rip-off of Dabney Coleman's "Buffalo Bill" recast as a cop. Might be funny if you hadn't seen every punchline done so many times before, it wasn't utterly predictable or the cop team wasn't already to the "uncomfortable old shoe" stage. Who had the dim-witted idea to put on a comedy where the straight character repeatedly cues the audience to be bored by the 'madcap' character's antics & stories? Expand

See all 22 User Reviews