• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
The Mindy Project Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Amanda Setton, Beth Grant, Ike Barinholtz
  • Summary: After a series of humiliating events, Dr. Mindy Lahini (Mindy Kaling) is determined to make changes in her professional and romantic life to achieve her dreams.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Mindy Kaling
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 09:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Everything about The Mindy Project is so very Kaling and happily spot-on, starting with the strength of the jokes and dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    83
    Overall, The Mindy Project is a comedy that arrives knowing what it wants to be and what kinds of stories and jokes it wants to tell.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 25, 2012
    80
    So far, Kaling's is pitch-perfect.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 24, 2012
    70
    Tuesday's pilot is not as consistently funny as one might hope and Mindy's flightiness could turn off some viewers, but she and the show are amusing enough to warrant watching.
  5. 70
    The show's antic energy and aggressively kooky heroine may not hit everyone's sweet spot, but the pilot is a brisk, confident piece of work, made by people with a clear vision.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Even by the notoriously uneven standards of sitcoms, The Mindy Project takes precipitous swings from fresh and clever insights to the most predictable "Oh, girl, don't go there" setups.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Think Gray's Anatomy with unpretty people; then think of something else to watch.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    If you love Kaling, you'll definitely love this show. The writing and the cast on this show is above par and provides the viewer with a nice, giggly feeling after watching an episode. If you love shows like New Girl and Happy Endings, this is the show for you. Expand
  2. May 17, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I'm a huge office fan so I loved Mindy on that of course, however seeing the previews I thought this show was going to be lame and not very funny. I thought it would be a stretch to have Kelly Kapoor have a whole show around her. So I didn't watch it at all until about two weeks ago when I was procrastinating my studying for finals. Starting watching it, and I couldn't stop. Hilarious humor, clever wit, and great writing of course. I'm not a television expert so I don't know how to critic how well characters have been developed, but everyone has a plausible story line and with this show's humor that's enough for me. I was drawn in by the first episode but I know some of my friends, it took them a little while. My recommendation: watch it, stick with it, enjoy. It's funny, end of story. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Having given up on the show last season, I watched last night and had at least three LOL moments. The new characters (Tamyra and Peter) provide some good comedic moments. The writing was much better as well. I'd have to recommend giving it another try. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I'm surprised at the lackluster user reviews! I was really entertained by this show - the dialogue was fast and clever, the characters were complex, and the plot was believable. I really enjoyed all the honest, embarrassing moments. Plus, the show was able to keep an upbeat tone regardless of the funny but unfortunate events. Can't ask for more from a comedy. I'll keep watching. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Originally, The Mindy Project was about a woman obsessed with finding love because of all the romantic movies she watches. Now, Mindy is high-maintenance and difficult. This "new" Mindy is getting old. The current season has me wondering "where is this show going?" Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    I'm torn about 'The Mindy Project.' It has its moments. It can be fun, it can be witty. On the other hand, it's cliched and unrealistic with an unsympathetic lead. Kaling's character, 'Mindy Lahiri' is a 31 year old practising gynaecologist who talks like a 16 year old valley girl. While her teenage neighbour reads Jonathan Franzen, Mindy reads a novelization of the film Iron Man. Like most thirty-something women on TV, she's obsessed with finding Mr Right, and yet she's inexplicably nasty to all the guys she meets, including those she works with. At work, she and her two fellow doctors, both male, talk mostly about sex and Mindy's messed-up personal life. She takes time off work for "best friend's day" (lunch and shopping) and has no hesitation in hastily rearranging her schedule to visit her teenage friend at her high school to grill the girl's boyfriend about their sex life. She seems to spend the better part of an afternoon at work choosing a Halloween costume. It bothers me that Mindy is so shallow, that she talks in a high-pitched, dumbed-down baby-girl voice, that she's astonishingly self-absorbed and at times cruel. She says things to Dr Danny Castellano, her divorced co-worker and obvious potential love interest, like "no wonder your wife left you," comments that are followed by dead silence in which I'm waiting for him to break down in tears. When handing out condoms at the high school she gives one to everyone, two to an especially pretty girl and none at all to a plain girl with braces, saying "you I'm not worried about." It was a shocking moment, and unnecessarily unpleasant, especially as Mindy Lahiri was supposedly plain and single until her early twenties. There are numerous dissonant moments like these in the show that make me dislike Mindy Lahiri. She is carrying on a casual sexual relationship with her other coworker, Dr Jeremy Reed, and while the fact is accepted, it's rarely actually addressed. It's not clear why Reed, supposedly a ladies man, would need to carry on this relationship with Mindy, or why she thinks it's okay to casually sleep with someone she works with. In fact, it's not clear why anyone of the men she dates are drawn to Mindy. When Dr Castellano gives her a gynaecological check-up at work, the scene is alternately funny, cringeworthy and appalling. She teases him endlessly throughout and moans sensually when he tries to give her a breast exam. Frankly, it's offensive. She clearly doesn't take her work seriously. No decent gynaecologist would think of an exam as a sexual thing, and the way she talks incessantly about sex and her love life at work invites the kind of banter that would qualify as sexual harassment in most workplaces. I Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    This show is not for me. The comedy is terrible and relies on easy laughs. But maybe it'll be like NEW GIRL and elevate to awesome-status in their second season that is if Mindy can get over herself. Take a clue from New Girl, make Mindy less involved with the show, it'll do wonders for your ratings. Collapse

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox)

    Fall TV Second Look: The Mindy Project (Fox) Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    When it debuted last month, Fox's "The Mindy Project" was named by many critics as fall's best new comedy. Four episodes later, does it still deserve that title?