The Mob Doctor : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 17, 2012
    50
    At its heart, The Mob Doctor feels more like a by-the-numbers CBS procedural than an "edgy" Fox drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 17, 2012
    58
    This show almost works, and credit has to go to star Jordana Spiro ("My Boys"), who imbues her Dr. Grace Devlin with equal parts brass and cleverness.
  3. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Sep 12, 2012
    42
    Here's a show descending into self-parody before it even has a self to parody. [14/21 Sep 2012, p.133]
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Despite the frantic and at times clunky initial execution, there are times when The Mob Doctor shows signs of transcending the typical doc-with-something-extra medical procedural.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    A lead character stuck endlessly agonizing over her fate isn't a character we will watch forever, even though Spiro is one of the freshest and brightest stars on TV this season.
  6. 50
    The Mob Doctor's pilot is stranded between quality cable nuance and broadcast network spoon-feeding.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 17, 2012
    40
    The most earnestly silly show of the fall.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 17, 2012
    50
    I get the feeling Grace will always do the right thing, which is going to make The Mob Doctor predictable and not all that entertaining.
  9. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    In Fox's new series, The Mob Doctor, trying to reinvent the wheel has led to a truly flat idea.
  10. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 17, 2012
    40
    The pilot is so packed with generic scenes of medical crises and mob muscle-flexing that it feels as if the creators went to a buffet of past series and desperately piled everything they could reach onto the mob doc's plate.
  11. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 12, 2012
    42
    Mob Doctor is one of those classically bad concepts that somehow got green-lighted as a series.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 14, 2012
    40
    There's nothing initially compelling enough to warrant regular visits, much less house calls.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Like many others I too desperately wanted to like this show. Simply put, I believe that the stellar cast has been plagued with bad writing.Like many others I too desperately wanted to like this show. Simply put, I believe that the stellar cast has been plagued with bad writing. Its just too cliche and at times unbelievable... great acting, bad stories. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The decent cast deserve a better-written vehicle than this. Here's a tip from the show-it-don't-say-it file: find a way to make your mainThe decent cast deserve a better-written vehicle than this. Here's a tip from the show-it-don't-say-it file: find a way to make your main character plucky without sticking it in the dialogue. The concept probably could have worked, but I don't see this getting renewed. Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    With all the reality shows and I must say very poor choices for NBC, I have enjoyed the show The Mob
    Doctor. The story kept continuing which
    With all the reality shows and I must say very poor choices for NBC, I have enjoyed the show The Mob
    Doctor. The story kept continuing which I enjoyed. But as far as I was told my view at 66 really doesn't
    count anymore, the networks are trying to get the 25 year to 45 year old mainly for the commercials That's who really pays the actors.
    Full Review »