The Killing Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A year later, while working on a runaway girl case, Detective Stephen Holder (Joel Kinnaman) uncovers a series of murders connected to an old murder investigated by his former partner, Sarah Linden (Mireille Enos).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 29, 2013
    100
    So far, so great.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 29, 2013
    83
    Good, compelling, creepy start.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 31, 2013
    80
    The first episode took a little while to seem real, but, as Holder would say, I was feeling it before long. Like Linden, I was drawn back in.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 31, 2013
    70
    It's too early yet to know if the writing can avoid the pitfalls of the "Who Killed Rosie Larsen?" story, but this is off to a promising start.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    A year after the Rosie Larsen case ended, this new chapter is compelling enough to earn some fan forgiveness.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 31, 2013
    60
    I'm reluctant to lose my heart again, much less encourage anyone to follow me down what could be a dead end. And yet I'm intrigued.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 28, 2013
    40
    Beyond the central duo’s initially sparsely connected threads and the splendid addition of Peter Sarsgaard as Ray Seward, a hollow-eyed Death Row inmate, much of the narrative meanders--so slow, bleak and dreary, it’s difficult to muster much interest as to when (inevitably) it’s all going to begin to intersect.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Even though it moves slow, it is still very engaging. We all know that the last episode or two will bring it all together, so getting in theEven though it moves slow, it is still very engaging. We all know that the last episode or two will bring it all together, so getting in the mood during the build up is well done here. There are a few threads here, and some say the story of the kids is disjointed. However I see that as a good thing as their lives are disjointed. Nothing moves smoothly in the killing, it frustrates you because it is only an hour long and ya gotta watt for a week or just save it all up for a binge viewing. I binged the first two years it was amazing. The cast is stellar. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    The first two hours were more compelling the all of last year show. I like the fact that there talking about the blight of homeless children,The first two hours were more compelling the all of last year show. I like the fact that there talking about the blight of homeless children, making the viewer think and care about something beyond the murder mystery. the scenes in the prison are riveting. It looks like the writers are going to give more depth to the characters. The Killing assumes that the people watch have a brain. A rare find on television. I can not wait to see what comes next. I am hooked Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Excellent premiere that is heading in a far better direction as compared to season 2! Mood remains paramount; it is a very blue show,Excellent premiere that is heading in a far better direction as compared to season 2! Mood remains paramount; it is a very blue show, temperamentally and visually. The Seattle we see here is a kind of parallel Seattle, darker, rainier, more mountainous, less American than the actual city. (Because it is Vancouver, to begin with.) For all the establishing-shot flyovers of the city, whenever we are on the street, we are somewhere else, a fundamentally poetic place whose soggy decrepitude has a vaguely post-apocalyptic feel. Collapse
  4. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    The best season for sure. It has a more interesting premise since it deals with a serial killer. Secondary characters are way better and moreThe best season for sure. It has a more interesting premise since it deals with a serial killer. Secondary characters are way better and more interesting. Sub [plots are better too and it was great. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    This new season of The Killing has me full of mixed emotions. On one hand, I'm totally excited that the series is back. Its the only show IThis new season of The Killing has me full of mixed emotions. On one hand, I'm totally excited that the series is back. Its the only show I obsess over, and I was devastated when it was cancelled. However, the first two episodes didn't capture my 100 percent attention as the first two seasons did. This is most likely because it is now a brand new case, and all the characters I loved, besides Sarah and Holder, are now gone. Most critics criticized the Larsen and Mayoral storylines, but I loved them. I found myself missing the Larsens in these episodes, and even Richmond and Gwen to an extent. The first episode seemed very choppy, and didn't flow very well from the previous season finale. It acts almost as a pilot episode. Also, I'm not completely sold on the prison storyline, but Ray Seward is a fine character I must say. There is most certainly more depth to him than meets the eye. Sarah's storyline for most of the first two episodes is a wash. I wanted her to reunite with Holder the entire time I was watching her. However, I absolutely loved the homeless kids storyline. Bullet and Kallie are my favorite new additions to the show, and the show does a great job of making us like them and care about them, something the show didn't do very well with Rosie Larsen. The second episode is a much better episode, as it show the seeds of Sarah's return to the police force. The faster, the better honestly. Several critics, have said The Killing seems to have become more conventional this season, and this is somewhat true. Ray is a total "Hannibal" knockoff, but a very tasteful "Hannibal" knockoff, the serial killer storyline has been done to death, but The Killing seems to be doing a very good job in its new role. Hopefully, if it rise above, and become something bigger and greater as it aspires to be. It remains to be seen if this season will have the magnetic pull on me as the first two seasons did, and so far, I'm not totally convinced it will be. But it is still one of the best shows out there, and I'm sure The Killing will not fail this time around.

    The Jungle: B-
    That What You Fear Most: A-
    Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    The Killing season season 1 & 2 is likely my favorite series of all time, just brilliant, 10/10, and the best finale I've ever seen. Season 3The Killing season season 1 & 2 is likely my favorite series of all time, just brilliant, 10/10, and the best finale I've ever seen. Season 3 isn't that, but it's still very enjoyable Holder & Linden are fantastic, but I just think that the victims family in 1 & 2 was so brilliantly cast as well as the politicians. The drama was so believable and heart ripping, and eventhough these wayward kids are doing a good job in season 3 it's just not the same drama show to show, However it's still a well done show and more special than 90% of what's on TV. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    Hardly any suspense, street kids subplot is disjointed, characters not so compelling even though their respective situations are hard up andHardly any suspense, street kids subplot is disjointed, characters not so compelling even though their respective situations are hard up and sad. Death row subplot is mostly just there for the gore effect. Not the tension between Holder and Linden, and between Linden's head and heart that were present last season are just missing here.

    I'll probably stick with it for next couple episodes to see if it gets more interesting. But, here's my verdict on episode 3: I got up midway thru and finished the dishes in the kitchen. Yawn.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.