The Mindy Project : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Mindy Project Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a series of humiliating events, Dr. Mindy Lahini (Mindy Kaling) is determined to make changes in her professional and romantic life to achieve her dreams.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Everything about The Mindy Project is so very Kaling and happily spot-on, starting with the strength of the jokes and dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    83
    Overall, The Mindy Project is a comedy that arrives knowing what it wants to be and what kinds of stories and jokes it wants to tell.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Like The Office, The Mindy Project trades deftly on the humor of excruciating awkwardness.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 24, 2012
    70
    There are enough winning moments here to come back for an encore.
  5. 70
    The show's antic energy and aggressively kooky heroine may not hit everyone's sweet spot, but the pilot is a brisk, confident piece of work, made by people with a clear vision.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Even by the notoriously uneven standards of sitcoms, The Mindy Project takes precipitous swings from fresh and clever insights to the most predictable "Oh, girl, don't go there" setups.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Think Gray's Anatomy with unpretty people; then think of something else to watch.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice,If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice, giggly feeling after watching an episode. If you love shows like New Girl and Happy Endings, this is the show for you. Collapse
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Ignored the show at first as my wife watched it on Hula. Halfway through season I found myself unavoidably laughing during the shows. IIgnored the show at first as my wife watched it on Hula. Halfway through season I found myself unavoidably laughing during the shows. I started watching the rest of the season and was loving it. Later I watched the early shows, I ignored initially, and found them dull. I would advise anyone to skip the first 7-10 episodes and jump into the show there. Love the show!!!
    BTW I am buzz reviewing so $issoff
    Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Having given up on the show last season, I watched last night and had at least three LOL moments. The new characters (Tamyra and Peter)Having given up on the show last season, I watched last night and had at least three LOL moments. The new characters (Tamyra and Peter) provide some good comedic moments. The writing was much better as well. I'd have to recommend giving it another try. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Another show I avoided and I binged watched it yesterday Its witty and funny, really nice show The show is feels fresh and Mindy has grown on me
  5. Jun 2, 2015
    7
    3/5★ Trained on The Office, with the likes of Tina Feys 30 Rock as inspiration, Mindy Kalings Project is a sitcom about a woman navigating her3/5★ Trained on The Office, with the likes of Tina Feys 30 Rock as inspiration, Mindy Kalings Project is a sitcom about a woman navigating her personal and professional life, surrounded by a cast of quirky characters. While not terribly original, the writing stands out, with jokes, cultural references and satire making for a genuinely funny show. The great cameos are an added bonus.
    Mindy's character is a little off-putting: Obsessed with celebrities and pop culture, she is also rude and insensitive. She does, however, have a knack for saying quotable things.
    Verdict: It's funny and watchable.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    The whole idea of this show seems like a better premise for a movie, than a show. Most of the show was trying too hard to be funny withThe whole idea of this show seems like a better premise for a movie, than a show. Most of the show was trying too hard to be funny with "ridiculous" situations that would never happen. The upside is that they don't try and bombard you with lazy humor like Two Broke Girls where they constantly say vagina or something or other. Time will tell. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    This show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status inThis show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status in their second season that is if Mindy can get over herself. Take a clue from New Girl, make Mindy less involved with the show, it'll do wonders for your ratings. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  3. Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox)

    Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox) Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    When it debuted last month, Fox's "The Mindy Project" was named by many critics as fall's best new comedy. Four episodes later, does it still deserve that title?