• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 14, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 8, 2011
    60
    It is a show about a high-school superheroine--a Catwoman without the camp or the S&M gear--and it enables longtime fans of the subgenre to watch with pride as their children digest its venerable tropes for only the fourth or fifth time.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Despite only marginal spring in the exposition-heavy pilot, the promised mix of action, angst and serialized mystery should make for a purr-fect little summer escape.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 14, 2011
    75
    With Samuels' star-power and the proficient execution of the episode episodes, The Nine Lives of Chloe King is the sort of summer fun that I'll happily watch in the summer and it has the potential, if it navigates the story properly, to become the rare ABC Family series I might stick with even against regular programming.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 14, 2011
    50
    Nine Lives may satisfy undemanding teens in the ABC Family target audience but it'll feel like a retread to others.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 14, 2011
    75
    There are allegories galore--from celibacy to puberty (all that body "processing"), alienation and, yes, teen angst of the "what the heck is that thing on my back?" variety. Think "Teen Wolf" for girls.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 13, 2011
    60
    Heeding one of the elementary vampire show lessons, Chloe King sets all this against a backdrop of clever teenage banter and the awesomeness of teenage romance.
  7. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 13, 2011
    75
    Super set-up seems to punch every teen ticket there is, with plenty to admit adults, too. Future execution will be key--in more ways than nine.
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 10, 2011
    75
    [A] family-friendly, charming show. [Jun 17 2011, p.91]
  9. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    In the premiere of this likably preposterous new show, [Chloe] learns that these changes are embedded in her DNA and can be traced back millennia. [20 Jun 2011, p.58]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this show. Hopefully they give it a second chance and continue with another season. I'm usually not one for watching teenage dramas but this show had me hooked. Don't really understand the low ratings. Have to wonder if it is due to the amount of people that watch this show online (including myself, because I do not get ABC family). Lets hope they renew it for another season!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I LOVE THIS SHOW!!! i got addicted to the show after the 1 episode, and i cried at the season finale. I can't wait till season two!! If you're looking at this to see if you should watch it i recomend it to you anyone because i know almost every teen and pre teen and adult will LOVE IT!!!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    I love the mystery and fantasy in this amazing new series! I do hope that abc family continues broadcasting it! i among many other viewers of the show believe that Alek and Chloe should end up together. this show is so exciting. this is by far my favorite series on t.v. I can't wait to see the season finale and hope it isn't the last one they make. Full Review »