• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Oct 2, 2013
    60
    Ms. Martindale sucks up most of the oxygen on the show. Beau Bridges, who plays her bumbling husband, Tom, barely gets a word in edgewise. But even in the basic ensemble sitcom, Mr. Arnett’s suppressed lunacy seeps though, mostly in the inane local news reports that Nathan delivers with smoothie aplomb. It doesn’t hurt that his cameraman is J B Smoove, who was so great as Leon on “Curb Your Enthusiasm.”
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    Someone put this baby in a corner and teach it to be smarter, fresher, and funnier. [4 Oct 2013, p.60]
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    58
    The show suffers from the same banal characteristics of most paint-by-numbers network sitcoms.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The show has its moments, but almost all of them belong to Martindale.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 3, 2013
    42
    It’s wearying to watch actors of this caliber try to fluff laughs out of this dreariness.
  6. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Oct 4, 2013
    40
    [The actors'] experience and timing makes the writing work better than it is written, but they are working overtime to get that to happen.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    There’s too much talent involved to write off The Millers completely, but it’s one of those pilots only a mother--or at least, close friends and family--could genuinely love.
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 53
  2. Negative: 21 out of 53
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room".The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room". Love the show and can't wait to see the next episode, "Mom on dating site". Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong turn that the writers have taken with this show. There was so much possibility, so many paths that could have been taken.

    But the path chosen was among the worst.

    I ponder what CBS will use to fill this time slot in February? *More* reruns of TBBT? Is CBS determined to run that series into the ground?

    Time will tell.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. II thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. I hope it makes it because I plan on watching it for years. Love Will Arnett and the parents are perfect. Great casting! Full Review »