The Hills : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 11 out of 43

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    5
    Utter garbage! The show is just guilty pleasure, for those who love rich people drama and hot women. When I say drama, I mean a "reality show" with a narrative format seen in scripted genres. Much of what's going on in their lives were fabricated to make the stars more likable and relatable, much of it has to do with relationship issues, but it's not entirely real. Wait, how is someoneUtter garbage! The show is just guilty pleasure, for those who love rich people drama and hot women. When I say drama, I mean a "reality show" with a narrative format seen in scripted genres. Much of what's going on in their lives were fabricated to make the stars more likable and relatable, much of it has to do with relationship issues, but it's not entirely real. Wait, how is someone like Heidi Montag likable?

    The show is about Lauren Conrad, followed by the MTV crew, and her beautiful young peers living their rich, successful lives but only because they come from a wealthy family. Not because they work hard to earn and deserve it or they done something worth recognition, that's how they became successful but it's not worth the watch.
    Expand
  2. Amyh.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    Among the little village called Blizeville, where a hill stood in the middle of the town, which can be seen clearly over everyones
  3. KandanceL.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Although I don't like every character on the show, I'm still infatuated with it. Lauren, Whitney, and Audrina are extremely lovable although I think Whitney is the most intelligent and level-headed out of them all. She's the sanity amidst the chaos. and Heidi...She's so lost. I thought that when she watched the second season she would have dismissed Spencer but I guess Although I don't like every character on the show, I'm still infatuated with it. Lauren, Whitney, and Audrina are extremely lovable although I think Whitney is the most intelligent and level-headed out of them all. She's the sanity amidst the chaos. and Heidi...She's so lost. I thought that when she watched the second season she would have dismissed Spencer but I guess love truly is blind. She needs to get a clue. I mean you can't be any more stupid, but all in all i LOVE the show....Plus the guys are incredibly gorgeous and the ladies styles are impeccable! Expand
  4. katiec
    Aug 15, 2007
    3
    I used to like this show. I used to look up to lc. Because is a b*tch that can't forgive a best friend. So stupid. And Heidi is so stupid too, her and lauren belong together. And lauren's roommate Audrina is a horrible character. She wants to be a good friend to lauren and she doesn't want Heidi to come back.
  5. CourtneyM
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    if there was a 20 id give it a 20. at first i thought this show would be very superficial but after i watched it i realized i was wrong. this show is a lot different from laguna beach as far as the fake drama goes. its nice to see young girls in college yet still taking on responsibilites at internships and jobs, while still having fun! The main character, Lauren, teaches teens that if there was a 20 id give it a 20. at first i thought this show would be very superficial but after i watched it i realized i was wrong. this show is a lot different from laguna beach as far as the fake drama goes. its nice to see young girls in college yet still taking on responsibilites at internships and jobs, while still having fun! The main character, Lauren, teaches teens that everybody can be successful and have fun at the same time. Overall, i feel that the hills is just AMAZING! Expand
  6. nikun
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    i love this show.
  7. kristenu
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    i loveeee this show. it's my favoriteee. its just as good as laguna beach, if not better!
  8. Mitch777
    Jan 16, 2007
    5
    Whitney is the star...intelligent, driven and understanding. LC...is just, well, LC a spoiled rich brat who can't seem to believe in herself, and true to cliche can't get along without her man...what a weakling. Heidi, don't need to say more about her and probably the less said the better. Audrina, an interesting character. a person who seems to be level-headed, at least Whitney is the star...intelligent, driven and understanding. LC...is just, well, LC a spoiled rich brat who can't seem to believe in herself, and true to cliche can't get along without her man...what a weakling. Heidi, don't need to say more about her and probably the less said the better. Audrina, an interesting character. a person who seems to be level-headed, at least she has a credible job, although I would like to see her act (that is her ultimate goal) however. Unfortunately, the guys are as soul sucking as a Hoover. Guys will be guys but come on at least be more than stereotypical horn dogs with unlimited budgets. Don't these characters ever do something that isn't an exercise in self-indulgence. Expand
  9. FATIMAE
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    I enjoy it a lot, i thing is a good tv program and lets dream with the life`s style of show. I realy like LC and the others, the best is that Jordan staring to date with her again!!! but I miss Steven from Laguna
  10. Ness
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Wonderful show, great storyline. I agree Lauren should have went to paris but hey it's her decision. Great show and I hope they bring it back for another season!
  11. amanda
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I love this show! How can it get any more addicting... i wish i lived there! Jordan is soo hot..ill take him Heidi ;)
  12. RubyC
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    I love the show...Lauren should have followed Paris not the guy
  13. NatalieJ
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    I love this show!!! just like i loved Laguna Beach! this show is just as adicting, as Laguna Beach. The Hills is one of the best shows on mtv!
  14. CivilianR
    Jul 14, 2006
    3
    The conversations the characters have on the show are about as stupid as possible. Just when you thought it could not get worse...
  15. SvenJ.
    Jul 14, 2006
    2
    Not very good at all, but Whitney is like SUPER cute.
  16. MarioB
    Jul 13, 2006
    0
    lc has craps in her pants, ewwww
  17. alexandrad
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    i love the hills heidi is my favirote she is soo pretty spontanious and fun
  18. SimiT
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    i love it!
  19. AdboxR
    Jul 7, 2006
    1
    I do not understand how people like this show. I mean I'm into all the reality crap on TV, I liked Laguna Beach, Flava of Love, and Sweet Sixteen and that's embarrassing enough, but this stupid, boring, ridiculous show cannot hold my attention even with the gorgeous girls. That is pathetic.
  20. MonicaD
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    ooooooooooo...this tv show is the best , but i don't have cable no more so i just watched them in the computer , but is so so so so so so so cool.........."lc" is a good girl and my rating goes for her.....att.monica % mexican
  21. PaulaB
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Heidi is so fun and entertaining! Lauren is gorgeous! Sex in the City continues!
  22. Ashley
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    The best show out right now!
  23. C.B.
    Jun 19, 2006
    1
    My girlfriend subjected me to this drivel. I can't believe that people watch this...
  24. Diane
    Jun 12, 2006
    1
    i dont know how you people could watch such trash. this show is the faker than a spanish soap opera.
  25. BookeV
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I love this show!! Lauren is sooo pretty
  26. MacarionM
    Jun 11, 2006
    0
    Watching people talk about how worried they are about what they're going to wear to dinner tonight can be great fun. Unfortunately, it is only enjoyable when seen in real life, because making fun of what people say on a fake TV show can make you seem insane. The only show that could possibly be worse is a show where people talk about how much they like The Hills. Actually that sounds Watching people talk about how worried they are about what they're going to wear to dinner tonight can be great fun. Unfortunately, it is only enjoyable when seen in real life, because making fun of what people say on a fake TV show can make you seem insane. The only show that could possibly be worse is a show where people talk about how much they like The Hills. Actually that sounds even more pathetically hilarious, so nevermind. This is the worst possible show that could ever exist. Expand
  27. lob
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    I think this show is awesome. It shows Lauren doing something productive with her life that some of the other teens from LB haven't. I think it's a great show, way to go Lauren!
  28. shawnp
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    i love this show i think it great she is a smart girl and is getting some where
  29. LilyJ
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    I've only watched the first episode, but it seems like it's pretty good seeing Lauren from Laguna and how she goes on with her life and her struggles along the way
  30. SimiT
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    i love it!
  31. leao
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    i love this show i think its fun to watch and interesting and gives you a view of what its like being an intern and going to school and lving life at the same time. it also shows even though shes on tv shes normal just like us and she goes through life the same way we all do except the whole world knows about it.
  32. WallyM
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Great fun. One episode and I'm hooked. OMG, it's like, my new guilty pleasure!
  33. MarcD.
    May 31, 2006
    4
    My name is Marc ("hi marc")....and I watched both seasons of Laguna Beach...("keep coming back"). And even though I enjoyed what has come before, the first episode of The Hills was pretty godawful. Seeing L.C. in the real world is frightening, and her roommate is a total closet case when it comes to social graces and basic academic/occupational survival. I'm thinking at this point My name is Marc ("hi marc")....and I watched both seasons of Laguna Beach...("keep coming back"). And even though I enjoyed what has come before, the first episode of The Hills was pretty godawful. Seeing L.C. in the real world is frightening, and her roommate is a total closet case when it comes to social graces and basic academic/occupational survival. I'm thinking at this point that L.C. was the wrong "cast member" to follow beyond the beach. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. 25
    There are a lot of studious, high-achiever kids. Lauren is an anomaly. She is the lucky one. The one with an MTV camera crew for a resume. The pretty one with petty friends who melt in bikinis by blue-green pools of entitlement and argue idly with quarrelsome, spoiled boyfriends.
  2. Compared with the superhit "Sweet 16," "The Hills" is more refined in its celebration of materialism, though no less celebratory.
  3. 50
    It's a good thing reality TV has nothing to do with real life.