The Killing : Season 3

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 50
    As was the case with the first two seasons of The Killing, this new one takes its sweet, sweet time getting going, and as it slowly gains momentum, it carries itself as if it's the greatest series in the history of American television, single-handedly reinventing the police procedural for the 21st century.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 31, 2013
    60
    I'm reluctant to lose my heart again, much less encourage anyone to follow me down what could be a dead end. And yet I'm intrigued.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 31, 2013
    60
    It's too soon to say if the show will again employ a bounty of red herrings, but the show's penchant for plot holes persists.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 31, 2013
    40
    While it’s great fun to have Holder back--you could make a TV show out of him just walking and talking and it would be fantastic, because Kinnaman is so compelling--the Seattle street urchins at the core of the murder mystery are almost unbearable to watch. The acting, writing and scenarios for the latter are all mediocre.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    May 31, 2013
    50
    The creators take a fresh start, but cling to the sepulchral atmospherics that too often take the place of narrative. The series is still suspenseful, but the dread that once again follows Sarah through damp forests, deserted tenements and shadowy, rain-washed streets diminishes with overuse.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 3, 2013
    58
    That initial heat from Season 1 has been lowered to room temperature. Kinnaman continues to give The Killing a pulse. But he can’t do it alone, and at this point merits a new, more vital vehicle in which he can really gun his engines.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 28, 2013
    40
    Beyond the central duo’s initially sparsely connected threads and the splendid addition of Peter Sarsgaard as Ray Seward, a hollow-eyed Death Row inmate, much of the narrative meanders--so slow, bleak and dreary, it’s difficult to muster much interest as to when (inevitably) it’s all going to begin to intersect.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Excellent premiere that is heading in a far better direction as compared to season 2! Mood remains paramount; it is a very blue show,Excellent premiere that is heading in a far better direction as compared to season 2! Mood remains paramount; it is a very blue show, temperamentally and visually. The Seattle we see here is a kind of parallel Seattle, darker, rainier, more mountainous, less American than the actual city. (Because it is Vancouver, to begin with.) For all the establishing-shot flyovers of the city, whenever we are on the street, we are somewhere else, a fundamentally poetic place whose soggy decrepitude has a vaguely post-apocalyptic feel. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    This show is all about the mood. There is a constant uneasiness and unsettling quality to the show (similar to movies like Silence of theThis show is all about the mood. There is a constant uneasiness and unsettling quality to the show (similar to movies like Silence of the Lambs and Seven). This is done mostly with the visuals (locations, cinematography, lighting). Great locations and great camera work really help sell the grimy, dark tone of the show. The story of season 3 seems to be playing to that quality even more. Overall, it's a darker storyline. Overall, however, the show is just too slow and dull. Outside of Holder, the characters are just so bland. Most of the characters are generic and have the same dull, depressed personality. It's basically like they tried to stretch out a Law & Order episode into an entire season...but they didn't add enough interesting things to fill in all that extra time...so what you're left with is just a very long, slow-moving episode of Law & Order. Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    Hardly any suspense, street kids subplot is disjointed, characters not so compelling even though their respective situations are hard up andHardly any suspense, street kids subplot is disjointed, characters not so compelling even though their respective situations are hard up and sad. Death row subplot is mostly just there for the gore effect. Not the tension between Holder and Linden, and between Linden's head and heart that were present last season are just missing here.

    I'll probably stick with it for next couple episodes to see if it gets more interesting. But, here's my verdict on episode 3: I got up midway thru and finished the dishes in the kitchen. Yawn.
    Full Review »