• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 141

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    The Middle is one of the most enjoyable shows on television. Witty, spunky, and charming, it is constantly churning out the goofy, quirkiness that is the average Midwestern family. I especially enjoy Eden Sher's Sue, who is just plain fun to watch. Definitely one of TV 's best comedies.
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This show is great. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. They are just a working family with three very different kids. They are such a likable family that a lot of people can relate to.
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    This is the only show I can watch on TV, maybe because I don't feel like it is trying to push me into anything, but rather get me to feel I am understood by people like me who are going through what I am going through. Guess I'm in the middle. The network initially did so much to push the much touted show on "new" families, when in fact this was the gem all along. It is pitch perfect to me, as someone who has three kids about those ages myself, and lives in similar circumstances. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    My entire family loves this show. All 3 of my kids watch each episode recorded by hubby over and over and over. I feel like it was based on our family. I always LOL at each episode and I think each character is very likeable. I have no clue why people are saying the family are losers. They aren't. They are a REAL family.
    Great show!
  5. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the middle is fantastic, because is not the kind of serie to pretend teach us what is correct or not to do with our lives. Those people are loosers and know that, maybe they won at lottery, till there there is no hope for them in life, even if in the middle. there is no happy end, we have something like not
    #10 of 10
    Expand
  6. KMT
    Oct 3, 2010
    10
    I love this show! I think most of us with families can relate to the stories... So funny! I keep waiting for the ratings to catch up. I guess it will be like Everybody Loves Raymond, meaning it may take a while. I also like Modern Family. These are two shows I have to always record!
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this show. It is one of my favorite shows on tv. It makes me laugh out loud every time it is on. Frankie Heck is hilarious. Sue is her daughter and her character is also just really funny. She usually has my whole family laughing. I just love this show all together. Its clean and great for the whole family. If this show doesn't continue on ABC I will be extremely disappointed. I hope this show will continue to brighten my Wednesday nights for years to come! Expand
  8. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    I love this show! i dont know what KellyV and Joe are talking about. Its the best show ever and we watch it as a family every wednesday! if this show gets cut i wont know what to do it is better than modern family and cougar town combined, I can easily relate to it and my whole family loves it
  9. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    There are a lot of morons who have reviewed this and gave it 0,1 or 2. This show is funny and it isn't about celebrities or that sort of crap. Anyone who gave this a bad review obviously doesn't know what good tv is
  10. Nov 17, 2010
    9
    This show is getting a lot less buzz than "Modern Family" but I actually like it better. "The Middle" has characters who are quirky and flawed, but are generally decent and caring. Patricia Heaton plays her role with talent and zest--the thankless work of being a second-tier and lousy car salesperson and the "second shift" of dealing with a weird and needy group of children and a decent and ethical but mostly unhelpful husband (playing against type, since the same actor played the snarky and loony janitor on "Scrubs"). The youngest kid, Brick, is a hoot--and the young actor who plays him is amazing. He's brilliant on the one hand and somewhat nuts on the other. Perhaps he's meant to be some kind of high-functioning brilliant kid with Asperger's syndrome?? I love the way he repeats some of his words under his breath. The daughter is the epitome of a high-school loser, but she's also sweet and trusting and trying hard to fit in. The teenage son seems pretty realistic. A working-class family with two working parents trying hard to make it with low incomes and raise their kids to be decent people by sharing their own basic decency provides a much better role model for viewers of all ages than lots of so-called comedies on TV. I think "The Middle" is really funny and often makes me laugh out loud, and I like the fact that the characters care about each other. It's also nice to see a TV show in which people live in houses that look like those that a huge percentage of the American public actually lives in--not the stylish and huge houses Hollywood producers depict even for characters whose fictional occupations would have made them unlikely to afford such houses. So much of the entertainment industry seems totally out of touch with working and middle-class people--or with "the middle" of the country where this program is set. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    I think it's an entertaining show. It's a little more nuttier then your own life but something you could compare your family with and makes you laugh. It's better then another *fake* reality show.
  12. May 17, 2011
    10
    Realistic dialogue. Plots are not as predictable as the average sitcom. Good casting. The settings feel real as well for a middle-class working family, and they fit the characters which in turn fit the scripts. Doesn't resort to crude humor for cheap laughs, earns them instead through creative plots and dialogue and lovable characters who seem perfectly suited for each of their roles and their interactions with each other. A refresh on the family sitcom. Personally, I started watching television again because of this show. Expand
  13. DAW
    Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I love this show. I think the comedy is spot on for Mid-America and families with quirky kids. I love Brick he is so well portrayed by Atticus. Poor Sue Heck!!!!!
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The reference to passing gas was inappropriate and I will not watch the program again. You do not have to atop to such a level to make the show believable.
  15. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    Truly Amazing show .All the characters have a unique strength and each one of them is equally humorous.You start to feel that this character is funny and then suddenly a funnier one comes along.One of the best comedy series
  16. Rfa
    Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This show is is very funny. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. One of the best comedy series, is much better than "Modern Family". Deserves to win the Emmy for best comedy series.
  17. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I think this show is great. It is very relatable, and unlike other comedies there is nothing too racy. This makes it very family friendly, but its not a kids show. Its of a very high quality and is very funny.
  18. May 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love this show, its one of my favorites show. please don't ever cancel it. I love all the characters, my favorite is Axl. i'm looking forward for the 5th season and i really hope they will make a season after that as well. Great show. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    75
    In its second season, Patricia Heaton's family sitcom seems to have found its natural resting point.
  2. 60
    It's hard to know where The Middle will go after tonight's decent pilot. And that's part of the sitcom's promise, that it has the potential to blossom into a sweet if small celebration of a family of oddballs living distinctly unhip lives.
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    88
    The Middle isn't the kind of sitcom you laugh at; it's the kind you laugh with.