The New Normal : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2012
The New Normal Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Single mother Goldie Clemmons (Georgia King) moves to Los Angeles with her daughter to escape her grandmother (Ellen Barkin) and becomes a surrogate for Bryan and David (Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 12, 2012
    88
    [A] witty-but-poignant look at what it means to be a modern family.
  2. 80
    This heartwarming show just might become the sitcom success NBC so desperately needs.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 31, 2012
    75
    The color, pace and performance are vibrant, often crazily so. [10 Sep 2012, p.39]
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 10, 2012
    67
    Go beyond the in-your-face, outrageous title here, and you'll find a somewhat sweet show struggling to create some real laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    This one tries so hard to set up its premise that at times it ends up feeling more like a PSA than a comedy, which can be annoying if you're already on board with same-sex marriage and gay parenting.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    Murphy and Adler opt for the caustic in a series that probably had its best chance of success playing it more subtle and more sentimental, tossing in the barbs judiciously.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 11, 2012
    30
    Where Modern Family is sweet and funny, The New Normal is cheap and hectoring.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 18 out of 38
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    I loved this show; it's well meaning , and hits close to home. I think some of the jokes may not be well received by people who are easilyI loved this show; it's well meaning , and hits close to home. I think some of the jokes may not be well received by people who are easily offended, but it didn't bother me. You need this kind of show to cheer you up, and I would happily recommend it to anyone. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Show is progressing sweetly. Very touching moments. Hope it stays. Spotlights the plight of gay family life and the direction which ourShow is progressing sweetly. Very touching moments. Hope it stays. Spotlights the plight of gay family life and the direction which our country needs to move in order to truly be "The Land of the Free." Worth the 30 minutes. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    I think that this could be a nice and a "hit" show for NBC, maybe it has an stereotypical gay couple who just want a baby, but this is aI think that this could be a nice and a "hit" show for NBC, maybe it has an stereotypical gay couple who just want a baby, but this is a realistic topic that is usually ignoring in the biggest shows on TV, also the cast is just amazing starting with the fabolous Ellen Barkin as a "bigot grandmother", Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha have a surprising and wonderful chemistry on screen, Bebe Wood and Georgia King are very good too, finally Nene Leakes could be one of the funniest actresses who could appear in this new season. I think that The New Normal could be very succesful in the near future. I'm still watching... Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    6
    If I had to judge this show by its first episode, I would have told you: Stay away!
    It felt like they took the gay couple from "Modern
    If I had to judge this show by its first episode, I would have told you: Stay away!
    It felt like they took the gay couple from "Modern Family" and made them not funny and shallow. Then they took Charlie's and Allen's mother from "Two and a half men" and made her even more terrible and racist, too.
    The setup of the show is this: We have the gay couple who decide they want to have a baby.
    They meet a very likable young woman with a sweet, bright daughter and her bigot, racist grandmother, played by Ellen Barkin.
    Since the young mother left her husband and doesn't want to be financially dependent on her terrible grandmother, she agrees to be become the surrogate mother for the gay couple's child.

    The "humor" of first episode relied almost exclusively on racist remarks by the surrogate's grandmother.
    Her character is one note and the show will soon grow tedious and annoying with her at the comedic center. The rest of the cast provided almost no comedy.
    But watching the second episode, I was pleasantly surprised. They gave the grandmother less screen time and only half of it consisted of racist remarks.
    The surrogate mother's daughter was wonderful and funny and we got more comedic moments by friends of the gay couple, the latter being more likable and funny this time.
    I laughed several times during the second episode, something I couldn't say about the first one.
    So either the first episode was a misstep or they work to make the show better.
    Giving the show the benefit of doubt and hoping it will improve more I'll tentatively give it a thumbs up.
    Collapse
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    I think the show tries too hard. It looks like it is a let-me-educate-you-about-gay-issues disguised as a comedy. I think that Modern FamilyI think the show tries too hard. It looks like it is a let-me-educate-you-about-gay-issues disguised as a comedy. I think that Modern Family and Glee do that in a much better way. The acting and dialogues are terrible! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    I enjoyed this show for the first 4 episodes, then it started pushing an agenda and stopped being so funny. I watched one episode and didn'tI enjoyed this show for the first 4 episodes, then it started pushing an agenda and stopped being so funny. I watched one episode and didn't even crack a smile the entire time. When a "comedy" stops being funny to push an agenda, it's time to move on.

    It's too bad though, because it had promise.
    Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    This is the worst new show on TV. In addition to being a terrible knock off, they did it poorly, and it's not funny. Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad,This is the worst new show on TV. In addition to being a terrible knock off, they did it poorly, and it's not funny. Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews