• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 4
The Neighbors Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Debbie (Jami Gertz) and Marty Weaver (Lenny Venito) move to the exclusive community of Hidden Hills with their three kids. They soon discover their neighbors are not from this world.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 26, 2012
    75
    The Neighbors is the silliest show you will watch all year.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 26, 2012
    70
    The first two episodes of The Neighbors actually made me laugh more than once--and without the aid of mood-altering substances.
  3. 60
    The pilot for ABC's extraterrestrial silly-fest feels half-baked, and parts of it just sort of lie there, but this shouldn't be a deal breaker.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2012
    40
    Droll and amusing though the jokes and characters in the first episode often are, The Neighbors has all its chips riding on what is essentially a one-line gag.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 26, 2012
    30
    It's somewhat offbeat, yes, but all played at such a cartoonish level as to feel like a distant throwback, a la "My Favorite Martian" or "I Dream of Jeannie," since there's no one akin to Mork or ALF to enliven the festivities.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    It's "3rd Rock From the Sun" without the wit or the understatement.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 27, 2012
    0
    This season, ABC has Neighbors, one of the least funny things to air on television since the last Hitler documentary on History.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Love THE NEIGHBORS! ...I'm really glad that it has been renewed for fall 2013! I think it will catch on with more people as time goes by. It's imaginative, creative, intelligent, well produced and not the stereotype predictable stuff you usually see.. some people don't like anything outside of their little bubble and wouldn't know something good if it bit them on the ass! Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    My kids love this show, and while I admit it took a few episodes to grow on me. I now love the show and look forward to it. It took a few episodes for the show to work out some kinks but, I now sit and laugh, it is good. It is a nice break from the norm. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is a one of those shows you really have to look past the premise and see how deep the show really is. It is in the same quality level as quirky shows like Third Rock From the Sun, Mork and Mindy, Modern Family and Raising Hope. These shows seem silly at first but once you get into them, the stories are deep with good moral and human interest messages. I found the jokes smart and wry, the characters well developed with meaningful stories. All wrapped in a quirky comedy. Would be great to see this show last as long as the other two I mentioned. Wish more people could appreciate the depth and comedy of these unusual out of the typical mold sitcoms. Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. Please give it a chance despite the closed minded folks who have reviewed this so negatively. It is not that often that I actually laugh out loud at a sitcom, but I find myself rewinding the show to actually get a second take on the many quotable lines and simple looks from the characters that generate laughs. If I remember correctly, this show does not use a laugh track which says even more for the quality of writing from the show that can generate laughs without this crutch. Thanks to ABC for putting up all the episodes on-line too. Was very thankful that I didn't miss out on this much under-rated production. Collapse
  4. May 5, 2014
    8
    the first season of this show was really hilarious. this season it hasn't been as well written. I was extremely disappointed with some of the episodes. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I honestly think that you overreact about it. I mean, the show isn't that bad, it's actually quite good, and I don't think it deserves less "points" than Partners' pilot, which is absolutly aweful. Visually, it's pretty nice, and it's funny. It's for sure the best comedy pilot I've watched this season. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    4
    The Neighbors is a show with its own quirks, I personally like the idea of it. It's really a shame it wasn't executed correctly, it makes you want to watch it, but it doesn't make you laugh or want to know what will happen next. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    0
    This is not 30 Rock from the Sun, it is much much worse and it is was not for Partners it would be the worst new show of the year. The acting is horrible, the concept is repeated and who ever signed the check to pay someone to make this should be fired. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews