• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
The Office Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Steve Carell, Melora Hardin, Rainn Wilson
  • Summary: Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve
    Carell) thinks he's the coolest, funniest, best boss ever - which, of course, makes him the uncoolest, most obnoxious and annoying boss as far as his staff are concerned. Salesman Jim Halpert (John Krasinski) has always loved receptionist Pam Beesly (Jenna Fischer) and loves sabotaging his cube-mate, the know-it-all Dwight Schrute (Rainn Wilson). Ryan Howard (B.J. Novak) started as a young, smart, self-possessed temp, but quickly figured out the real office politics despite Michael's attempts to instill the official point-of-view, and gets himself a job at corporate HQ in New York.

    The staff is rounded out by quiet Phyllis Lapin Vance (Phyllis Smith), beaten down by the working life Stanley Hudson (Leslie David Baker), office alcoholic Meredith Palmer (Kate Flannery), up-tight Angela Martin (Angela Kinsey), formerly closeted homosexual Oscar Martinez (Oscar Nunez), stocky and uncouth Kevin Malone (Brian Baumgartner), ambivalent kleptomaniac Creed Bratton (Creed Bratton), Sad Sack HR rep Toby Flenderson (Paul Lieberstein), persistently love-struck Kelly Kapoor (Mindy Kaling), icy corporate manager turned Michael's girlfriend Jan Levinson (Melora Hardin), former Stamford branch denizen and Cornell graduate Andy Bernard (Ed Helms), warehouse foreman Darryl Philbin (Craig Robinson), and Pam's ex-fiancé Roy Anderson (David Denman).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Season 2, is in my opinion, the best season of the show. Many of the show's best episodes like "The Dundies" and "Casino Night" came from season 2. That's just two of them! Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Visible improvement of the show was key. Season 2 didn't only excel where season 1 failed, but it offered key storyline elements that help shape the office today. Season 2 is one of the best seasons. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Season two was a huge improvement over the first (duh) and deserved the awards. The Jim and Pam story was so sweet and charming, Michael Scott was finally toned down, and the humor decided to "go there" without "being there". The whole cast is a delight to watch, the lines are quotably laugh-out-loud, and it's nice that the awards followed it. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Now this is television comedy at its finest. The second season of "The Office" is a bit of a marvel, in that its two major elements that draw people in are so undeniably conflicting. On one hand you have the drone-ish atmosphere of the working man's office that yields some awkward silences that turn into big laughs. On the other hand, you've got a cute, tender little blossoming love story. Surprisingly, those two things go together like peanut-butter and jelly. Steve Carell is also irresistible, and although there are one or two weaker links in the season, not one episode is a waste of time. And that's saying a lot. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    Another good season of The Office. It's just a good show to watch and I really enjoy watching it. I just can't get enough. Can't wait to watch the next season. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2014
    8
    Still very funny and much larger than the first season. Across these 22-episodes I grew to enjoy these characters more and more. There are quite a few slow moments throughout, and there are times when the humor doesn't quite connect, but overall there's a high level of quality here that few other sitcoms have managed to achieve. My overall score for this season is an 8.9/10=Great. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    5
    The first short season of The Offices US remake did just enough to convince me to return for this full twenty-two episode second outing as, despite a number of issues that I had with it, there were glimpses that it could emerge from the shadow of the brilliant original. Whereas Parks and Recreation took the documentary format in its own direction however The US Office continued down the same path it had previously tread and so, although funny in places, I couldn't help but constantly make comparisons and in pretty much every regard it comes up short.

    For me the route of the problem is that the original was deliberately written and performed as if it were actually focusing on real people in a real office and the situations they found themselves in, however absurd, were situations that anyone who has ever been in any kind workplace could relate to in some way. This is simply not the case with the US version with many of the characters coming across as sit-com characters making the whole documentary style, including the 'talking head' segments, seem as though it is simply a device to inject more humour into each episode and provide the writers with an easy way for us to get to know the characters a little better. This often has the effect of makes it far less humorous as a result.
    The more I watch the more I can't also help but feel that the twelve episode arc, plus the superb Christmas Specials, was just the right amount of time to spend with these people. Towards the end of this second season I started to tire of Michael Scott's antics and the lingering romance of Pam and Jim was starting to fill like it was dragging on for far too long in the same way these types of plots have in many other shows that have come before.

    I know this review may make it seem that I completely dislike the show but that is not the case. It is certainly funnier than many other sitcoms currently on air and I know many people, particularly in the States, would rank it amongst their favourite comedy shows. In the end though I just can't help but feel it is a largely unnecessary remake.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.