• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Wollin
    Sep 17, 2013
    70
    These couple of episodes give hope that Kaling the writer means to continue to skewer her character’s fantasies with the same combination of intelligence and acid wit as before.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Sep 17, 2013
    63
    If Kaling focused more on playing her characters off each other and less on her heroine's mishaps, The Mindy Project would make for a smoother, more consistently engaging series.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Sep 15, 2013
    50
    It’s possible that The Mindy Project will settle down a bit once it’s done reversing the course of season one’s cliffhanger, but the flaws of the first two episodes are so similar to those of season one that it’s hard to imagine some sort of remarkable turnaround.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 16, 2013
    40
    There’s precious little in the two-part premiere to suggest much room for growth, creatively or ratings-wise, in season two.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I have watch the show from the beginning, It is smart and funny and shines a light of a different type of heroine. She is not the typical girlI have watch the show from the beginning, It is smart and funny and shines a light of a different type of heroine. She is not the typical girl that w see and it is refreshing. It so nice to see successful woman of color and woman not of the typical size and she is also funny. I love this show for all it does and I laugh from start to finish. I can watch the episodes over and over and still laugh. I am looking forward to seeing what is next. Also when is Jeremy loosing that weight... Full Review »
  2. May 8, 2014
    8
    Mindy and Danny seems forced this season. They have good chemistry, but the sudden-ness of it seems more like a ploy for ratings than anythingMindy and Danny seems forced this season. They have good chemistry, but the sudden-ness of it seems more like a ploy for ratings than anything else. It's looking like a New Girl style season 3 in which all the episodes involved Mindy and Danny and their new couple-ness. Mindy will still get by on laughs and good supporting characters (much like Girl) but may start to feel rehashed.

    What helped the show stand out in the first place was the tackling of longer term relationships, the multi episode arcs of "dates". Anders Holm's sudden career change at the beginning of the season (to effectively "reboot" the show) was poorly handled, after a great and surprising finale last year. And Charlie at the end of the season was fantastic in his few episodes, it's too bad we won't see more of him. No passing judgement until it happens however, here's hoping the show retains its quirk and humor.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    I have watched every episode from the beginning; this is a very smart, cute and funny show. If you like the Bridget Jones' type of story, youI have watched every episode from the beginning; this is a very smart, cute and funny show. If you like the Bridget Jones' type of story, you will love this show. All the characters mesh so well; better than in How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory. Every woman can relate to Mindy and that's what makes this show so good! I can't wait for more seasons. Full Review »