The Mindy Project : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
The Mindy Project Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a series of humiliating events, Dr. Mindy Lahini (Mindy Kaling) is determined to make changes in her professional and romantic life to achieve her dreams.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Mindy Project
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Everything about The Mindy Project is so very Kaling and happily spot-on, starting with the strength of the jokes and dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    83
    Overall, The Mindy Project is a comedy that arrives knowing what it wants to be and what kinds of stories and jokes it wants to tell.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Like The Office, The Mindy Project trades deftly on the humor of excruciating awkwardness.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 24, 2012
    70
    There are enough winning moments here to come back for an encore.
  5. 70
    The show's antic energy and aggressively kooky heroine may not hit everyone's sweet spot, but the pilot is a brisk, confident piece of work, made by people with a clear vision.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Even by the notoriously uneven standards of sitcoms, The Mindy Project takes precipitous swings from fresh and clever insights to the most predictable "Oh, girl, don't go there" setups.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Think Gray's Anatomy with unpretty people; then think of something else to watch.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    Great show! From the first time I watched it, Mindy kind of reminds me of me. I love this show. Can't wait till Season 2. Hope it has moreGreat show! From the first time I watched it, Mindy kind of reminds me of me. I love this show. Can't wait till Season 2. Hope it has more seasons and goes on to become a great hit. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this show. I'm a huge office fan so I loved Mindy on that of course, however seeing the previews I thought this show was going to be lame and not very funny. I thought it would be a stretch to have Kelly Kapoor have a whole show around her. So I didn't watch it at all until about two weeks ago when I was procrastinating my studying for finals. Starting watching it, and I couldn't stop. Hilarious humor, clever wit, and great writing of course. I'm not a television expert so I don't know how to critic how well characters have been developed, but everyone has a plausible story line and with this show's humor that's enough for me. I was drawn in by the first episode but I know some of my friends, it took them a little while. My recommendation: watch it, stick with it, enjoy. It's funny, end of story. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice,If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice, giggly feeling after watching an episode. If you love shows like New Girl and Happy Endings, this is the show for you. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    I loved loved loved the first season if this show. It always made me smile and laugh. I watched the entire first season within a week, II loved loved loved the first season if this show. It always made me smile and laugh. I watched the entire first season within a week, I couldn't stop watching. Mindy definitely makes me smile. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    Mindy pretty much picks up where her superficial character in the office leaves off. If you were listening to the show on the radio you wouldMindy pretty much picks up where her superficial character in the office leaves off. If you were listening to the show on the radio you would think the main character was some air-headed blonde. The show is well written and well executed. The only thing missing is a likable lead character. You almost can't help rooting against this shallow human being. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Originally, The Mindy Project was about a woman obsessed with finding love because of all the romantic movies she watches. Now, Mindy is high-maintenance and difficult. This "new" Mindy is getting old. The current season has me wondering "where is this show going?" Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    This show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status inThis show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status in their second season that is if Mindy can get over herself. Take a clue from New Girl, make Mindy less involved with the show, it'll do wonders for your ratings. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  3. Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox)

    Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox) Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    When it debuted last month, Fox's "The Mindy Project" was named by many critics as fall's best new comedy. Four episodes later, does it still deserve that title?