Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Few television shows are as addictive as this pensive, wonderfully paced suspenser.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 30, 2012
    91
    For now, The Killing has made a very good re-start.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 30, 2012
    80
    My own enjoyment of The Killing begins and ends with the gloom so brilliantly conveyed by its pace and performances.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Mar 30, 2012
    80
    The Killing returns with all its powers intact, its uniformly superb performances--not least Ms. Enos's Detective Linden and Mr. Sexton's Stanley.
  5. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 28, 2012
    80
    This isn't a procedural with a neat answer at the end of each episode. But it is involving.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 27, 2012
    80
    It remains a show to which the viewer must pay close attention.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    The Killing remains compelling, and the writers (led by Sud, adapting the show from a Danish series) are adept at overcoming the stodgy pace by dangling tantalizing clues near each hour's end, creating a strong pull to see what transpires next.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Going into Season 2, the acting performances are the primary reason to tune in.
  9. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 2, 2012
    75
    The acting remains impeccable, and the writing adds depth to characters that seemed one-dimensional the first season.
  10. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 2, 2012
    75
    The series needs to propel its mostly superb actors into action, to push the narrative forward. [6 Apr 2012, p.63]
  11. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 30, 2012
    75
    The premiere is actually very good. Of course, it would be a whole lot better if there were a new investigation into a new crime.
  12. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    75
    Notwithstanding the cat-and-mouse plotting, we watch The Killing because of the superb writing and attention to character detail in the scripts by series executive producer Veena Sud and others.
  13. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    It's more subtly, and more forcefully too, a quest for understanding, specifically an understanding of how the world works.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Sarah isn't easy to warm up to, and neither is The Killing, though I respect its moody insistence at depicting even the most sympathetic figures in the worst possible light.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 29, 2012
    63
    The good news is that you will get answers. The bad news is that they don't so much advance the story as circle around it.
  16. The good news is that Sunday's two-hour opener answers several key questions in relatively rapid fashion and in ways that don't seem totally unreasonable. The bad news is that it also puts Sarah back at square one, and therein lies the problem.
  17. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 30, 2012
    58
    It's still not anywhere near the ballpark of the earlier AMC shows, and the plot itself remains incredibly frustrating, but there are other aspects that feel closer to the show Sud said she was making last year, rather than the one she actually made.
  18. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    The muddled and recurrently tedious Larsen case, littered with irrelevant conspiracy-theory subplots (what the hell is up with Holder's AA "sponsor"?) render The Killing a mystery show whose mysteries agitate and bore rather than mesmerize and astound.
  19. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    Once viewers accept it for the mediocre melodrama it is, they'll be more satisfied, tuning in for the strong performances and high production values while rolling their eyes at the umpteenth red herring and illogical plot turn.
  20. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    It's very well-done, but the opener doesn't resolve a viewer's doubts. [9 Apr 2012, p.42]
  21. 50
    Despite very slight improvements, this series still seems deluded as to what it is and blind to what it could become.
  22. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    If you're moving on with The Killing, you're either a sucker for punishment or a hopeless fan of Detective Sarah Linden (Mireille Enos) and her Scandinavian sweaters.
  23. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Mar 30, 2012
    40
    It's not nearly as highbrow and well-constructed as it needs to be, and it's far too serious and plodding to be a zippy break from reality.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    I'm done with this show. I don't care about any of the characters anymore, I'm tired of the never-ending rain and fog that seems to inhabit Seattle (or at least "Seattle as Envisioned by Hollywood"), I can't bear to watch another weepy, mournful scene with the Larson family or an angst ridden exchange between Linden and Jack, I DON'T GIVE A **** ABOUT THE SEATTLE MAYORAL RACE (and neither does anyone else, even people who live in Seattle) and I have lost all interest in the Rosie Larson case. I don't think Rosie Larson even knows who killed Rosie Larson. Veena Sud blew it. They should have revealed the murderer at the end of season 1 and started season 2 with a fresh case. I know, I know, unveiling the mystery at the logical point of conclusion is such a tired concept, but it's what the fans wanted- and what is a show without its fans? To expect people to stick around for another long, drawn out season based around the same exact case (WHICH WASN'T THAT INTERESTING IN THE FIRST PLACE) is ludicrous. I'm throwing in the towel. Thank God for Game of Thrones. Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This show had us hooked from the first episode until the finale.
    It took you on many turns and twists and felt the ending was very
    satisfying. This is definitely a highly addicting TV series and truly hope they have another season because now that it's over, I feel like I definitely want to see more. Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    Larsen' killer not being revealed will try the patience of most viewers, who are unfamiliar with this kind of storytelling. In season two more characters are fleshed out, Sarah Linden too far into the case now to quit elects to stay on board and find the true killer. After the events in season one. Linden wonders who she can trust and must start looking at the case from a new angle and figure out what she missed. An how far this thing really goes. The Cast is just as good as in season one but the same cannot be said of the writing. Full Review »