The Night Shift : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 27, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    I'm hooked! This show has such amazing writing, acting, directing, etc..., an all around awesome series. If you're interested in veterans, army medics, interns, and intense or funny medical situations ranging from an old person with an STD to a bus load of rangers getting in a serious bus accident, then this show is for you! And of course it offers the love triangle, I'm rooting for TI'm hooked! This show has such amazing writing, acting, directing, etc..., an all around awesome series. If you're interested in veterans, army medics, interns, and intense or funny medical situations ranging from an old person with an STD to a bus load of rangers getting in a serious bus accident, then this show is for you! And of course it offers the love triangle, I'm rooting for T and Jordan!. I look forward to every episode and hope the show does well and is renewed for a season 2. Expand
  2. May 28, 2014
    10
    This show is great. If you like medical dramas, this one is a great one. Compelling story lines and great actors. I'm looking forward to the rest of the season.
  3. May 28, 2014
    8
    It was interesting, with interesting characters (even if they're all very pretty). About time for a new medical show set in the ER -- it's been too long. Looking forward to this.
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    This show is nothing amazing, but with a lack of other medical dramas out there it fills a niche that would be otherwise empty. It does a good job of it too, but like I said it's nothing amazing. Writing is acceptable, characters are a bit cliche but not too cliche, medical stuff is overly detailed and icky.

    It's a hasty clone of ER, in other words, and despite the different setting
    This show is nothing amazing, but with a lack of other medical dramas out there it fills a niche that would be otherwise empty. It does a good job of it too, but like I said it's nothing amazing. Writing is acceptable, characters are a bit cliche but not too cliche, medical stuff is overly detailed and icky.

    It's a hasty clone of ER, in other words, and despite the different setting it has yet to do much to differentiate itself from that show. Still, not a bad watch. The first season was entertaining enough. If they capitalize more on the uniqueness of the location and the cast in the second season then it might stay on the air for a while.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    What I like about the show is the clock. It gives you the now of the emergencies. There are a lot of cases and the show doesn't shy away from it. My only problem is with the administration. This guy must the low guy on the totem pole because the real office higher ups are at home asleep. The fact that he fires then rehires a rogue doctor and keeps threatening to close the ER, it justWhat I like about the show is the clock. It gives you the now of the emergencies. There are a lot of cases and the show doesn't shy away from it. My only problem is with the administration. This guy must the low guy on the totem pole because the real office higher ups are at home asleep. The fact that he fires then rehires a rogue doctor and keeps threatening to close the ER, it just doesn't make since in this doctor/nurse driven show. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    I don't watch shows on the regular channels, e.g.-channels 2,4,7, etc. I saw the preview for the night shift and it seemed interesting. I love this show. It gives me goosebumps. I make sure I am home, sitting down, and have whatever I need for the next hour, because no matter what, I am not leaving the t.v. Until the show is over. It is that good. It's not like greys anatomy because II don't watch shows on the regular channels, e.g.-channels 2,4,7, etc. I saw the preview for the night shift and it seemed interesting. I love this show. It gives me goosebumps. I make sure I am home, sitting down, and have whatever I need for the next hour, because no matter what, I am not leaving the t.v. Until the show is over. It is that good. It's not like greys anatomy because I couldn't stand that show. This show can be so intense and make you feel the emotion like you are there, it's the only show that ever made me jump out of my seat and yell at the t.v. It makes me laugh like I haven't laughed in years. I forget lots of things, where my keys are, what I am doing tomorrow, but I never forget that Tuesday at 10 pm the night shift is on. I wait all week for Tuesdays now, it's my new favorite day of the week, forget Saturdays, Tuesday is where it's at now. :) Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2015
    8
    I think that "The Night Shift" mix the narration typical soap opera with clinical cases, much better than Grey's Anatomy.
    The ideas used are original and the pace of each episode is great (except in a few episodes).
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 30, 2014
    50
    Shift is competent but useful mostly as a reminder to stay healthy at all costs and avoid this sort of place. [9 Jun 2014, p.34]
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 27, 2014
    30
    The cast here is decent, especially Flint and Rodriguez, but the writing is unforgivably bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    May 27, 2014
    40
    The action may be as fast and persistent as a gurney on the way to an operating theater, but nothing can hide the wobbly scripting and weak characters it’s all riding on