• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1
The Mob Doctor Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grace Devlin (Jordana Spiro) risks her career as a surgeon to pay off her brother's gambling debt by helping members of Chicago's Southside mob.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 14, 2012
    75
    No, it's not exactly "House." But it isn't like any other show, either, with its mad mix of moral dilemmas, medical crises, family ties, double-life-living and, y'know, rubouts 'n' stuff.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 11, 2012
    63
    The show should focus less on catty hospital politics and more on the inherently compelling conflict of a person who has good reason to do bad things.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 17, 2012
    58
    This show almost works, and credit has to go to star Jordana Spiro ("My Boys"), who imbues her Dr. Grace Devlin with equal parts brass and cleverness.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    In Fox's new series, The Mob Doctor, trying to reinvent the wheel has led to a truly flat idea.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 17, 2012
    40
    The pilot is so packed with generic scenes of medical crises and mob muscle-flexing that it feels as if the creators went to a buffet of past series and desperately piled everything they could reach onto the mob doc's plate.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 17, 2012
    30
    Feisty is one thing, rude is another. But all of that is of a piece with the show's generally lazy approach to storytelling: A couple of supporting characters are cardboard villains, and a subplot about a minor's surgical procedure doesn't make a ton of sense if you know the first thing about medical privacy laws.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    0
    It's never good news when you start to watch a new show and can't get past quibbling with the whole concept.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Love the show especially with the huge twist. keep it coming I want to know what happens next! Sure the writing might be cliche but come one,Love the show especially with the huge twist. keep it coming I want to know what happens next! Sure the writing might be cliche but come one, how complicated do you want the show? if its too complicated then ppl will complain about that too. the idea is awesome and now that grace has opened up to the nurse i want to know the next move!!! Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    With all the reality shows and I must say very poor choices for NBC, I have enjoyed the show The Mob
    Doctor. The story kept continuing which
    With all the reality shows and I must say very poor choices for NBC, I have enjoyed the show The Mob
    Doctor. The story kept continuing which I enjoyed. But as far as I was told my view at 66 really doesn't
    count anymore, the networks are trying to get the 25 year to 45 year old mainly for the commercials That's who really pays the actors.
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    This show has steadily improved, with a gutsy central character and a bunch of very human supporting ones--except for the mob boss, who isThis show has steadily improved, with a gutsy central character and a bunch of very human supporting ones--except for the mob boss, who is absolutely splendid. Writing is getting better too. I hope Fox will keep the writers' toes to the fire, because this is really fun to watch. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Like many others I too desperately wanted to like this show. Simply put, I believe that the stellar cast has been plagued with bad writing.Like many others I too desperately wanted to like this show. Simply put, I believe that the stellar cast has been plagued with bad writing. Its just too cliche and at times unbelievable... great acting, bad stories. Collapse
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The decent cast deserve a better-written vehicle than this. Here's a tip from the show-it-don't-say-it file: find a way to make your mainThe decent cast deserve a better-written vehicle than this. Here's a tip from the show-it-don't-say-it file: find a way to make your main character plucky without sticking it in the dialogue. The concept probably could have worked, but I don't see this getting renewed. Expand