• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Good Guys Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dan Stark (Bradley Whitford), who was once the top cop at the precinct in the '80s but has since been relegated to petty crime investigation, is partnered with Jack Bailey (Colin Hanks), a young, ambitious police detective who follows the rules.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. 88
    West Wing politico Bradley Whitford reinvents himself for this entertaining free-for-all, a loose blend of buddy comedy and police action that's also an affectionate nod to series like Starsky & Hutch.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Count me in. Nix knows you can't play the old cliches straight, so each shootout and car chase--and there's plenty of mayhem in the fast-paced pilot--is infused with an "oh, c'mon" over-the-top goofiness.
  3. 80
    Although "The Good Guys" might sound like the sort of cliché-heavy dramedy unlikely to hold our attention for more than a few milliseconds, the show pushes its formula just past zany and lands in the far more appealing territory of downright absurd.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    67
    Whitford's Stark is a '70s throwback who looks like he stepped out of a rerun of Mannix, and Hanks' Bailey is his prim foil. The pilot huffs and puffs for laughs the way Stark chases perps, but it could settle into a comfy cop series.
  5. 63
    Fox's newest buddy series relies too much on the '70's-style moustache of detective Dan Stark (Bradley Whitford) and too little on the chemistry he has (or doesn't) with his partner, Jack Bailey (Colin Hanks). Not that this is a bad thing, since the moustache is a better character than either of the above.
  6. They might have to lose some of the cartoon-cop humor to get there. Whether they do may determine whether Dan and Jack end up as a short, forgettable joke or a couple of cops we care about.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    25
    Never before have stereotypes been so proudly strutted about.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Its great fun to watch. Lines and scenes of the Good Guys make you laugh out loud just remembering them. The edits and scene merges and structure seem well done. The site says its single camera. Collapse
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    First of all, The Good Guys has NOT been cancelled, Carmen. Fox took a big gamble starting a series in June, but they gave us less than half a season. The show is now back and it has a committment to the end of the season. Having said that, I am a HUGE Bradley Whitford fan. But we have to learn to separate the characters and not expect him to play Dan Stark like he was Josh Lyman or even Danny Tripp. (His biggest professional mistake, I think, was to be filming Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip at the same time he was wrapping up The West Wing, but that's just me.) OK, so he's playing a washed up, womanizing, drunk cop with a gut and a propensity to want things to be like they were. He's playing it with GUSTO, and after the couple of years he's had, I'm OK with that. I find Dan Stark oddly sexy and endearing and that has less to do with who's playing him than I thought it would. Anybody over the age of 40 KNOWS a guy like Dan Stark. And some of us still like to hang out with him. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    It was a great show and I encourage everyone to see it. Its a pity that it lasted only 1 season though. Stupid Fox first Firefly and now this!!!
  4. pps
    Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This one of the funnest shows on tv. It may not be some emmy winning thing but it definitly deserves more cedit than it gets, some shows are just hilarious, they don't need to be masterpieces to be good. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    When it aired, "The Good Guys" made such a negligible impression on me that I can't remember watching a single episode. Ditto later online viewing: Netflix tells me that I streamed the pilot (most of it, anyway) last summer, but I don't remember doing so. Impressed by Colin Hanks's recent stint on "Dexter," though, I went back to give the series one more try, and the third time was definitely the charm. This time around, after a half-dozen episodes, I'm impressed by the precise comic balance of the series, which simultaneously satirizes and embraces a host of cultural stereotypes. Most satire is caustic, rather than affectionate; insight is compromised by sympathy. But, every once in a while, someone manages both (think Cake's brilliant cover of "I Will Survive," which both skewers and celebrates the self-dramatizing affirmations of the disco anthem). Matt Nix nails that difficult balance, starting with the mismatched partners in the Trans Am, played with intelligence, daring, and gusto by Whitford and Hanks, and ending with perhaps the smartest soundtrack in television, able to provide sly commentary on the action while setting viewers' heads a-banging. Oh, and the cases the partners solve--and the way they solve them--are often ingenious, cleverly emerging from petty, impossibly dull assignments and frequent missteps. In other words, I found material enough to occupy my inner mystery fan, though I doubt it would satisfy a stickler for authenticity in police procedure or the culture of law enforcement. In short, this is NOT a series about detectives but about the people who play them on television; it's not TV but metaTV. Viewers who expect the first, as I'll wager I did initially, may be disappointed. Viewers who lack the necessary cultural references may be bored or confused. But I won't be at all surprised if this series enjoys a healthy afterlife. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    I almost hate to admit this...I actually look forward to this show. Although the humor is corny and the cop version of The Odd Couple has been done before, the show works on a few levels. Dan Stark is trapped in his own time warp of how things used to be (and how he used to be perceived) along with his obsession with his own good looks that is personified in his mustache-grooming create a likeable character with some good one-liners. The backwards, lets-start-with-the-end, type of filming is pretty original for a TV show and the plot works out with a clear, though not always believable, resolution. Overall, I enjoy the show. Expand
  7. FiZ
    Aug 13, 2010
    5
    I'm conflicted about The Good Guys: The funny parts are really good, but the dull points REALLY drag. As it stands, if I happen to be watching the show, I multitask on something else so I only have to pay attention to the good parts. I think it has great potential, but it has yet to be realized. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews