• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    If you've resisted Kaling's charms up to now, nothing that happens tonight is likely to change your mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 25, 2012
    58
    Despite their [Mindy Kaling and B.J. Novak's] experience, the show plays like a blind date gone bad.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Even by the notoriously uneven standards of sitcoms, The Mindy Project takes precipitous swings from fresh and clever insights to the most predictable "Oh, girl, don't go there" setups.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    It just needs sharper writing, and the supporting cast needs to be developed. While Kaling and Messina are charming and work well together, the rest of the show needs to catch up.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 24, 2012
    50
    There's a weird stew of ideas about expectations, desire and anger roiling around in Mindy, but as they're explored here, those ideas don't cohere into a show that's either funny or cogent.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 20, 2012
    58
    The Mindy Project is a minor disappointment in light of all the accomplished guest stars populating its opening half-hour.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    The whole idea of this show seems like a better premise for a movie, than a show. Most of the show was trying too hard to be funny withThe whole idea of this show seems like a better premise for a movie, than a show. Most of the show was trying too hard to be funny with "ridiculous" situations that would never happen. The upside is that they don't try and bombard you with lazy humor like Two Broke Girls where they constantly say vagina or something or other. Time will tell. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I'm surprised at the lackluster user reviews! I was really entertained by this show - the dialogue was fast and clever, the characters wereI'm surprised at the lackluster user reviews! I was really entertained by this show - the dialogue was fast and clever, the characters were complex, and the plot was believable. I really enjoyed all the honest, embarrassing moments. Plus, the show was able to keep an upbeat tone regardless of the funny but unfortunate events. Can't ask for more from a comedy. I'll keep watching. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    2
    What a nightmare. I have to admit first up that Mindy Kaling is my least favourite character from The Office, so it was always going to be aWhat a nightmare. I have to admit first up that Mindy Kaling is my least favourite character from The Office, so it was always going to be a struggle enjoying this show. That being said, it's positively awful....cheesy tripe that will probably appeal to a demographic far, far removed from my own. Full Review »