• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
The New Normal Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Single mother Goldie Clemmons (Georgia King) moves to Los Angeles with her daughter to escape her grandmother (Ellen Barkin) and becomes a surrogate for Bryan and David (Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 12, 2012
    88
    [A] witty-but-poignant look at what it means to be a modern family.
  2. Reviewed by: Drusilla Moorhouse
    Sep 10, 2012
    80
    This heartwarming show just might become the sitcom success NBC so desperately needs.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 31, 2012
    75
    The color, pace and performance are vibrant, often crazily so. [10 Sep 2012, p.39]
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 10, 2012
    67
    Go beyond the in-your-face, outrageous title here, and you'll find a somewhat sweet show struggling to create some real laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    This one tries so hard to set up its premise that at times it ends up feeling more like a PSA than a comedy, which can be annoying if you're already on board with same-sex marriage and gay parenting.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    Murphy and Adler opt for the caustic in a series that probably had its best chance of success playing it more subtle and more sentimental, tossing in the barbs judiciously.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 11, 2012
    30
    Where Modern Family is sweet and funny, The New Normal is cheap and hectoring.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 18 out of 37
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I'm a gay dad. My story isn't the one shown in this show, but so far 'The New Normal' touches on some of the issues I've wrestled with. Ok,I'm a gay dad. My story isn't the one shown in this show, but so far 'The New Normal' touches on some of the issues I've wrestled with. Ok, I rated it based on emotion rather than objective production values. But to FINALLY see something on tv that reflects MY life is jaw-dropping. The simple scene of the two dads-to-be smooching in a big clothes shop only to be asked by another dad not to act like that in front of his daughter...and then to be at a loss as to what should have been the right response for something that would not have occurred if they'd been a straight couple....oh god, I know it so well. Folks, if this were a 3-dimensional representation, the American censors would not let it air. This is as much gay reality as your (the American -- I'm Australian) system will allow. Small steps, but steps nonetheless. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Wonderful show for anyone who isnt homophobic! This show is modern and applies to how families are becoming with the new "relationshipWonderful show for anyone who isnt homophobic! This show is modern and applies to how families are becoming with the new "relationship standard". Nene Leeks adds a great addition with her quick wit along with Ellen Barkin who is wonderful and FUNNY! I look forward to this show as it is better then most other "family comedies" on Primetime. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This is a fun show that is appealing to many audiences. The characters are bigger than life, particularly Ellen Barkin who plays aThis is a fun show that is appealing to many audiences. The characters are bigger than life, particularly Ellen Barkin who plays a hilariously articulate bigot. My only fear is that the characters will continue to be stereotypical, and not grow with more interesting nuances. That said, there are many one liners that are quite amusing and will likely be quotable moments in the future. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2012
    4
    It can be funny at times but mostly it is just political preaching about homophobia and stuff. There was even an episode about the election.It can be funny at times but mostly it is just political preaching about homophobia and stuff. There was even an episode about the election. This kind of stuff just should not be in a sitcom. Collapse
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    2
    I can't say I was excited to watch this show,but I thought I would see something more original. The ''jokes'' doesn't work and all theI can't say I was excited to watch this show,but I thought I would see something more original. The ''jokes'' doesn't work and all the characters are too stereotyped even for a comedy.Ryan Murphy needs to find the inspiration he had when he created Nip/Tuck, that show was truly remarkable. Expand
  6. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    1
    The first episode showed promise but as the season progressed, the more and more annoying it go. It is sooooo cheesy. There's nothing I hateThe first episode showed promise but as the season progressed, the more and more annoying it go. It is sooooo cheesy. There's nothing I hate more than comedies that deliver "funny" lines and then theres a silence... it's just weird. Plus the characters are not likable at all. I do not recommend it at all. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    This is the worst new show on TV. In addition to being a terrible knock off, they did it poorly, and it's not funny. Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad,This is the worst new show on TV. In addition to being a terrible knock off, they did it poorly, and it's not funny. Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews