The Inbetweeners Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The US version of the British series about Will, Simon, Jay and Neil (Joey Pollari, Bubba Lewis, Zack Pearlman, and Mark L. Young) who try to navigate high school while not being popular nor unpopular.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 17, 2012
    100
    The first three episodes totally nail it.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 17, 2012
    80
    it all works--or at least most of it does--in no small part because everyone has known (or God forbid, has been) one of these kids, stupidly initiating school clubs to impress a girl (as Will does in a later episode) or being embarrassed by that horrible-looking starter car cheerfully purchased by dad.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 17, 2012
    75
    The Inbetweeners is a companion to the network's hit Awkward. And equally funny. [27 Aug 2012, p.48]
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 20, 2012
    63
    The Inbetweeners delivers moments of humor equal to all those other shows--mostly from the physical comedy--but overall it's too wimpy to make its own mark.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 21, 2012
    58
    The Inbetweeners seems to be experiencing the growing pains of its principal characters. A better start would have been preferable, but at least the show's weekly slings and arrows are pointing upward.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 17, 2012
    50
    The series still can't get liftoff because it seems like a limp copy.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 17, 2012
    25
    It's really sad to see such a great show dumbed down to this extent, and with the apparent cooperation of the original show's creators, Damon Beesley and Iain Morris, who serve as executive producers for the American travesty.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this. It is funny and it wasn't boring. The trailer doesn't do it justice at all. I'm looking forward toI was surprised at how much I enjoyed this. It is funny and it wasn't boring. The trailer doesn't do it justice at all. I'm looking forward to seeing the next episode :) Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    great show, I think it's too underrated. its disappointing to see this show get such harsh ratings and reviews. if people can enjoy the mostgreat show, I think it's too underrated. its disappointing to see this show get such harsh ratings and reviews. if people can enjoy the most simple minded programs, like the crap that airs on cartoon network, then they can enjoy this. which is enjoyable. I am looking forward to the next season's release. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    As an american who has not seen the original show, I have to say I really enjoy this! The only people who REALLY hate this I feel is theAs an american who has not seen the original show, I have to say I really enjoy this! The only people who REALLY hate this I feel is the people who've had seen and loved the original show instead. This is pretty funny I say and I can't see why so many people dislike it! Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    The humor is sophomoric. It's been done a thousand times. It's a remake of a British sitcom. There are a million reasons not to like thisThe humor is sophomoric. It's been done a thousand times. It's a remake of a British sitcom. There are a million reasons not to like this show......but I love it. What can I say? It makes me laugh out loud every episode. Go figure. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    I don't know why everyone's hating on this before watching it. Yah, the trailer makes the show seem pretty stupid but in reality it 's quiteI don't know why everyone's hating on this before watching it. Yah, the trailer makes the show seem pretty stupid but in reality it 's quite good and I enjoyed watching it. Not as good as the original though. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    The first few episodes are just Americans reenacting the first Inbetweeners episodes, but after that the episodes completely changed. It seemsThe first few episodes are just Americans reenacting the first Inbetweeners episodes, but after that the episodes completely changed. It seems like the writers couldn't figure out if they wanted to remake The Inbetweeners, or make new episodes to the UK series, and just couldn't get the original actors. Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2012
    1
    Horrible. There's no other word better fitting to start out a review of the American version of the British series. This show is missing theHorrible. There's no other word better fitting to start out a review of the American version of the British series. This show is missing the charm, timing, wit, and the whole point of what made the original so enjoyable. Where the kids in the original are believable, funny and relateable, the kids in this one are flat, miscast and just like anything you'd expect to see on an MTv series. The pilot episode immediately hits you over the head with that these characters are supposed to be like and throws them all together with little reason as to why. Then, the show proceeds to basically take scenes from the first three or four episodes of the original series and do them poorly. Looking at The Inbetweeners without comparing it to the original, it is still really lame, lowbrow humor. What isn't taken from the original series is trying desperately to be The Hangover for young adults but doesn't even remotely pull it off. It's hard to buy the actors as "more than nerdy but less than cool" and any line of dialogue or joke is strictly a reference to each character's one defining trait. The dumb stoner is dumb, the horny horndog is horny, the hopeless romantic can't talk to girls, and the overachiever always has a snarky remark. Except, you can't look at this show and not compare it to the original when the title, character names and even entire scenes are the exact same as the British version. Sadly, no one can pull it off. The acting isn't bad exactly, but the actors are miscast. And the writing seems like someone had to turn in a film project at the last minute so they stole some first season The Inbetweeners scripts, cut out various bits of dialogue (not even the best bits, frankly) and hacked out a crappy, passionless version. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews