• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    The first half-hour of The Millers is so banal, it’s just sad. There’s no promise lurking anywhere in the setup, nothing that could get better and become more central as the writers find the show’s voice.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    Beau Bridges and Margo Martindale are the ones yelling and making sex jokes while Will Arnett looks on in (justified) horror, which may move The Millers out of "unfortunate" into "unforgivable."
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 3, 2013
    20
    The show gets some credit for acting, because the veteran cast members have good comic timing and coax the most out of their lines. Trouble is, that’s like coaxing maximum flavor from a bowl of lawn clippings.
  4. 30
    Series creator Greg Garcia has been responsible for some truly special TV comedies, including My Name Is Earl and Raising Hope. This isn't one of them.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 3, 2013
    20
    You've never seen a sitcom more desperately in need of comic relief.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    One of the worst shows of the new season with its very best performance [by Margo Martindale].
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    As much as I don't like it, I pretty much love the whole cast.
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    The only thing I can think about when I watch the Millers is that Margo Martindale deserves so much better than this, and I wish she was free of this show's hackneyed, overly broad "humor."
  9. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The question is, who's laughing? Worth asking along with the aforementioned curiosity about what the programmers were thinking, not only about this mother but all the rest of this unutterably mirthless enterprise--the dim-witted father (Beau Bridges), too stupid to use a telephone properly, included.
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 53
  2. Negative: 21 out of 53
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room".The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room". Love the show and can't wait to see the next episode, "Mom on dating site". Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong turn that the writers have taken with this show. There was so much possibility, so many paths that could have been taken.

    But the path chosen was among the worst.

    I ponder what CBS will use to fill this time slot in February? *More* reruns of TBBT? Is CBS determined to run that series into the ground?

    Time will tell.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. II thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. I hope it makes it because I plan on watching it for years. Love Will Arnett and the parents are perfect. Great casting! Full Review »