The Mindy Project : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
The Mindy Project Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a series of humiliating events, Dr. Mindy Lahini (Mindy Kaling) is determined to make changes in her professional and romantic life to achieve her dreams.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Mindy Project
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Everything about The Mindy Project is so very Kaling and happily spot-on, starting with the strength of the jokes and dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    83
    Overall, The Mindy Project is a comedy that arrives knowing what it wants to be and what kinds of stories and jokes it wants to tell.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Like The Office, The Mindy Project trades deftly on the humor of excruciating awkwardness.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 24, 2012
    70
    There are enough winning moments here to come back for an encore.
  5. 70
    The show's antic energy and aggressively kooky heroine may not hit everyone's sweet spot, but the pilot is a brisk, confident piece of work, made by people with a clear vision.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Even by the notoriously uneven standards of sitcoms, The Mindy Project takes precipitous swings from fresh and clever insights to the most predictable "Oh, girl, don't go there" setups.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Think Gray's Anatomy with unpretty people; then think of something else to watch.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    The Mindy Project is just so fresh, witty, and hilarious that you just couldn't stop watching the show over and over again. Idk why someThe Mindy Project is just so fresh, witty, and hilarious that you just couldn't stop watching the show over and over again. Idk why some people don't like it--maybe they just have no taste for comedy series or that they have all got slapped on the face by the bittersweet social reality that the show depicts (and they are active participants in the bitter side of this reality). In addition, I don't give a damn if the show is all about Mindy (just so you know, the show's entitled "The Mindy Project" so of course it would be most probably all about Mindy); I mean, the show is still far more hilarious than a lot of other cliched comedy series that try too hard to make an adequate story line that revolves on a lot of characters. The show's definitely one of the best comedy series of the generation, and I swear, it deserves a lot more attention than many other trashy mainstream series that people seem to dumbly adore.

    BTW at the first one or two episodes, you might probably get quite bored with the show, but please just stick with it even just for at least five episodes and you'd surely want to watch the entire series then!
    Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2017
    10
    This is one of the funniest show on tv today. I cannot wait to watch Mindy and her crazy cast make me laugh and think about life as a singleThis is one of the funniest show on tv today. I cannot wait to watch Mindy and her crazy cast make me laugh and think about life as a single woman. I am going to miss this ever changing cast in 2019. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice,If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice, giggly feeling after watching an episode. If you love shows like New Girl and Happy Endings, this is the show for you. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2016
    8
    The Mindy Project is a show that offers humorous, clever writing and writer and actress Mindy Kaling shines in the role of Mindy Lahiri. As aThe Mindy Project is a show that offers humorous, clever writing and writer and actress Mindy Kaling shines in the role of Mindy Lahiri. As a young woman, I was thrilled to see a show that portrays the experience of being a young woman navigating life in the city in such a humorous and accurate way. However, I am disappointed in the lack of female friends that Mindy has on the show and find myself getting bored with her never ending quest to 'find a man'. While Mindy offers young women a strong, independent and multi dimensional role model in her character, I find myself questioning where her friends are. Friendship is such a large part of my life, and it is not reflected in the character's experiences at all. The show would be enriched if Mindy were to have a group of equally strong women as a support system, and would reinforce the importance of female friendship in the lives of females in real life. The producers seem to be worried about making the show 'too female' if they allow for more female characters, but I believe this would strengthen the show and add a richer, more diverse discourse to take place. Mindy is a great character, but I would like to see her with some friends! In a show that is written and produced by a female, I am surprised that there is not more of a focus on the power of female friendship in the show and hope to see that change in coming seasons. Having such a large focus on Mindy's romantic relationships trivializes her career success, and reinforces the oppressive ideology that makes a woman's relationship status more important than anything else. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    Mindy pretty much picks up where her superficial character in the office leaves off. If you were listening to the show on the radio you wouldMindy pretty much picks up where her superficial character in the office leaves off. If you were listening to the show on the radio you would think the main character was some air-headed blonde. The show is well written and well executed. The only thing missing is a likable lead character. You almost can't help rooting against this shallow human being. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Originally, The Mindy Project was about a woman obsessed with finding love because of all the romantic movies she watches. Now, Mindy is high-maintenance and difficult. This "new" Mindy is getting old. The current season has me wondering "where is this show going?" Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    This show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status inThis show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status in their second season that is if Mindy can get over herself. Take a clue from New Girl, make Mindy less involved with the show, it'll do wonders for your ratings. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.
  2. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  3. Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox)

    Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox) Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    When it debuted last month, Fox's "The Mindy Project" was named by many critics as fall's best new comedy. Four episodes later, does it still deserve that title?