• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Millers Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Will Arnett stars as a newly divorced reporter whose single life is quickly upended when his feuding parents decide to follow his lead and separate. His mother (Margo Martindale) moves in with him, while his father (Beau Bridges) crashes with his sister (Jayma Mays). The comedy comes from Greg Garcia (My Name Is Earl, Raising Hope). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 2, 2013
    91
    The Millers shows what a thing of glory hear-the-laughs sitcomedy can be in the hands of masters.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 2, 2013
    70
    The Millers won’t be confused with highbrow entertainment but taken on its own terms and thanks to a talented trio of cast members, it’s a welcome addition to CBS’s Thursday night comedy block.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    Together Bridges and Martindale pretty much steal the pilot from everyone around them.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The show has its moments, but almost all of them belong to Martindale.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    There’s too much talent involved to write off The Millers completely, but it’s one of those pilots only a mother--or at least, close friends and family--could genuinely love.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    Beau Bridges and Margo Martindale are the ones yelling and making sex jokes while Will Arnett looks on in (justified) horror, which may move The Millers out of "unfortunate" into "unforgivable."
  7. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The question is, who's laughing? Worth asking along with the aforementioned curiosity about what the programmers were thinking, not only about this mother but all the rest of this unutterably mirthless enterprise--the dim-witted father (Beau Bridges), too stupid to use a telephone properly, included.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room". Love the show and can't wait to see the next episode, "Mom on dating site". Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    We "Love" The Millers, this show brings laughter back into our lives. It is the BEST!! So tired of reality shows!!! It is hilarious, so funny and we intend on staying in tune for weeks to come and hope it will get renewed for many more seasons!! Collapse
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This show is hilarious, I watched my first episode last night and laughed for almost the entire half hour. The things the dad says/does is too funny (personally because I have a relative who is EXACTLY like him). Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong
    turn that the writers have taken with this show. There was so much possibility, so many paths that could have been taken.

    But the path chosen was among the worst.

    I ponder what CBS will use to fill this time slot in February? *More* reruns of TBBT? Is CBS determined to run that series into the ground?

    Time will tell.
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    1
    Unwatchable, who did the casting here? Margo Martindale and Will Arnett zero chemistry. Margo Martindale and Beau Bridges he's still too cute at his age, no one gets why he would have married that frump in real life or TV life. I can't stand that actress and have nevero liked or laughed at anything she's said or done at any rate. Get rid of Margo Martindale, bring Will Arnett forward in character, without her loud mouthed presence drowning his trademark charming sarcastic mojo. The Stepford cutie trying to be his obsequious comical sister and her frighteningly non-descript husband are just drying wallpaper (do they have kids, I can't even remember) and ALSO, they have no chemistry with the rest of this sinking crew. Will Arnett is too strong as a subtle comedian, and therefore the ill-suited casting around him doesn't support it. How could anyone believe these people are related, they look like a mish mash of people that went to a housewarming from different regions of a city and were told 'try to act in this clunker comedy as a family, just MAKE IT WORK please'. Put Will in something better, he's a superstar. I'd watch the satire comedy 'Go to Prison' starring Will 500 times in a row over 10 minutes of this drek. Get Beau something better too, he's still too handsome and strong to be relegated to tired old man roles. Give him a break. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    1
    The Millers joins the race of stupid sitcoms. Other contenders are the Goldbergs, Dads and We Are Men. Absolutely horrible. I know people say you can't judge a show on the basis of one episode only, but sitcoms only need one episode to make you like them. The Millers lost its chance, I'm not watching it again. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    Oh. My. God. Cancel this show now! This is a disgrace to Television history.. what on earth were CBS directors thinking giving this a green lit..... awful just awful Expand

See all 16 User Reviews