• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 15, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Lying Game Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this show based on the Sara Shepard series, identical twins who were separated at birth meet each other and decide to pursue the identity of their birth mother.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 15, 2011
    75
    Watch and you'll want to play along, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 15, 2011
    70
    Pretty Little Liars managed to find an organic groove, and there's reason to think this close cousin can also find its feet and walk.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 15, 2011
    60
    The Lying Game is not great television by any means but it's an adequate teen soap filled with attractive performers playing characters much younger than their actual ages, something the target audience for this type of series has come to expect.
  4. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 15, 2011
    60
    If the target audience can endure tortured dialogue like, "A lie's a lie, but if the reasons are reasonable, then maybe you can forgive the lie," then, truth be told, Lying might stay in the game for awhile.
  5. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    Nothing is left unspoken in dialogue as blandly obvious as "I am the only other person who knows" and "She had a lot of secrets."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Can't believe that this series has been cancelled. It was really getting somewher not like anything else. Other things drag on for seasons butCan't believe that this series has been cancelled. It was really getting somewher not like anything else. Other things drag on for seasons but this one, we got answers. NetFlix may take the show over but nothing is sure... a FB page called "Renew The Lying Game" has been made with over 4000 likes, thousands of people sending requests to Netflix, also Twitter accounts, blogs... Please Chuck Pratt Jr, if you are reading these reviews, consider making lots of teenagers and even adults happy again by giving them back their TV hour. PLEASE!!! Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Almost As Good As Pretty Little Liars!
    A Really Good Show One Of The Best Of 2011!
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    This show is full of suspense and romance. It has an interesting concept and the main character is very likeable. The acting is done well,This show is full of suspense and romance. It has an interesting concept and the main character is very likeable. The acting is done well, and I love the way the show draws you into its reality. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    So upset ABC Family cancelled! This show was the best on the network! To cancel it for the garbage that's replacing it is a joke! Bring backSo upset ABC Family cancelled! This show was the best on the network! To cancel it for the garbage that's replacing it is a joke! Bring back The Lying Game!!! Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    It was great ! loved it . I think The Lying Game did an amazing job ! i never imagined "The Pilot" would this awesome ! it totally beat PLL &It was great ! loved it . I think The Lying Game did an amazing job ! i never imagined "The Pilot" would this awesome ! it totally beat PLL & The Nine Lives of Chloe King . Alexandra Chando Looked So Sexy and Beautiful ! So much looking forward to the next Ep ! GooD LucK Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Amazing. I started watching the first season yesterday and I'm addicted. The actress that plays both Sutton and Emma is amazing, as you canAmazing. I started watching the first season yesterday and I'm addicted. The actress that plays both Sutton and Emma is amazing, as you can barely tell its the same person being two different girls. Of course you know, but I'm still impressed. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    It is not the best show For one it is boring and 2 they have a lot of kissing not my favoriteIt is not the best show For one it is boring and 2 they have a lot of kissing not my favorite show.00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Expand

See all 10 User Reviews