The Middle : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
The Middle Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    The writers have great ears for "real" dialogue, and, in fact, not a single line here feels like a dead ball. The characters, too, arrive fully formed and believable. First impressions are absolutely vital in TV, and The Middle makes an excellent one.
  2. A lively show with no canned laughter, where love has no chance to conquer all the family deficiencies but does make them not only bearable, but fun.
  3. This one has more heart and is a better fit with its primetime neighbors.
  4. It’s a solid meat-and-potatoes family comedy; next to "Hank," it’s the next "Malcolm in the Middle."
  5. 70
    I am not yet ready to say The Middle is a great sitcom, but it sure seems in synch with the mood of middle America today.
  6. 60
    It's hard to know where The Middle will go after tonight's decent pilot. And that's part of the sitcom's promise, that it has the potential to blossom into a sweet if small celebration of a family of oddballs living distinctly unhip lives.
  7. The Middle feels like a sitcom version of standup comedy. "Three guys and two girls walk into Indiana..."It's not offensive. Just superfluous.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 13 out of 64
  1. DAW
    Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I love this show. I think the comedy is spot on for Mid-America and families with quirky kids. I love Brick he is so well portrayed byI love this show. I think the comedy is spot on for Mid-America and families with quirky kids. I love Brick he is so well portrayed by Atticus. Poor Sue Heck!!!!! Expand
  2. MikeM
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I really like this show and watch it every wednesday, I would like to see more episodes surrounding the daughter, anyway, it;s good to see a I really like this show and watch it every wednesday, I would like to see more episodes surrounding the daughter, anyway, it;s good to see a situation comedy revolving around families once again Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This show is great. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. They are just a working family with three very different kids. They areThis show is great. It is always funny. The cast has great chemistry. They are just a working family with three very different kids. They are such a likable family that a lot of people can relate to. Collapse
  4. Feb 6, 2016
    9
    Patricia Heaton has said that they are trying for a "belly laugh" type of humor and this great little ensemble cast certainly succeeds. ThePatricia Heaton has said that they are trying for a "belly laugh" type of humor and this great little ensemble cast certainly succeeds. The characters make a mess of most situations with a mixture of selfishness, idiocy and good intentions that keeps us laughing. That's the real point of a comedy show, isn't it? Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2016
    8
    I really like the middle. it's a good show about a christian family growing up in the midwest and it doesnt try to be what it isn't. II really like the middle. it's a good show about a christian family growing up in the midwest and it doesnt try to be what it isn't. I especially like how the family occasionally shows themselves reacting to situations as christians raising ignorant kids; specifically, when sue goes to college and is shocked to find out "some police are mean to ppl". The gay character is hilarious as well. Expand
  6. KellyV
    Nov 5, 2009
    4
    This show is pretty whiny-annoying. Not a real big fan. These people are losers....who wants to watch this?
  7. LoganZ.
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    It blew!

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.