• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    The writers have great ears for "real" dialogue, and, in fact, not a single line here feels like a dead ball. The characters, too, arrive fully formed and believable. First impressions are absolutely vital in TV, and The Middle makes an excellent one.
  2. A lively show with no canned laughter, where love has no chance to conquer all the family deficiencies but does make them not only bearable, but fun.
  3. This one has more heart and is a better fit with its primetime neighbors.
  4. It’s a solid meat-and-potatoes family comedy; next to "Hank," it’s the next "Malcolm in the Middle."
  5. 70
    I am not yet ready to say The Middle is a great sitcom, but it sure seems in synch with the mood of middle America today.
  6. 60
    It's hard to know where The Middle will go after tonight's decent pilot. And that's part of the sitcom's promise, that it has the potential to blossom into a sweet if small celebration of a family of oddballs living distinctly unhip lives.
  7. The Middle feels like a sitcom version of standup comedy. "Three guys and two girls walk into Indiana..."It's not offensive. Just superfluous.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 60
  2. Negative: 13 out of 60
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This show is great. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. They are just a working family with three very different kids. They areThis show is great. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. They are just a working family with three very different kids. They are such a likable family that a lot of people can relate to. Expand
  2. Rfa
    Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This show is is very funny. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. One of the best comedy series, is much better than "ModernThis show is is very funny. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. One of the best comedy series, is much better than "Modern Family". Deserves to win the Emmy for best comedy series. Expand
  3. JudyL
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    This is a great show, very funny. One thing I love about it is there is no "canned laughter". Very funny, well written episodes. I look This is a great show, very funny. One thing I love about it is there is no "canned laughter". Very funny, well written episodes. I look forward to it every Wed. night. Thank you for a good comedy, finally. Expand
  4. GinaH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    I cracked up.It was good to laugh.
  5. KimA
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    Funny and not crude. This is a show I can see me buying the DVD season one. Are they canceling is already? Why does ABC have the worst shows Funny and not crude. This is a show I can see me buying the DVD season one. Are they canceling is already? Why does ABC have the worst shows and cancel the good ones, like Pushing Daisies? And what is up with their lame website for watching videos? Keep this family show! Expand
  6. KellyV
    Nov 5, 2009
    4
    This show is pretty whiny-annoying. Not a real big fan. These people are losers....who wants to watch this?
  7. Sep 13, 2010
    0
    This is a truly atrocious program. Watched several episodes, and have not laughed. Characters are boring, and it's an obvious copy of MalcolmThis is a truly atrocious program. Watched several episodes, and have not laughed. Characters are boring, and it's an obvious copy of Malcolm in the Middle. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.