• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    There’s too much talent involved to write off The Millers completely, but it’s one of those pilots only a mother--or at least, close friends and family--could genuinely love.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 3, 2013
    20
    The show gets some credit for acting, because the veteran cast members have good comic timing and coax the most out of their lines. Trouble is, that’s like coaxing maximum flavor from a bowl of lawn clippings.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 2, 2013
    70
    The Millers won’t be confused with highbrow entertainment but taken on its own terms and thanks to a talented trio of cast members, it’s a welcome addition to CBS’s Thursday night comedy block.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    The dumb-laugh ratio is surprisingly high. Much of the credit goes to pros like Beau Bridges and Margo Martindale.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    The first half-hour of The Millers is so banal, it’s just sad. There’s no promise lurking anywhere in the setup, nothing that could get better and become more central as the writers find the show’s voice.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 2, 2013
    75
    Arnett is a master of fluster, and Bridges is befuddled charm personified. The revelation, though, for those who only know her from her Emmy-winning dramatic work, is Martindale, whose comic timing rivals the best in the business.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    As much as I don't like it, I pretty much love the whole cast.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    63
    Everyone works so hard--including Arnett, even if he never lets you see him sweat--that this comes very close to succeeding. [21 Oct 2013, p.48]
  9. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    The only thing I can think about when I watch the Millers is that Margo Martindale deserves so much better than this, and I wish she was free of this show's hackneyed, overly broad "humor."
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    Together Bridges and Martindale pretty much steal the pilot from everyone around them.
  11. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2013
    75
    There’s plenty to sustain The Millers over what could be a pretty long haul. The show has both star quality and stars who know how to work the material.
  12. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 3, 2013
    42
    It’s wearying to watch actors of this caliber try to fluff laughs out of this dreariness.
  13. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The show has its moments, but almost all of them belong to Martindale.
  14. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Oct 2, 2013
    60
    Ms. Martindale sucks up most of the oxygen on the show. Beau Bridges, who plays her bumbling husband, Tom, barely gets a word in edgewise. But even in the basic ensemble sitcom, Mr. Arnett’s suppressed lunacy seeps though, mostly in the inane local news reports that Nathan delivers with smoothie aplomb. It doesn’t hurt that his cameraman is J B Smoove, who was so great as Leon on “Curb Your Enthusiasm.”
  15. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    Beau Bridges and Margo Martindale are the ones yelling and making sex jokes while Will Arnett looks on in (justified) horror, which may move The Millers out of "unfortunate" into "unforgivable."
  16. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    58
    The show suffers from the same banal characteristics of most paint-by-numbers network sitcoms.
  17. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    The humor is driven mostly by a relentless slapstick vulgarity, particularly concerning the flatulence and sex habits of parents. If you’ve got a high tolerance for those sorts of jokes, it is funny indeed.
  18. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 2, 2013
    91
    The Millers shows what a thing of glory hear-the-laughs sitcomedy can be in the hands of masters.
  19. 30
    Series creator Greg Garcia has been responsible for some truly special TV comedies, including My Name Is Earl and Raising Hope. This isn't one of them.
  20. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    It’s goofy, but fun.
  21. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The question is, who's laughing? Worth asking along with the aforementioned curiosity about what the programmers were thinking, not only about this mother but all the rest of this unutterably mirthless enterprise--the dim-witted father (Beau Bridges), too stupid to use a telephone properly, included.
  22. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    One of the worst shows of the new season with its very best performance [by Margo Martindale].
  23. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 3, 2013
    20
    You've never seen a sitcom more desperately in need of comic relief.
  24. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    Someone put this baby in a corner and teach it to be smarter, fresher, and funnier. [4 Oct 2013, p.60]
  25. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 2, 2013
    67
    [The pilot is] very much a patch job on a project that needed more than a quick fix, but the direction it takes is encouraging.
  26. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Oct 4, 2013
    40
    [The actors'] experience and timing makes the writing work better than it is written, but they are working overtime to get that to happen.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room".The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room". Love the show and can't wait to see the next episode, "Mom on dating site". Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong turn that the writers have taken with this show. There was so much possibility, so many paths that could have been taken.

    But the path chosen was among the worst.

    I ponder what CBS will use to fill this time slot in February? *More* reruns of TBBT? Is CBS determined to run that series into the ground?

    Time will tell.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. II thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. I hope it makes it because I plan on watching it for years. Love Will Arnett and the parents are perfect. Great casting! Full Review »