The Good Wife : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
The Good Wife Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Good Wife
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 88
    Alicia's cases are intriguing, and the background drama would be melodramatic if it weren't such a common story these days.
  2. The Good Wife will settle into a case-of-the-week lawyer show. I'd also bet it'll have a rotating bunch of colorful judges with whom Alicia can debate. And you know what? Given the caliber of the acting and writing, that suits me --and, I'll wager, millions of viewers--just fine.
  3. The Good Wife is confident and polished, and a much better showcase for Margulies than her last legal drama.
  4. 80
    With all four [actors] bringing their "A" games to the pilot, it looks as if CBS could have another winning 10 o'clock drama.
  5. 80
    A smartly conceived and well executed legal drama with a strong star (Julianna Margulies) at its core and, even better, a terrifically timely hook.
  6. 75
    Good premise, good start.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    50
    With the drama so thin, it must be the richness of Alicia's situation that makes 13 million people a week want to enjoy her company.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. kevinb.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Intoxicating series.
  2. TraciA
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    I am definitely hooked. Julianna plays her character very well. Any drama show, that has you chuckling, is a good show.
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Best show on TV. THE BEST!!!!! Great writing. Great acting!!!! I watch this every week. So much different than other crime/legal series. IBest show on TV. THE BEST!!!!! Great writing. Great acting!!!! I watch this every week. So much different than other crime/legal series. I hope it stays Expand
  4. WillN
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Considering the wealth of retried formulas and overwrought reality TV, this show is a breath of fresh air. Actors are given a good script and Considering the wealth of retried formulas and overwrought reality TV, this show is a breath of fresh air. Actors are given a good script and a chance to act. Bravo to Julianna on an outstanding week to week performance, kudos to the rest of the cast as well. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Excellent writing and acting. Great character development. I typically tend to hate procedural show,s but the characters are so compelling,Excellent writing and acting. Great character development. I typically tend to hate procedural show,s but the characters are so compelling, and depicted so realistically that it is addicting. And to think, I would have never watched this series had I not been sick...I guess in this case my stomach flu was a blessing? I guess we'll find out in the future seasons..... Expand
  6. ClaireD.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Off to a good start. This show has the potential to go beyond its ripped from the headlines premise to become a really satisfying show. Off to a good start. This show has the potential to go beyond its ripped from the headlines premise to become a really satisfying show. Julianna Margulies is perfect in the role. Expand
  7. Lisa
    Oct 16, 2009
    6
    The legal plots are all "Been there, seen that" and therefore are rather boring. It's a shame that interesting characters are not given The legal plots are all "Been there, seen that" and therefore are rather boring. It's a shame that interesting characters are not given much interesting material. Scenes here and there are outstanding, but if this series is just going to be "case of the week" on a regular basis, what a terrible shame. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  4. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  5. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.