• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    ABC's The Neighbors is this season's awful sitcom, the one that defies all kind of sense.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 26, 2012
    75
    The Neighbors is the silliest show you will watch all year.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 26, 2012
    25
    And that's me, faster than Usain Bolt, changing the channel.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    There's something winning about the absurdity and the poker-faced formality of the aliens.... The only problem is there's no internal logic to the premise. [28 Sep 2012, p.64]
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Created by Dan Fogelman it is enjoyable if not impressive--not bad, and almost good.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    In short, The Neighbors closely resembles the old Conehead sketches from the early days of Saturday Night Live.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2012
    40
    Droll and amusing though the jokes and characters in the first episode often are, The Neighbors has all its chips riding on what is essentially a one-line gag.
  8. 60
    The pilot for ABC's extraterrestrial silly-fest feels half-baked, and parts of it just sort of lie there, but this shouldn't be a deal breaker.
  9. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 24, 2012
    58
    While The Neighbors sketches something genuinely creative--and truly weird--its comedy doesn't really come together.
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 26, 2012
    70
    The first two episodes of The Neighbors actually made me laugh more than once--and without the aid of mood-altering substances.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 25, 2012
    70
    In its first two episodes The Neighbors is an enjoyable, broad comedy that encourages co-viewing among parents and their children.
  12. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 26, 2012
    50
    Unfortunately, the pilot doesn't suggest that there is anything more interesting at work here than a weak attempt to wring laughs out of aliens who are buffoons.
  13. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    The Neighbors revives an old storyline used in everything from the the "SNL" Coneheads sketch to "Third Rock from the Sun." It just doesn't do it as well.
  14. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2012
    25
    The show seems to exhaust its small comedic possibilities with the first episode, not to mention viewer interest.
  15. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 27, 2012
    0
    This season, ABC has Neighbors, one of the least funny things to air on television since the last Hitler documentary on History.
  16. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    It's "3rd Rock From the Sun" without the wit or the understatement.
  17. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 26, 2012
    30
    For a bizarre comedy with the potential for some really pointed wackiness, this alien vehicle doesn't get off the ground.
  18. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Neighbors settles for charmless performances, stupid jokes and sight gags that might be funny once, such as naming all of the aliens after famous sports figures (like Larry Bird and Jackie Joyner-Kersee), but with repetition grows fretfully stale.
  19. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    This latest aliens-meet-earthlings sitcom is just too dopily executed for any long-term stay on this planet.
  20. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 25, 2012
    37
    Nothing in The Neighbors rises above mediocrity, and too much falls beneath it.
  21. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 26, 2012
    30
    It's somewhat offbeat, yes, but all played at such a cartoonish level as to feel like a distant throwback, a la "My Favorite Martian" or "I Dream of Jeannie," since there's no one akin to Mork or ALF to enliven the festivities.
  22. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    75
    The Neighbors means you no harm; it is merely offering buoyant, slightly creepy entertainment for anybody who doesn't take sci-fi or satire too seriously.
  23. Reviewed by: Drusilla Moorhouse
    Sep 26, 2012
    10
    If you value your time, you'll change the channel after "Modern Family."
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is a one of those shows you really have to look past the premise and see how deep the show really is. It is in the same quality level as quirky shows like Third Rock From the Sun, Mork and Mindy, Modern Family and Raising Hope. These shows seem silly at first but once you get into them, the stories are deep with good moral and human interest messages. I found the jokes smart and wry, the characters well developed with meaningful stories. All wrapped in a quirky comedy. Would be great to see this show last as long as the other two I mentioned. Wish more people could appreciate the depth and comedy of these unusual out of the typical mold sitcoms. Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. Please give it a chance despite the closed minded folks who have reviewed this so negatively. It is not that often that I actually laugh out loud at a sitcom, but I find myself rewinding the show to actually get a second take on the many quotable lines and simple looks from the characters that generate laughs. If I remember correctly, this show does not use a laugh track which says even more for the quality of writing from the show that can generate laughs without this crutch. Thanks to ABC for putting up all the episodes on-line too. Was very thankful that I didn't miss out on this much under-rated production. Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    I think all the negative reviews for this show come from the pilot, which I'll agree was terrible. But from then on, the series got a lot better. I think you should watch it, at least go past the pilot. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Love this show. I don't think people are giving it a fair try. You really need to watch episodes like the Halloween episode to appreciate it. That one, with the little kid and the hand puppet had me howling. Full Review »