• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    88
    Alicia's cases are intriguing, and the background drama would be melodramatic if it weren't such a common story these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    The Good Wife will settle into a case-of-the-week lawyer show. I'd also bet it'll have a rotating bunch of colorful judges with whom Alicia can debate. And you know what? Given the caliber of the acting and writing, that suits me --and, I'll wager, millions of viewers--just fine.
  3. The Good Wife is confident and polished, and a much better showcase for Margulies than her last legal drama.
  4. 80
    With all four [actors] bringing their "A" games to the pilot, it looks as if CBS could have another winning 10 o'clock drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    A smartly conceived and well executed legal drama with a strong star (Julianna Margulies) at its core and, even better, a terrifically timely hook.
  6. 75
    Good premise, good start.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    50
    With the drama so thin, it must be the richness of Alicia's situation that makes 13 million people a week want to enjoy her company.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. kevinb.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Intoxicating series.
  2. VirgieP
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Juliana Margolies is brilliant. She really knows the subtleties of acting. No chewing up the scenery for her, rather understated, nuanced Juliana Margolies is brilliant. She really knows the subtleties of acting. No chewing up the scenery for her, rather understated, nuanced acting. Bravo!! Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Best show on TV. THE BEST!!!!! Great writing. Great acting!!!! I watch this every week. So much different than other crime/legal series. IBest show on TV. THE BEST!!!!! Great writing. Great acting!!!! I watch this every week. So much different than other crime/legal series. I hope it stays Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Excellent series, combining courtroom drama, crime stories, politics & social commentaries that are very relevant to today's era, plus romanceExcellent series, combining courtroom drama, crime stories, politics & social commentaries that are very relevant to today's era, plus romance subplots that are done in mature way. Great cast, and classy storytelling, never trashy. I didn't expect it to be so good in the first place, but ended up being entirely hooked. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    I really enjoy the crafty dialog and well developed characters. There are plenty of twists to keep things interesting. My wife and I lookI really enjoy the crafty dialog and well developed characters. There are plenty of twists to keep things interesting. My wife and I look forward to watching this show every Sunday! Expand
  6. AJR.
    Sep 28, 2009
    9
    Best of the new season, so far.
  7. Lisa
    Oct 16, 2009
    6
    The legal plots are all "Been there, seen that" and therefore are rather boring. It's a shame that interesting characters are not given The legal plots are all "Been there, seen that" and therefore are rather boring. It's a shame that interesting characters are not given much interesting material. Scenes here and there are outstanding, but if this series is just going to be "case of the week" on a regular basis, what a terrible shame. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  4. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  5. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.