• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 29, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
The League Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The comedy focuses on a group of Chicago friends who get together to discuss fantasy football.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collins
    91
    You know men who devote an absurd amount of time to mocking one another? I do, and I call them ''me and my friends.'' Maybe that's why I so enjoyed this sitcom about a group of thirtysomething pals and their fantasy football league....Or maybe it's just darn funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    80
    Steadfastly crass in content, The League is generally subtle in execution.
  3. As in "Sunny," they are almost-lovable losers, and that's a formula FX is now perfecting.
  4. 50
    The raunchy comedy on The League had me laughing out loud a few times, but mostly I felt as though I’d seen it all done better before.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    42
    Even with endless talk about genitalia and the things people can do to them, The League is surprisingly dull and slack - without snap or payoff.
  6. Cable's FX, which has reliably churned out good watching for most of this decade, drives off a cliff tonight with an offensive and shockingly unfunny sitcom, The League.
  7. If I tell you that The League is a reprehensible show, I’m not really telling you that much. The new improvised-comedy series airing at 9:30 tonight on FX wears its reprehensibility with pride.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    I feel bad for those who gave up on this show after an admittedly mediocre series pilot. The last 3-4 episodes of the first season were theI feel bad for those who gave up on this show after an admittedly mediocre series pilot. The last 3-4 episodes of the first season were the funniest thing on TV in 2009. Check out the episode reviews at rosterbating.com - explains a lot of the inside jokes and nuances for those unfamiliar with fantasy football (or male bonding in general.) Hoping for just as good a second season. Expand
  2. steelew
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Crude and hilarious. The interactions between the characters are so genuine that you feel like they are your 5 best friends. Taco is a little Crude and hilarious. The interactions between the characters are so genuine that you feel like they are your 5 best friends. Taco is a little on the unbelievable side, but I think we all have friends that are a bit unbelievable. That being said this show can be pretty immature, but I don't mind. The potty humor is usually always funny, and sometimes delivered cleverly. I think EW's review pretty much nailed it, IMO. Bottom Line : If you and your friends are immature beer drinkers with crass mouths you will love it. If you are the type to have wine and cheese parties and wax philosophical, then do yourself a favor and change the channel. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    best show on tv, imo. outstanding cast (lajoie, kroll and scheer shine) and hilarious writing (the schaffers are 'seinfeld' and 'curb'best show on tv, imo. outstanding cast (lajoie, kroll and scheer shine) and hilarious writing (the schaffers are 'seinfeld' and 'curb' veterans). as a thirty-something/nfl-loving, red-blooded american male who loves comedic entertainment....i'm fairly sure that the producers somehow snuck into my brain and tailored made this show just for me. seriously...outstanding product. Expand
  4. GregoryH
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    If you're a dude and you have dude friends who play fantasy sports, then you know why this show is so damn funny. Crude, vulgar, and If you're a dude and you have dude friends who play fantasy sports, then you know why this show is so damn funny. Crude, vulgar, and offensive? If you even use words like that in your everyday vocabulary, don't bother watching or reviewing this instant classic of a show. Expand
  5. MartinK
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Hilarious! You don't have to be a fantasy football fan, or even a football fan, to enjoy this show. It's more about how any Hilarious! You don't have to be a fantasy football fan, or even a football fan, to enjoy this show. It's more about how any longstanding group of guys constantly mess with each other. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    The League is finally a comedy that FX has got right. The bad thing about this show? There are only 6 episodes in this season. Hilarious showThe League is finally a comedy that FX has got right. The bad thing about this show? There are only 6 episodes in this season. Hilarious show that is well worth the watch. Expand
  7. ShariC
    Oct 31, 2009
    2
    Really, really awful. It was attempting something funny but just veered into "being offensive for the sake of it".

See all 42 User Reviews