• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 15, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 15, 2011
    75
    Watch and you'll want to play along, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 15, 2011
    70
    Pretty Little Liars managed to find an organic groove, and there's reason to think this close cousin can also find its feet and walk.
  3. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 15, 2011
    60
    If the target audience can endure tortured dialogue like, "A lie's a lie, but if the reasons are reasonable, then maybe you can forgive the lie," then, truth be told, Lying might stay in the game for awhile.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 15, 2011
    60
    The Lying Game is not great television by any means but it's an adequate teen soap filled with attractive performers playing characters much younger than their actual ages, something the target audience for this type of series has come to expect.
  5. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    Nothing is left unspoken in dialogue as blandly obvious as "I am the only other person who knows" and "She had a lot of secrets."
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Not a bad little show. I expected to watch the first 10 minutes and laugh at it, but now I've seen the first two episodes and plan to seeNot a bad little show. I expected to watch the first 10 minutes and laugh at it, but now I've seen the first two episodes and plan to see more. It hides the ball just enough, and throws in just the right number of 80s "Where Are They Now" stars to make it worth while. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    It is not the best show For one it is boring and 2 they have a lot of kissing not my favoriteIt is not the best show For one it is boring and 2 they have a lot of kissing not my favorite show.00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Can't believe that this series has been cancelled. It was really getting somewher not like anything else. Other things drag on for seasons butCan't believe that this series has been cancelled. It was really getting somewher not like anything else. Other things drag on for seasons but this one, we got answers. NetFlix may take the show over but nothing is sure... a FB page called "Renew The Lying Game" has been made with over 4000 likes, thousands of people sending requests to Netflix, also Twitter accounts, blogs... Please Chuck Pratt Jr, if you are reading these reviews, consider making lots of teenagers and even adults happy again by giving them back their TV hour. PLEASE!!! Full Review »