The Good Wife : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
The Good Wife Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Oct 20, 2010
    100
    It's getting difficult to keep coming up with superlatives for this sophomore-season drama, especially with a thrilling and tantalizing episode like tonight's.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 20, 2010
    100
    As season two begins, creators/executive producers Robert and Michelle King show no signs of standing pat. They're allowing the series and its characters to evolve while reminding viewers of the show's original premise.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 20, 2010
    100
    Like "Mad Men," Wife has an obsessive attention to detail; it's a hurricane of detail, in the visual touches, legal patter and the actors' unspoken flourishes. Nothing seems extraneous or out of place. Also like "Men," this show cares as much about silence as words, or that which isn't said (also a form of eloquence).
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In its first couple of Season 2 episodes, The Good Wife stirs up a delectable stew of political, legal, romantic and interpersonal complications. It manages to be both escapist and intelligent, and that is an unbeatable combination.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Tuesday night by plunging its characters deeper into a web of crisscrossing dramas that suggest the law and politics ultimately come down to soap operas. Whether it's true or not, The Good Wife makes the theory entertaining to explore.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    75
    While it will no doubt settle back into its normal pattern, the first two episodes have been a bit busy--and a little light on the courtroom drama side of things.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 26, 2010
    75
    Verdict: guilty--of being a guilty pleasure.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    The second season of the Good Wife delivers an even more cynical (and real) look at life and politics than the first season. The acting isThe second season of the Good Wife delivers an even more cynical (and real) look at life and politics than the first season. The acting is fantastic and while not every case is the most interesting, the interactions between the characters and the mystery of their motivations more than makes up for any run-of-the-mill trial. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    The appearances of Michael J. Fox, along with the cunning Patty Nyholm (Martha Plimpton) really help the show to upgrade itself. JuliannaThe appearances of Michael J. Fox, along with the cunning Patty Nyholm (Martha Plimpton) really help the show to upgrade itself. Julianna Margulies and Christine Baranski are definitely among my favorite female TV characters. However, I gotta admit that Archie Panjabi is the real scene-stealer throughout the show. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Season 2 of the Good Wife is a hugely unwieldy beast that starts and ends well. The middle is more hit-and-miss, but the huge pay-off inSeason 2 of the Good Wife is a hugely unwieldy beast that starts and ends well. The middle is more hit-and-miss, but the huge pay-off in episodes 16-17 and 20-23 more than makes up for it. Despite the hype you may have heard, this show is still vastly underrated. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Over the course of 6 seasons, with its unique blend of serial and
    procedural storytelling, /The Good Wife/ expands the clichéd “good
    wife,”
    Over the course of 6 seasons, with its unique blend of serial and
    procedural storytelling, /The Good Wife/ expands the clichéd “good
    wife,” or melodrama’s martyred “coping woman,” with a contradictory and
    mercurial characterization of a woman whose liberation and corruption
    are increasingly intertwined.
    Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2017
    9
    Building on an already very good first season The Good Wife continues to go from strength to strength in its sophomore year. I rarely watchBuilding on an already very good first season The Good Wife continues to go from strength to strength in its sophomore year. I rarely watch network television these days, particularly ones with procedural elements, as the large number of episodes produced each year often affects the shows quality. The consistency of the writing throughout the twenty-three episodes on offer here is exceptional however and both the main cast, and recurring characters, are superbly portrayed by the cast (Julianne Margulies is particularly great).

    If The Good Wife can keep up these high standards for the rest of its run, and I’ve been told it does, it could very well one of my favourite shows of all time!
    Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    I'm not a big fan of lawyer shows, but this is one of my favorite shows. Juliana Margulies is outstanding as is the entire support cast. EachI'm not a big fan of lawyer shows, but this is one of my favorite shows. Juliana Margulies is outstanding as is the entire support cast. Each episode is an excellent story and I look forward to each one. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2016
    0
    I never actually volunteered to comment so my rating(which was zero according to Metacritic) is completely undeserved, especially because I amI never actually volunteered to comment so my rating(which was zero according to Metacritic) is completely undeserved, especially because I am a huge fan of the show. While no one can argue with the quality of such programs as Law&Order, The Practice, Murder One, et al, few shows are able to capture the various issues Alicia has deal with in addition to the standard legal gymnastics as well as this show(I.e. infidelity, politics, familial strife, etc.). On top of everything, the show has a tantalizing sexiness that I personally have never experienced in a show of this type or caliber. Alors, bravo. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  4. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  5. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.