The Killing : Season 2

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 30, 2012
    58
    It's still not anywhere near the ballpark of the earlier AMC shows, and the plot itself remains incredibly frustrating, but there are other aspects that feel closer to the show Sud said she was making last year, rather than the one she actually made.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    Once viewers accept it for the mediocre melodrama it is, they'll be more satisfied, tuning in for the strong performances and high production values while rolling their eyes at the umpteenth red herring and illogical plot turn.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    The muddled and recurrently tedious Larsen case, littered with irrelevant conspiracy-theory subplots (what the hell is up with Holder's AA "sponsor"?) render The Killing a mystery show whose mysteries agitate and bore rather than mesmerize and astound.
  4. 50
    Despite very slight improvements, this series still seems deluded as to what it is and blind to what it could become.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    It's very well-done, but the opener doesn't resolve a viewer's doubts. [9 Apr 2012, p.42]
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    If you're moving on with The Killing, you're either a sucker for punishment or a hopeless fan of Detective Sarah Linden (Mireille Enos) and her Scandinavian sweaters.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Mar 30, 2012
    40
    It's not nearly as highbrow and well-constructed as it needs to be, and it's far too serious and plodding to be a zippy break from reality.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    I'm done with this show. I don't care about any of the characters anymore, I'm tired of the never-ending rain and fog that seems to inhabitI'm done with this show. I don't care about any of the characters anymore, I'm tired of the never-ending rain and fog that seems to inhabit Seattle (or at least "Seattle as Envisioned by Hollywood"), I can't bear to watch another weepy, mournful scene with the Larson family or an angst ridden exchange between Linden and Jack, I DON'T GIVE A **** ABOUT THE SEATTLE MAYORAL RACE (and neither does anyone else, even people who live in Seattle) and I have lost all interest in the Rosie Larson case. I don't think Rosie Larson even knows who killed Rosie Larson. Veena Sud blew it. They should have revealed the murderer at the end of season 1 and started season 2 with a fresh case. I know, I know, unveiling the mystery at the logical point of conclusion is such a tired concept, but it's what the fans wanted- and what is a show without its fans? To expect people to stick around for another long, drawn out season based around the same exact case (WHICH WASN'T THAT INTERESTING IN THE FIRST PLACE) is ludicrous. I'm throwing in the towel. Thank God for Game of Thrones. Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This show had us hooked from the first episode until the finale.
    It took you on many turns and twists and felt the ending was very
    This show had us hooked from the first episode until the finale.
    It took you on many turns and twists and felt the ending was very satisfying. This is definitely a highly addicting TV series and truly hope they have another season because now that it's over, I feel like I definitely want to see more.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    Larsen' killer not being revealed will try the patience of most viewers, who are unfamiliar with this kind of storytelling. In season two moreLarsen' killer not being revealed will try the patience of most viewers, who are unfamiliar with this kind of storytelling. In season two more characters are fleshed out, Sarah Linden too far into the case now to quit elects to stay on board and find the true killer. After the events in season one. Linden wonders who she can trust and must start looking at the case from a new angle and figure out what she missed. An how far this thing really goes. The Cast is just as good as in season one but the same cannot be said of the writing. Full Review »